Feast logo

Earthlings

A Healing Cafe In Newcastle Upon Tyne

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
10
From The Earthlings Facebook Page

Introduction

I decided to walk into Newcastle down the West Road which roughly runs alongside Hadrian's Wall which many years ago I helped light up, and you can read about that here.

I was making for The Strawberry by St James' Park so I took a left turn down Buckingham Street behind the University and saw, what to me was a new cafe, "Earthlings", which describes itself as a "healing cafe".

Their website is here with details of what they have available. I can't share their Facebook and Instagram as embedded links but they are on the site or you can click the links in this sentence for a lot more images and information on events.

This is just about my first visit, and it will definitely not be my last.

In Earthlings

These days I seldom carry money, so the first thing I have to ask is if can I pay using my card or phone. I was in a bit of a rush and just wanted a drink and my initial plan was to have some form of coffee but when I walked it I saw a veritable cornucopia of drinks and snacking options, as well as full meals.

A Few Earthling Drinks

There was one couple in and though I was not eavesdropping one was American (who sounded very like my friend Melissa) and they were talking about babies, a subject that does not normally interest me, but Melissa and her partner had a new arrival yesterday, which I mentioned to them, and they said it must be a sign that I had to message her.

I checked out the menu and decided to go for the "pH Factor" which contains Mango, Banana, Turmeric, Lemon, Ginger, and Orange Juice and I went and took a table by the door.

The view from my table

The staff were extremely helpful and charming and I waited for my drink which came in a glass milk bottle which you can see here.

pH Factor Smoothie

The mango and banana give it a smooth consistency and the turmeric, lemon, and ginger add some bite. I don't know much about healthy eating, apart from avoiding ready meals and preparing from scratch with natural ingredients when I can. I do love fruit and many vegetables but that's about it. Taste and enjoyment are a big part of my delight in food and when I tasted this my tastebuds were definitely delightfully stimulated.

The atmosphere of Earthlings is wonderful, and enjoying my pH Factor Smoothing was extremely relaxing and enjoyable.

To Eat

The food options look amazing and I will try and get into town to try some of these. the main problem being that I would like to try everything, but obviously that would just be pure greed.

Sweet Potato And Cauliflower Curry

The Sweet Potato and Cauliflower Curry was also a temptation, but I am sure that there will be lots for me to try in the coming months. My favourite description of Cauliflower is "Ghost Broccoli".

Earthlings is definitely a place where you come out feeling better than before you walked through the door. As I am writing this I want to go back to try another of their amazing creations.

They also have a lot of healing events coming up which I may try at some point, it is always good to do something that makes you feel better, and I know that smoothie made me feel better, maybe because I was sitting in Earthlings.

Conclusion

We are lucky in Newcastle to have many cafes that provide food that is good for you in a beneficial environment. Earthlings is a wonderful addition to these, so if you are in Newcastle, it is a ten-minute walk from Grey's Monument, behind the University Science area.

Check it out, it is definitely worth it.

product reviewvegetarianveganorganichealthyfeaturecuisine
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • John Cox2 months ago

    That roasted vegetable panini on the menu would definitely drawn my interest. Great review of the restaurant. If by some miracle we ever get back to Great Britian, it sounds like a great place to visit!

  • I want to go there have a mango drink . Yummy 😋

  • Sounds like a wonderful place, Mike. My wife would jump on that avocado toast immediately. I'd go for anything else.

  • Julia Schulz2 months ago

    "Ghost broccoli!!!" (I love the vegetarian Moosewood cookbook called "The Enchanted Broccoli Forest.") Nice review of a good place!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby2 months ago

    Aww this was such a sweet and refreshing narrative I really enjoyed it! Thank you for the mention brother 💓♥️

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    I am so looking forward to your next stories on these fascinating healing food place 🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰It looks like a mouth watering healthy menu . I cannot wait for you to share your experience.

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Sounds like a really interesting place to eat. Ghostly broccoli, that’s an interesting name. I bet their smoothies are good. I love having a good smoothie. Thank you for sharing. 

  • The only fruits that I eat are bananas, mangoes and watermelons. I don't drink smoothies because I don't like other fruits but your smoothie was a combo of banana and mango which both I love! The cafe looks so good!

  • Celia in Underland2 months ago

    Looks delicious! Not likely in Newcastle for a while but will definitely take a wander if I am!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.