Humans logo

Happiness

You Left Me Unhappy, Then Someone Came Along And Made Me Happy Again.

By Carol TownendPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
1
Happiness
Photo by Szilvia Basso on Unsplash

They say that happiness comes and goes, but I haven't felt happiness from the day that you walked out on me. I sit here each day now, in this darkness with my head in my hands, completely in the darkness. It is cold in my room.

It used to be warm; at least until that day you said goodbye.

Now, its always cold because you're not here.

You left without telling me what was wrong, and you made me feel like I was to blame.

Every day until today, I have blamed myself.

But today, happiness exists again.

You see, I met someone. Someone who put the sunshine back into my life, someone who doesn't put me down, someone who always respects my views and wishes,

and someone who wants me; not just a part of me, but the whole package. Someone who loves me for everything that I am, unconditionally and without changing me in any way.

With you, I was miserable.

  • You hurt me physically
  • You wanted to use me as a housemaid.
  • You told me off like a child, for making even the smallest mess
  • You tried to condition my behavior to suit yourself
  • You never loved me, I was only there because you needed someone to make you less lonely.
  • You called me some brutal names when I didn't comply
  • You couldn't see that you were hurting me. You played the victim and tried turning everyone against me.

You couldn't understand that this was not love but abuse.

The man I'm with today supports me in everything that I do. We argue and we disagree, but we always do it politely without making the other person feel bad.

Nobody deserves to feel bad for not being perfect.

He doesn't care that I often get upset or make a mess. He can see when I am stressed,

Instead of abusing me, he makes me a drink and asks "Are you ok?" and I always get a hug from him.

We go to concerts and we have holidays and day trips.

However, every day in my house is a holiday and a day trip because we are happy, and no matter what the conditions are, we work together.

I hope that one day, you will learn to love without being abusive because love without abuse is love; whereas love that is conditioned is abuse.

I am glad I met this man who I love today.

We have turned ourselves around. I have happiness with him that is a rare find.

It feels good to have moved on from you and to have found every dream I could have wanted in my life.

One thing my man has taught me is that love is not abuse.

He has enabled me to unlock my power of self-worth, and love in ways that I never thought possible.

He loves me in every way possible, and he has taught me to never stop loving myself.

If there is one thing I know for sure. You left me unhappy, then someone came along and made me happy again.

In return, I found myself and now I can also make myself happy because when you left, I worked on myself. In return, I became strong, independent, and resilient, and I learned to also be happy by myself.

One thing you need to know is:

I was petrified to be with you or be alone in the past. Now, I am strong by myself and with my partner. I'm not afraid to make mistakes, be my own person, and, embrace happiness in any way.

At last, I am happy.

My message is true love is unconditional. True love is not violent and does not psychologically abuse.

An happy relationship is never abusive.

humanitymarriagelovebreakups
1

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Well done!!! Left a ♥

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.