Fiction logo

Farm Girl

Prologue to a storybook story: The Vocal + Assist Lost in a Story Challenge

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished 7 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
4
Photo: Andrew Locking

This story is part of the Vocal + Assist on Facebook Lost in a Story Challenge. You can learn more about it here. Try it -- it's fun!

~~~

When the stinking son of our ailing King expanded his hunting grounds, he claimed over half our farmland for his royal park.

"We barely get by as it is!" my mother exclaimed. "The Prince will hunt, and we will starve!"

"The Prince is a pig," my big brother declared with that steely glint. "And I plan to say that to his face."

“Hush!” said Mother. “Or we’ll lose more than our farm.”

I reached for my brother’s hand. He winked at me. "Perhaps insulting royalty can wait."

I whispered, "What are we going to do?"

"I intend to chop firewood,” my brother said confidently, “while I make a plan."

Mother likewise rose. "Chore time, Sonia." I sighed and picked up the milking pail. I was angry, but not worried. My brother would never fail us.

Next morning my brother announced, "The Wallace farm pays well for a good farmhand. I’ll send you my wages.”

“You’re leaving us?" I cried. I stormed after him as he packed his satchel. "I think you just want adventure!"

"Peanut, I can't grow old on this farm, scraping out a few turnips every year." He shook his head. "I knew I’d go seek my fortune someday … just not so soon.”

My eyes blazed. "Go then. I don't care!"

I sulked and seethed. I had lost my father. We were losing our farm. And now --

I didn’t intend to say goodbye. But when my brother paused in the doorway, gazing at us with fond intensity, my heart melted.

“I have to go, Peanut,” he said, gently.

I took a deep breath, then answered imperiously: "As you wish."

I think Wesley knew that meant, I love you.

~~~

Short StoryMicrofictionFantasyFan FictionfamilyAdventure
4

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    I must've been interrupted, because I really thought I'd commented on this. You did such a wonderful job with this prologue! I loved it.

  • What a truly beautiful and enchanting story. Bittersweet yet hopeful.

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    I love farm girl! Great work!

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Ha! So they did! Nice.

  • Ward Norcutt7 months ago

    cool! Wesley seems a tad bit selfish, as "all" young men can be. Nice writing! ( if you get a chance, would you take a look at All Sorts? It is a very different type of exercise, where I coalesce someone else's memory(ies) into a piece.... it only as two reads...dunno why..

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.