History logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Our first period stories

so attractive

By AlfivaiPublished about a year ago 4 min read

When I was young my school conducted a workshop on adolescence for girls and boys separately! That’s when I first heard about periods, it was so weird knowing such bodily processes were going on around me. Many of the girls had already started with their menarche (first occurrence of menstruation) but some, like me were totally tensed up and wondering “What is going to happen to mee?! I am gonna be bleeding every month! Ouch.” However, the teacher was fantastic, explained everything very well and made me calm.

One of my major concerns was how I would tell my mother and sister. This question was easily answered by my friends who said, “Just say, Mom I started bleeding from down there.“ But, I was so worried that I got a fever for two days and then when I started bleeding, I realised I had started my period!

It occurred during the holidays and my sister was completely engrossed in watching movies (it was SRK’s birthday and his films were shown all day long). When I told her my exciting news she couldn’t believe it and her and my mom told me to check again- it must be something else. But thanks to the workshop I knew what I was experiencing and was given a white soft cotton cloth shaped like a pad to use. The pad was leak proof and always stayed intact.

When I hear the stories of most of the girls/women I know and find out their first time was a disaster because they had no idea about periods or they had been suppressed with social taboos and stigmas around menstruation. I am grateful that I had good knowledge in the topic before I started my menarche. It also inspired me to educate more and more girls so that they can be prepared and practice sustainable menstruation throughout their life!

2

My first period happened in school when I was 12. I remember going to the toilet and seeing some blood in my knickers. I told my friend and she asked me if I was sure I hadn’t just cut myself! The way menstruation was, and still is, portrayed in popular culture made having a period seem like such a huge scary thing. It was hard to believe I had actually got mine. Wearing a plastic pad for the first time I remember feeling like I was wearing a big uncomfortable nappy. It just all felt like such an awkward and sanitised experience.

Growing up I came to learn that menstruation can actually be a beautiful and empowering thing: something that I wish all those who have a period could feel. Using a cloth-based sanitary pad is so comfortable and easy, meaning menstruation can be an experience that is good for my body and kind to the planet!

3

I am so glad to be sharing my first period story as I was never asked about it, strangely. I am 46 and a mother of 2 girls and 1 boy. I am so proud that my daughters were educated and guided before they hit their menarche (first period) unlike ME. Not only my daughters, but my Son is well educated about menstruation and he educates others too, breaking the taboo and stigma around it in men. Only if everything was so easy to talk about things today, my experience of my first period and every other period after that would have been completely different.

I was about 13-14yrs in my high school wearing a light sky blue colour skirt when I first started bleeding. A lot of kids were pointing my stains out. I ignored it as I thought it must be some insect or a minor injury. Kids made fun of me, talked behind my back; I remember one person saying “hey your red ink pen has leaked” as I was walking back from school. By the the time I reached home, my skirt was stained very badly. My sister showed me how to use cloth and maintain hygiene during this time. I was brought up with a Brahaman family where entering into kitchen and cooking is still strictly prohibited while bleeding. I decided to end the taboos with my kids instead focus on the knowledge behind it!

I had been using cloth sheets all my life which used to leak from time to time and move but were comfortable. When my daughters started with periods, I started using the disposable pads along with them but it was always an uneasy, restless, itchy and uncomfortable experience for me. I thought they were the most hygienic products available. I felt very guilty throwing my pads away, harming nature, I saw dogs digging it out of rubbish and cows eating in the same piles as menstrual waste! I started burning it out which always led to foul smell and nasty pollution.

Then 2 years back my daughter brought me this wonderful reusable Sanitree pad. I am absolutely amazed by how comfortable and firm it is to use. It is leak proof and soo easy to wash, as well as leaving no stains. I am guilt free and very satisfied by their quality.

ResearchWorld HistoryTriviaPlacesPerspectivesNarrativesModernMedievalLessonsGeneralFiguresFictionEventsDiscoveriesBooksBiographiesAncientAnalysis

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AWritten by Alfivai

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.