Fiction logo

Lost in a Story: The Challenge

A Vocal + Assist Challenge

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 8 months ago β€’ Updated 8 months ago β€’ 2 min read
Top Story - September 2023
36
Designed by RHC with help from NightCafe Studio, Microsoft Word, and Tool Wiz

Okay folks gather round. Listen to what I'm putting down. Here's the main thing I want to say. I'm busy 24-hours a day. But I've got a challenge for you. Hopefully you can write one or two!!!

Okay, let's drop the rhymey rhymes and get down to business.

(Please read the entire instructions because cousins there's a lot of details to get right)

Vocal + Assist (V+A) on Facebook has come up with its very own writing challenge!!! Yep, we're jumping in on the latest craze of challenges.

The admin team at V+A brainstormed and it was Darnell Lee that came up with the idea.

The challenge is to write a micro-story of 150 to 300 words. The prompt/challenge theme is called "Lost in a Story."

The object is to take a well known short story, fable, fairytale, movie plot, etc and let yourself (the writer) get trapped or lost in the story. Let the events of the story play out with your own twist as if you are now written into the plot.

    1. Wait!!! There's more.

  1. Submit the URL to your entries in a COMMENT here in this post. The reason for that is because we are doing a RAFFLE. There will be two prizes.
  2. The First Prize will be a $7 tip (a $5 + $2). The Second Prize will be a $3 tip (a $2 + $1).
  3. In order to qualify for the raffle you must subtitle the story: "The Vocal + Assist Lost in a Story Challenge". Also at the beginning of the story mention: This story is part of the Vocal + Assist on Facebook Lost in a Story Challenge. You can learn more about it here: (embed the URL to this post so others can click to this post for the official instructions). Here's the URL: https://vocal.media/fiction/lost-in-a-story-the-challenge
  4. For each story you enter you will get an entry into the raffle. The more you enter the more chances you get to win.
  5. Seeing that this one is a bit more involved and will take a bit of thought and time to create, we are making a three week deadline. All stories must be submitted by the end of the day Friday October 13th (oooh Friday the 13th and in October… ghoulish and groovy if you ask me). πŸ‘»β˜ οΈπŸŽƒ

Have fun… be creative… and enter as many times as you want.

This song came to my mind when Darnell suggested the challenge topic:

Make yourself part of the story and let it really come alive!!! You really do matter!!!

With Love, RHC

β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ β‰ˆ

Microfiction
36

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (44)

Sign in to comment
  • Maureen Y. Palmer7 months ago

    Here is my entry (Agatha Christie!) https://vocal.media/fiction/and-then-there-were

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh7 months ago

    Thought I'd give this a try! Thanks for the challenge! https://vocal.media/fiction/farm-girl

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    A joint entry from myself and Mother Combs https://vocal.media/fiction/placing-wagers

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago
  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Here is one...another one...so..yeah...https://vocal.media/fiction/the-ballad-of-daisy-wick

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    Interesting stories so far... Will work on it by the end of the month... ;)

  • My take on the Lost in a Story challenge... It's not what you might expect... https://vocal.media/fiction/the-mary-tyler-moore-show-featuring-rick-henry-christopher

  • D. A. Ratliff8 months ago

    After some help from my friends, I chose microfiction as a subcategory, and Vocal published my entry. I was struck by a historical article I read about Julius Caesar, and this is my take on the prompt. https://vocal.media/fiction/et-tu-decimus

  • Erin W M8 months ago

    Here is my entry. I needed a good light story after today. :) Poked the muse until he relented. https://vocal.media/fiction/two-peas-on-a-beanstalk?utm_source=Iterable&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Ok, here's my first attempt: https://vocal.media/fiction/dis-grun-tled

  • Test8 months ago

    We just wrote The Wonderful Annie of Oz for the challenge (https://vocal.media/fiction/the-wonderful-annie-of-oz)

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    So...my first attempt and entry! https://vocal.media/fiction/the-groomer-of-narnia

  • Tandin Dorji8 months ago
  • I have to give this some thought to come up with a good idea. I'm a bit lost lol I have no idea where to go with this but I'm sure the inspiration bug will bite. I need to head to Facebook to read some great entries and see where my fellow creators have taken it.

  • Rene Peters8 months ago

    I want to do it but don't know what story.

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Great challenge! I will definitely enter. Just need to think what...

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Awesome...So many choices...I'll be returning to within a week to drop an entry, thank you and congrats on the Top Story!

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    What an amazing challenge!

  • Test8 months ago

    Excellent!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!β™₯️β™₯οΈπŸ’•

  • Congratulations on your Top Story πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘This Is Awesome ✨ see you guys Soon!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.