Feast logo

It’s That 'WOO-HOO-HOO' Time Of Year Again

Open wide and say, "Ahhh!"

By The Dani WriterPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 4 min read
6
Photo by the Minimalist Baker on Pinterest

When winter throws its blustery, cold, cloud-grey-darkened, frost-bitten tendrils around my summer-born soul, what possible reason could I be jumping up and down on tippy-toe about?

Veganuary!

Say it with me: VEE-GAN-U-ARY.

Yes! It’s here! In all its glory. That time of year when all of the stores lay out vegan spreads and offerings like vegan adherents are regal frickin’ sunflower golden gods/goddesses to appease us.

Started in 2014 by Matthew Glover and Jane Land, it’s a UK non-profit charity event annual challenge in January during which anyone and everyone can explore the wonders of a vegan lifestyle with LOADS of

Author photo of the best chickpea soup ever at Comptoir Libanais

support. No meat, eggs, dairy, or animal byproducts may not send crowds running UNTIL they know what they’re gaining. This…is where you peek at the travel itinerary so to speak and your tastebuds get titillated.

Who are you without tastebuds titillation? Tell me?

I’ve been vegetarian since the last time I tried on two occasions to eat a hamburger in my late teens and got sicker than a hurl vixen.

Since there were hardly any offerings in the local grocery stores for anything without meat in them that satiated.

Since the time people gave vacant stares wondering what kind of disease/crime/mental depravity you had fallen victim to.

Photo by Engin Akyurt on Pexels

And yeah, since all the annoying times at socials when delivering your dietary status and the response would often be,” Oh, we’ve got lots of salad,” or “You can just pick the meat out of the pasta/rice/stew/etc.”

*Le horreur*

It was by no means a rapid transformation. Commonly used nutritional items gradually disappeared and then…for me, there was no turning back.

A morsel of chicken found in a dish that I had been assured was vegetarian made me gag.

And the pork this or that…a death sentence. Feels. Like. Umm. Dying.

I leveled up to vegetarian supersleuth.

Photo by Melanie Dompierre on Pexels

But a vegetarian supersleuth who still consumed occasional egg and dairy products in some vegetarian products off the shelf (like Quorn.)

I also held an addiction to Häagen Dazs flavors of coffee and strawberry ice-cream that couldn’t let me go, a humongous appetite with exponentially high metabolism plus workout routine to boot, and a sensitive stomach and wallet when it came to trying new foods (Non-meat foods were pricier. Go figure.) I’ve teetered on the borders of veganism ever since, knowing once I disappeared into that wondrous realm, my gastronomy flora would be forever changed and settle for nothing else, so no backsies.

A lot has changed since those dark ages.

Non-dairy ice creams existing in dense, decadent lusciousness that are 'to-live-for' yummy and easily purchased or made.

Not only does Quorn now have a vegan range, but alternative brands effervesced to overflow the shelves with plant-based options, lowering the retail prices of hitherto expensive foods.

And life post-internet (yes, there was life before it) has recipes and substitutions at your fingertips that don’t leave an entirely plant-based wannabe hungry and deprived.

By happenstance, I found that my body functioned better, became less prone to the pathogenic mayhem that reduced those around me to cough-filled hacks every cold and flu season, slimmed down, and saved loads on grocery bills as those meats, eggs, and dairy packed a wallop I did not need in any economy.

Last year, I felt the biggest of let-downs when Veganuary ended. All the stuff in one of my favorite stores dwindled to dust nothingness and I bordered on undiluted morosity.

Such a joy today that there are a ton of Whole Foods stores I can saunter about in like a DIVA!

Next time, I’ll take pictures.

A caterer that I met recently, told me that vegetarian and vegan options are now part of a statutory requirement in the industry that she must fulfill.

*My eyes heart-shaped 'gtfo' saucers*

But as an about-face, I decided to start hoopin’ and hollerin’ from Veganuary day one and invite you to come along, whether it's for a day, a week, or the whole month. Whatever is manageable. Veganuary is a no-pressure event. Not that creepy person at the party staring at you with a deprived look so you feel all kinds of awkward. It really is a supported free-for-all and it’s yours for the titillation—I mean taking.

Last one there won’t find any vegan raspberry hot chocolate left though.

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

Author photo of my non-guilty vegan pleasure in the minutes before it 'disappeared' at Choc et al.

I truly appreciate that you took the time to read my story! Thank you!

If you enjoyed this or any of my other stories, feel free to do the heart-clicky thing, comment, subscribe at no cost, tip, kofi-me, pledge, and/or share with friends and social media sites. If you wish to promote in other forums, you can secure permission @thedaniwriter

veganorganichow tohealthycuisine
6

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Renee4 months ago

    “I’ve been vegetarian since the last time I tried on two occasions to eat a hamburger in my late teens and got sicker than a hurl vixen.” 🤣🤣🤣. For me it was a chunk of marinated chicken that was just not right when I was 10. This is hilarious and I’m sooo glad we have so many veg options these days!! Although I did have a place put sneaky bacon chunks in my Brussels sprouts the other day and now I’m suspicious of everything again 😩🤷🏼‍♀️

  • Mmmm, raspberry hot chocolate. Sounds good enough to swear off all solid food, lol. I had a friend back in college who worked on maintenance who was Seventh Day Adventist. He frequently invited me to attend church with him on Saturdays. Worship was typically followed by a potluck dinner. They had just recently decided that the dinners did not have to be strictly vegetarian, so they formed two lines: one with meat, one without. He explained all this to me but then said, "Believe me, go with the vegetarian. That's where all the flavor is. You won't miss the meat at all." He was right.

  • I've been a vegetarian from 2010, so that's 14 years. I was a vegan from 2015 to 2017 but switched back to vegetarian. I cannotttttt stand people who tell me to just pick out the meat from the food. Like people can be so dumb. Now you've made me sooooo hungryyyyy, lol!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Woohoo!!! Loved your story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    That hot chocolate sounds delicious!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.