Feast logo

Chicken Tinola

My Mother's Native Chicken Soup

By Mariann CarrollPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
10
Chicken Tinola
Photo by Babs Gorniak on Unsplash

My mom was from the Philippines and when any of my siblings got sick, my mom made Tinola Manok (Broth Chicken).

When I think of Tinola Chicken, I think of a warm cozy home. The ingredients have a very strong smell and are nourishing at the same time. The spices are very good for your health. Garlic is good for the heart. Garlic is also a strong antibiotic. When you crush garlic, it releases allicin.

Another Spice in it is ginger root. ginger can be good for the stomach and for someone with diabetes. My mom had diabetes and high blood pressure, that's why she cooked this dish a lot.

This Tinola Chicken is special to me because it reminds me of my mom. I miss her so much. When I was a little kid my mom was very vigilant in cooking healthy food for the family. Unfortunately, my mom started eating poorly as she got older. She got cancer and refused an operation to remove it.

When I cook, Tinula Chicken it reminds me of the days when my mom and I were very close and before all the bad things started to happen in my life.

I wrote this story to make me feel good about my dealings for tomorrow. Tinola Chicken takes me back to the good old days when everything was simple.

This dish reminds me of the strongest woman I know, which was my mom. When my mother was around, I felt like everything would be alright. My mother was always the troubleshooter of the family.

In This Vocal Nourish Challenge, we are supposed to share the recipe. I will share how my mother made it. My mom got most of the ingredients from the Chinese Market Store, because back then most of the spices were not sold in regular grocery stores like they have today.

Photo from DOTDASH Meredith Food Studio

Recipe : Total Time needed is an hour to cook and prepare

2 tbs. of Vegetable oil or Olive Oil

1/2 lbs. Chicken Wings and Chicken thighs (cut to your desire cut)

4 garlic cloves, minced

1 small onion, chopped

1/2 tsps of mince Ginger

2 cups of water if you are not using 1 can of chicken broth (Used 1 chicken knorr bouillon cube)

1 head of Bok Choy Chopped

1 Chayote squashed or green papaya, cut to your desired size

a pinch of pepper

Note: salt and fish sauce were not added to the recipe because of their sodium contents. You can add these ingredients not more than half a spoon.

Sauteed garlic, onions, and ginger in that order. When the garlic turns golden brown add chicken and pepper(salt). Let this ingredient cook for at least five minutes. Then Add the cut Chayote squashed and Bok Choy stems( leave the Bok Choy Leaf for later), pour the can of chicken broth or two cups of water with the Chicken Knorr bouillon cube. If you want to place salt and fish sauce go ahead. Let it boil and put it to medium heat, After fifteen to twenty minutes turn off the stove and place the Bok Choy leaves in.

Note: you can add noodles or rice to this dish.

I promise you if you have a cold, this dish may shorten your cold. Give the person you are making this for a hug and maybe a kiss to speed up recovery. ( My mom used to hug and kiss me a lot when I was little)

My Affirmation for this Challenge Nourished: "Everything Will Be All Right!!!!"

Thank you for reading !!!!! Eat UP!!!!

Food made from the heart always tastes good. Don't forget TLC can go a long way.

recipehealthycuisine
10

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    Ms. Mariann ~ Your Bok Choy = My Matzo Balls - Mom’s Cure-Alls — Just put Ketchup on it — J-Bud

  • Kelsey Clarey7 months ago

    This sounds like a lovely recipe for when you're sick and the story behind it is so sweet!

  • Chloe Gilholy7 months ago

    I’ve had this soup at a friend’s house and it was lovely. :)

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    My mum makes a mean chicken/vegetable soup but this one sounds delicious! I love bok Choy! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I’ve not made many soups. I didn’t know your mum had passed. I’m so sorry to hear of this.

  • Omggg no wonder so many people are sharing recipes! I didn't know about this challenge, lol. Thank you so much fod mentioning it! Also, I'm so sorry that your Mom got cancer and refused to remove it 🥺 Garlic, pepper and ginger combo is excellent for recovery! I wish you all the best for tomorrow ❤️

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Wow Mariann. This was so encouraging. I love every type of soups, so I may just try this one out, maybe play with some other spices in addition to yours too. Sounds fun. Mom hugs.

  • Sounds almost as delicious as it does warming for the heart. Thank you for sharing this with us, Mariann.

  • Harmony Kent7 months ago

    It seems chicken soup is a healing staple in many cultures and countries! Wonderful response to the challenge, Mariann, and best of luck! 💕😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.