Feast logo

No eyed deer beans...

In case you're not sure who's all creative.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
P/c: Myself; 6APR2023; 2059, THU– Maryland, USA. I have stock photos available for free on Pixabay; btw. Please show Love.

7APR2023; 1551, FRI– Maryland, USA

What do you call a deer without eyes? It's the only young child appropriate dad joke that I can easily recall.

Now that that's out the way, thank you for coming to my hat trick. By that, I'm referring to this being three in a row; as far as "stories" in the Feast "community".

A few more housekeeping items:

1.) Please comment on this post if you intend to try; eventually do so; and/or enjoy this particular recipe. Especially if you fall in Love with it.

2.) If you'd be so kind, snap a shot of this dish after you prepare; tho, before you dig in. Not prior to honoring a Higher Power tho; for blessing you with a pot to cook with, and a bowl to pour into.

I know that this site prefers to remain neutral in regards to religion; tho, after my NDE (Near Death Experience) this morn... If I don't honor and give thanks, I shudder to think what might could go down next time; what with my Princesses potentially having to prematurely mourn.

3.) If it's not too, too much to ask, please tag me on the socials @DarriusUnity with your pic as well. Also, if you'd like to be extra *VOCAL*; and link a Brotha Man in a review on the best blogging site ever (call me biased), I won't be upset about that at all.

***

I'm figuring why not go 'head and dive in, so that you can dig in? As such:

Step #1: Gather ingredients.

A.) ~19 oz (ounces) of black beans.

B.) 2 oz of classic hummus.

C.) 2 oz of feta (aka goat cheese).

D.) 1.5 oz of Greek vinaigrette.

E.) 0.25 oz of dill; for garnish (optional).

Step #2: Assemble material(s).

A.) 1 small cooking pot; ideally with a lid.

B.) 1 cooking spoon.

C.) 1 colander/strainer (not completely necessary with a lid for pot; and/or holes in cooking spoon).

D.) 1 paring knife (also optional).

E.) 1 can opener (situation dependent).

F.) 1 stovetop.

G.) 1 cutting board (if using the knife).

Step #3: Prep meal.

A.) Open can of black beans; place in pot (put lid on pot); and set pot on stovetop.

B.) Turn stovetop to medium/high heat until beans are almost boiling. (Watch them carefully!)

C.) Stir beans with cooking spoon. (Don't leave spoon in pot.)

D.) Wash and cut dill (if applicable). Once it has little to no stem left, place dill in the serving bowl(s); opposite the serving spoon(s).

E.) Drain beans (strongly advised!) carefully as feasible; before mixing them with the feta, and placing said mixture into the serving bowl.

F.) Pour Greek vinaigrette over bowl; as evenly as possible.

G.) Dollop the hummus on top the mound of beans, feta, and vinaigrette.

Step #4: Serve and munch up.

A.) Place bowl(s) before you, and/or guest(s); on dinner table for (optional) pics.

B.) Again, I know that this isn't a religious site; at all. However, I grew up in the Word, and I'm a big fan of gratitude; so, "do what you will with that information."

C.) Once more, please comment on this piece if/when you get a chance to. Let me know how you enjoy this recipe.

D.) As previously stated, it'd be much appreciated if you would be ever so kind enough to tag me on the socials, @DarriusUnity once you get a "New York minute"; and are thru chowing down. Only if you like the dish, tho; haha!

E.) Don't forget to clean up adequately right after getting your grub on so as to thwart "undesired houseguests" (i.e. pests).

F.) Also, please try my previous recipes, the "Buenos días burrito"; as well as the "April Fool's peas" too. That's if/when you get a hot sec.

G.) Lastly, stay tapped in for the potentiality of more recipes.

***

To close: I forgot to mention that I firmly believe my previous recipe for black-eyed peas to be an underrated gem; not that I'm normally one to toot my own horn. Regardless, the aforementioned main ingredient is a staple in African American communities come 'round NYE (New Year's Eve); "not for nothing"!

That's the black-eyed peas I'm referring to; for the less adept and such. That's just some "free game" for ya; "actually factually" and "truly duly".

And with that I bid you ado; and with well wishes too. One Love.

***

***

Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support; however you may see fit.

Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.

The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its main menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very same menu cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.

Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."

Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the link in my bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

***

vegetarianrecipelisthow tohealthydiycuisine
Like

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.