Humans logo

Being a first-time mom in a working-class

It is challenging but worth it!!!

By stephanie borgesPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Being a first-time mom in a working-class
Photo by Omar Lopez on Unsplash

Being a first-time mom in a working-class has its challenges as well as its own ups and downs, one of them as the primary issue is the lack of sleep because I am caring for another being under the age of one. I have a beautiful baby girl who was born premature but is as healthy as a horse. She will be one year old soon. She is my firstborn, and let’s say I don’t have a clue what the hell I am doing, so I am so thankful my mom is helping me when I don’t have a clue what to do.

By Jackson Simmer on Unsplash

Other issues about being a first-time mom are:

• Money

- Diapers are essential; yeah, babies pee and crap a lot…damn!

- Food for babies, in the beginning, breast milk is worth making, but if it is difficult for you, thank goodness for formula, it is expensive, so making a budget is a must. But when the baby reaches six months, that’s when you need to start introducing solid food, like fruits and veggies.

- No paid Maternity leave: I was a contract worker and would get very little money.

• Not being able to do the things I used to do.

By mk. s on Unsplash

- Having freedom has its limits as well as its moments. Mostly, I feel like the only time I have some space is when my babies are asleep or when I'm in the bathroom.

- I try to spend as much time as possible alone when I can; I love my daughter with all my heart, but having some me time is quite nice.

- I am a writer, so I write when I get a chance

- I love to play games on my phone

- a side gig I can do quickly or whenever I possibly can.

- I haven't been able to go back to work for two reasons one my baby is too small to be left at a daycare, and they are costly. The other reason for my eyesight thanks to the preeclampsia I had while I was pregnant with my daughter.

By Denys Nevozhai on Unsplash

• health side effects.

- my vision got so blurry that I suffered from cataracts,s which surprised my doctor because I was told I was much too young to have Cataracs; usually, adults have them at age 50 or 60. I'm only 41 at the moment, but thankfully I was able to get my eyes fixed, and I should be going back to work.

- Lack of exercise, I will not say it is not my fault I gained weight. It was the pregnancy. But, seriously, I am not happy to admit it, but it is 100% my fault; I know I need to make time to lose the unwanted fat.

I am getting back on track with life.

By guille pozzi on Unsplash

One of the upsides of having a baby is seeing a piece of yourself in that little human being. My daughter has helped me with my anxiety as well as my panic attacks. It's almost like I hug her and right away. She knows what to do. She knows how to calm me down. I remember when I was pregnant with her, and I started having self-doubts, and it was almost like I could hear her voice saying.

“you are wrong. You are not nothing; you are my mom, and you are special. You are light in the darkness. You are a phoenix about to burst into flames and show everyone what my mommy can do.”

My daughter is a blessing, and I couldn't be prouder to say I am her mom. I like to think of my little girl as my muse, my writing has improved, and I get urged to start doing graphic design again.

By Marina Abrosimova on Unsplash

She has a unique personality, and I look forward to the many years to come while being at her side.

social medialovehumanityfamilydiyartadvice
Like

About the Creator

stephanie borges

I've been writing off and on for years; I write short stories, scripts, and blogs. I can't think of anything more relaxing than writing. I also do graphic design.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.