Fiction logo

The Mary Tyler Moore Show featuring Rick Henry Christopher

The Vocal + Assist Lost in a Story Challenge

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
31

This story is part of the Vocal + Assist on Facebook Lost in a Story Challenge. You can learn more about it here:

"Yoo-hoo, Hiya Mare," Rhoda peeks in, "Why is your front door open?"

"Phyllis is stopping by with her nephew, little Ricky Henry. He's visiting from California."

"Look at you Mare. You're the only person I know who can make curlers and a baggy t-shirt look glamorous. I'm wearing my Sunday best and I still look like a secondhand leftover."

"You look great Rhoda. Don't be so hard on yourself."

"You're right Mary, I should embrace these jelly rolls around my waist. They taste so good going down. But look so jiggly hanging around the middle."

"Toodle doodles," Phyllis enters Mary's apartment, "I'm here."

She walks in giving Rhoda a smug look, "What's that stench?" She paused, "Uh, it's your plumber," she looks at Rhoda again with her nose scrunched, "Had I known he'd be here I would have worn one of Lars' face masks."

"A face mask would have been a big improvement over that rubber mask you're wearing now," Rhoda says, "Oh wait, that's your face not a rubber mask."

Mary quickly changed the subject, "Phyllis, where's Ricky?"

"He's packing. He and Lars had a fight and Lars kicked him out. He's coming to stay with you."

"Wait, Phyllis, nobody asked me."

"Mary, you're always so willing to help the needy. We wouldn't want Ricky to be homeless, would we?"

Ricky walks in with his bags.

Mary looks at Phyllis and whispers, "He's a grown man. He can't stay here."

"He's seventeen, Mary, he's still a child."

➿➿➿➿➿➿➿➿

Three hours later Mary comes back from dinner. She sees Rick sitting in a chair that faces away from the door.

As she walks in the apartment she notices that Rick is nude.

"Rick," she turns the other way, "what are you doing, cover yourself up"

"I'm a nudist, Mary. I didn't think you would mind."

Mary threw a blanket at him. "I mind. Now get out of here."

Rick grabbed the blanket and left in a huff.

➿➿➿➿➿➿➿➿

With Love, RHC

Microfiction
31

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (29)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    I know of the show but haven’t watched it Rick. I enjoyed your fun twist!! 😁

  • Carol Townend8 months ago

    This has to be one of my favorite works by you Rick! It's a very entertaining and funny read. I loved it.

  • Rebecca Morton8 months ago

    This is so great! You really got the feel of this great sitcom I grew up with! You knew exactly what to do with each character, with not a word or action seeming out of character! Perhaps you wrote for 1970s sitcoms in a former life? Or you just have a really good ear for styles of dialogue and 1970s sitcom structure. Anyway, I was disappointed this ended so quickly! Funny and accurate!

  • Well Deserved 🎉👍💬😉Congratulations🎉👌

  • Mark Graham8 months ago

    I loved watching Mary Tyler Moore Show when I was growing up and it is even fun watching in now when I can find it. Great work putting yourself in the show.

  • Congratulations Rick!! Gkad for your hard work being recognized

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Lol, welcome to the odd mind of Rick Henry Christopher! This is hilarious. Not really familiar with the Mary Tyler Moore show, but know a little about it and it feels like you nailed it! Just...yeah, funny stuff and well done on Top Story too!

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    Lol! This is very funny Rick, I really loved the ending. I could see the look on Mary's face at that moment. Congrats on Top Story.

  • Test8 months ago

    I had to go watch the show before I could answer. Now I may be hooked on the show, LOL. Haha, Mary would have been appalled!!! Funny story💙Anneliese

  • Why, Rick, I never knew this about you! You think you know a guy, lol. MTM is one of those shows my wife & her sister still watch & talk about on the phone all the time. One of those classics & one of the best final episodes ever.

  • J. S. Wade8 months ago

    Haha. This is a hoot. Congratulations 🏅

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    Congrats on the Top Story, Little Ricky Henry!😁

  • Sadiq hussaini8 months ago

    Great

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Fantastic! Congrats on top story!

  • JBaz8 months ago

    Witty, funny and well deserved top story

  • Test8 months ago

    Loved this! Hillariously funny, you crafted dialogue so perfectly! 🤍

  • Tina D'Angelo8 months ago

    Damn, Rick, er, I mean, little Ricky, you cut us off at the pass. Come on, man, I know Mary and little Ricky did more than have a blanket fight!

  • Hahahahahahhahahahaha omgggg I laughed so many times reading this! It was so freaking hilarious!

  • Tom Baker8 months ago

    My favorite band, Husker Du, did a cover of the Mary Tyler Moore Show theme song. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ks0to2QuJtM

  • What a hoot. I loved this show.

  • That's really great work!!

  • D. A. Ratliff8 months ago

    This is hilarious! You captured the essence of those delightful characters and added more fun! Mary needs to lighten up! Go, Rick!

  • Test8 months ago

    Haha nice!

  • Lmao 🤣🤣Great job👌

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.