Fiction logo

"You must let what happens happen"

The Vocal + Assist Lost in a Story Challenge

By Hannah MoorePublished 9 months ago 1 min read
"You must let what happens happen"
Photo by Vera Gorbunova on Unsplash

This story is part of the Vocal + Assist on Facebook Lost in a Story Challenge. You can learn more about it here:

Something happened when I grabbed that jar off Clare, because as I twisted the lid, I felt a pop, and for a millisecond, thought I’d opened it. But it was just my arse hitting the mud.

The swamp filled my slippers immediately, but its tug on my mind was slower. It’s funny how sometimes survival thoughts are so much faster than reasoning ones and I was on my feet, running to help before my splashes had landed.

The horse was up to his belly, stinking mud creeping up his grey chest, his fathomless eyes a mirror of the brown depths he was sinking into. Atreyu was shouting, despair ringing the horse’s name as it left his mouth, and I knew that would not do. I snatched the reins. “Artex, come on now, up you come” I said, bright, confident. “There’s a beautiful boy, walk on.” But the sludge was sucking at his flanks now, and I could see from their heaving that his fatalistic placidity was giving way to glimmers of fear. Fear means hope, I thought, and pulled again. “Artex, MOVE!” I shouted. Atreyu, hearing the taint of panic in my tone, took hold of the bridle and together we pitched our weight again the sinking horse. “Artex, fight against the sadness, Artex PLEASE!” Our shouts fell dead in that all-devouring grief fogged landscape, and though the whites of the horse’s eyes pricked out a glinting light in the brown-grey world, the swamp dragged him down, swallowing his withers as we pulled and screamed. I stepped away then, and watched through scalding tears as Atreyu held his friend’s proud head, and told him he loved him, as he slipped beneath the mud.

Wretched, I retrieved my discarded jar, the lid still tight shut, and turned into the endless mist.

Microfiction

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Heartbreaking, and beautifully written. I haven't watched this one in years. It must be about time to do it again.

  • This is such a beautiful yet sad story. You did a fine job expertly piecing your words together to elicit emotion, fear, and courage. What a wonderfully literary story. Yet so sad. I love it.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh9 months ago

    I rewatched this beloved movie recently and still had to view this scene through my fingers. And now you've painted an indelible picture that will make the memory last even longer. Waah! Now I'm intrigued by your psychological insight that "fear means hope ..."!

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    This was the scene that ruined my childhood, and you've re-imagined it PAINFULLY beautifully ❤

  • Apparently I'm the only one here that doesn't know where it this from. Help me please 😅 But your story did make me feel very emotional!

  • JBaz9 months ago

    Damn Now I have tears in my eyes and nothing to distract my thoughts from your wonderfully worded and descriptive story.

  • Luther9 months ago

    Great work ❤️ I’m new here and I hope my writing is very good

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    😭😭😭

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    That poor jar… I mean person! That poor person 🤣

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    😭😭Hannah! this is so heartbreaking! Amazing writing but damn! 😢😢❤️

Hannah MooreWritten by Hannah Moore

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.