Confessions logo

SHATTERED ASPIRATIONS OF YOUTH IN AFRICA

Youth Struggles in Africa

By Silas BasseyPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
Like



Once I was six years old, making promises worth billions of dollars, to Mama and Papa. Like it was an easy task, I said, "Mum, I will buy three big cars for you and daddy one day, a private jet, and build a house with a swimming pool for you. I will give you lots of money. I will employ three drivers, and five house maids".

When I turned ten years, life was still rosy. I kept making promises. Promised to make a name for myself and my family. I told my mum, "one day, I will become a doctor and take you abroad". Even though, we were just struggling to survive, I was determined to make my family famous and respected.

Once I was twelve years, I was hit by a huge blow from failure. I thought of my struggling parents, how they starved to send me to secondary school, and now returning to them with a report that read: “Advised to withdraw". I felt a pang of pain as I dragged myself home, to present my report card filled with reds and tears, to my parents. I thought of the promises I made to my parents as a kid, and wept bitterly.

Again, at age sixteen, my dreams of becoming a writer, crumbled. I couldn't afford the fees to publish my works, neither did I have a means of working online to get money. I couldn't proceed to the university to pursue my dreams of becoming a doctor, due to lack of funds. My father, a retired teacher, wasn't paid his pension and my family suffered the consequences.

Once I was seventeen years, I became a victim of unfortunate circumstances. While struggling for my daily meals, deep into the night, I stumbled upon a group of guys, mercilessly beating up a defenseless teenage guy of my age. He was shot on the spot and I was discovered by them. I received the beatings of my life, then was threatened to join them in their fraudulent ways.

I thought of my parents, and the promises I made to them and how proud they will be if I eventually fulfilled them. I looked at the guys one more time and their huge cars, then made up my mind to join them. At least, I will stop struggling for my daily meals now.

Once I was nineteen years old, I made my first One hundred million naira. It was a dream come true. I can finally give my parents lots of money, buy a mansion and cars for them. Only if, they were still alive to witness my success. In my quest for riches to cater for my family, I took a wrong step.

When I was eighteen, my guys told me of a way to get rich quick and I didn't disagree. I was taken to a place, where I only have to stab an empty Calabash and I will be rich. So easy, I thought, I stabbed the Calabash and indeed after three days, I made five million naira from my fraudulent work. Barely a week after, my father died, mysteriously.

Again, I stabbed the empty Calabash, and made One hundred million naira. My dear Mother, was eaten up by worms after a week, also.

Unknown to me, I unintentionally used my parents for ritual while trying to care for them. Now, I’m all alone, sad and rich in regrets.

Once I was Twenty years old, I lost my bearings. Lost my sanity, my home and peace. The streets became my home, where I roam naked and eat from dirt.


FriendshipTeenage yearsHumanityFamilyChildhoodBad habits
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.