Feast logo

Watermelon Summer Camp

What’s Summer Without Watermelon

By Mariann CarrollPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Watermelon Summer Camp
Photo by Kenek TV on Unsplash

The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years,

But one night, a candle burned in the window.

Hey , What's summer without watermelon.

They don’t serve watermelon at this summer camp.

Who told you that ? Someone, who was allergic to watermelon.

What a bummer for me cause, I love watermelon.

Watermelon to me is like reading stories.

Stories are like watermelon.

You can enjoy eating it by itself.

You can add it with other fruits .

Making stories is like watermelon.

It’s good with anything or just by itself .

What genre do you like to read?

You can put watermelon in any story.

Just like you can put any ingredients in Salad.

Have you ever put watermelon in a Salad?

Try it, you won’t regret it.

How about eating watermelon after eating your favorite

Mac Cheese (Camp)?

Mac Cheese , it becomes special when you add your own magic to it.

May it be extra cheese or paprika.

Like , I said no Watermelon in this Summer Camp unless you stashed it in

A good hiding place. Who can hide a watermelon?

It’s too big and heavy to hide.

Cooking Summer camp means you have to cook .

Watermelon, you don’t have to cook.

You just mixed it in or blend it in.

I have seen people grilled watermelon, have you?

My summer would not be complete if I don’t eat watermelon.

When I was pregnant, that’s all I ate and now my daughter won’t

eat watermelon. She would eat Mac cheese everyday.

Maybe she would love Mac Cheese, Summer Camp .

Here is the recipe for a watermelon salad:

1/4 cup of Olive oil

2 tbsp lime

2 tbsp of vinegar

1/2 salt

4 cups of cubed seedless watermelon

2 cups chopped cucumber

1/2 chopped mint leaves

Any extra of your favorite salad ingredients can be added.

Directions:

*In a small bowl, whisk together,Olive Oil, Lime, vinegar and salt.

*In a Salad bowl, combine watermelon 🍉, cucumbers 🥒 , mint leaves 🍃

And the extra ingredients of your choice.

Toss together and it’s ready to be serve.

Now for the Mac Cheese. Follow

the Mac Cheese box instructions

And just mixed in velveeta Cheese Sauce and ola la …

I hope you will enjoy.

I did not forget the drinks.

Cranberry/ watermelon juice :

Freeze the watermelon balls and drop them in the cranberry juice once frozen.

Did I tell this whole feast will cost less than 20 dollars?

There you have it the best summer meal you will ever have.

Don’t forget to bring out your best summer camp playlist

to get the summer going. Don’t forget the best summer out door fun games.

Hula hoops, blow up pool, banana water slide, bubbles, beach ball and

Sprinklers.

Rainbeary good summer vibe songs

Night fall at this summer camp can’t get very scary.

The cabin does not have any electricity, it all candle light.

I am definitely, sleeping in the middle. I am not letting it get to me.

Who let you tell the fire camp story? Who told you it had to be scary?

Really , now?

*****

Camp fire story time ,it’s 8pm.

“ Once there was an old lady that used to live in this cabin, she used to have

Pet yellow snakes. She actually eat them . The snakes would never harm

her cause , she took care of them. The old lady could no longer live alone,

her family took her in and took care of her. The snakes where left here.

Don’t be surprised if you encounter a snake tonight.”

What kind of creepy crawler fire camp story is that?

This make my skin crawl for real. How am I going to sleep at this camp

tonight.I am going to think of the watermelons, I am going to have

When I get home . If , I get throught the night.

Enjoy these creepy camp stories in this video, created by Darkness Prevails.

I , enter this story in two Challenges 2022 for fun. Enjoy the videos if nothing else. Happy Summer and thanks for reading.

cuisine

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Angela Derscha2 years ago

    Dangit, now I'm hungry!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Steve Lance2 years ago

    I have a nice piece of watermelon in my fridge, just waiting for me. Yum.

  • I do love watermelon, and I love your story too

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 years ago

    Love the TWO stories in one! Supercute! Can't wait to try the watermelon salad! it sounds yummy! 😊

Mariann CarrollWritten by Mariann Carroll

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.