Feast logo

5+ Hot Chocolate Recipes

Being Vegetarian in Japan

By HeetaPublished 4 months ago 3 min read

If you prefer watching a video instead of reading, then click on the above video.

All the recipes use two key ingredients!

  • Milk of choice. I prefer oat milk because it is the most neutral-tasting product. You do you!
  • Chocolate or cocoa powder of choice. I used an actual chocolate bar, pre-flavored for most of these recipes to make it easier on myself. But if you'd prefer to go vegan, I'd recommend cocoa powder and the use of flavored syrups, jams, powders, etc. to have these recipes taste accordingly.
  • Steps

    • Add one cup of milk to a pot (I usually use whatever mug/cup I have available, it is not an exact measurement.)
    • Bring it to a simmer (not a boil)
    • Add chopped-up chocolate (to avoid clumping) gradually and stir to ensure the chocolate and milk are mixing well
    • I add chocolate as per taste. I generally start with half of the bar and then add more (or not) as I go on.

Blueberry

I couldn't find a picture of the actual blueberry chocolate bar I used, you will be able to see it in the video. To my surprise, there are several brands available, so there are alternatives. Yay!

Garnish: I didn't do this in the video because I didn't want to buy a product that I wouldn't use outside of this recipe. But if you have blueberry-flavored blue-colored marshmallows available then I would definitely top the hot chocolate with them and even char them a bit. Or blue-colored whipped cream, or regular white whipped cream with blueberry syrup!

Cookies n' Cream

So I did use white chocolate for this recipe. But off camera, when I made it again I later found that white chocolate isn't necessary to make it taste the same. All you need is vanilla, sugar, and cookie crumbs. But the chocolate does provide an extra creaminess.

Garnish: Whipped cream with cookie crumble. Simple enough, works the best for this one I think.

Matcha

I so wished I had actual matcha for this recipe (instead of the matcha latte sachet I used). Trust me, authentic 100 percent matcha works beautifully with milk chocolate or white chocolate.

Garnish: I'd recommend regular whipped cream topped with match sugar or matcha powder.

Spicy Disaster

I've had cinnamon hot chocolate, and I did try cardamom hot chocolate in the process of making this. On their own, it tastes great. Together? Nah, fam!

Garnish: A cinnamon stick or cardamom powder with regular whipped cream. Make it separately though, not together!

Raspberry

I used raspberry jam for the video, simply because I was planning to buy the jam for regular use. But off camera, I did use raspberry powder, where the flavor was substantially far more concentrated, which made this combination taste even better. Conclusion? Raspberry hot chocolate tastes great!

Garnish for an Alternate version: I would perhaps make a raspberry white hot chocolate topped with chocolate whipped cream and sprinkled with red or pink sprinkles. Just to change it up a bit from all the milk chocolate hot chocolates.

Mint

My favorite of all the flavors! It's just a bit harder (actually a lot) to find in Japan compared to Canada or Korea. So I decided to make my own (for the first time ever) and on the second attempt, I think I broke the code and will most definitely keep making my own from now on.

Garnish: Regular whipped cream with crushed candy cane, it's the MVP in the hot chocolate world in my opinion.

Orange

I wanted to use Terry's, but wasn't willing to buy the overpriced chocolate ball. So I went with another brand, and it tasted amazing!

Garnish: Regular whipped cream with orange zest or chopped-up candied orange peel. though, I haven't tried either, in my mind it looks absolutely delectable.

Banana

I used banana powder for milk available at the Japanese supermarket. But I do think banana-flavored milk would work just as well. I just don't have a non-dairy banana-flavored alternative available.

Garnish: Chocolate whipped cream or regular with banana-flavored white chocolate drizzle. I am wondering how those infamous tiny banana-shaped candies may look. Remember those?

Peanut Butter

I used peanut butter. But I do wonder how Reeses would have worked. Sounds yum!

Garnish: Whipped cream with candied peanuts or peanut butter powder to give it a bit more authentic nutty flavor without it being too sweet.

Coconut

Coconut milk with a regular bar of milk chocolate and voila, you have magic. This was sooooooooooo good, and easiest to make out of all these recipes.

Garnish: Whipped cream sprinkled with coconut flakes.

Thank you for reading! <3

Follow. Comment. Like. ^^

Adios Amigos

listvegetarianveganrecipehow todiy

About the Creator

Heeta

Books are a passion. Fashion is a hobby. Sociology is my accomplishment. And thus, I bring you, a little bit of this, and a little bit of that. #Unedited #Freestyle #Wordvomit

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    HeetaWritten by Heeta

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.