Poets logo

Brain Fog

A few days off meds

By Leslie WritesPublished 9 days ago Updated 9 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Brain Fog
Photo by Darius Bashar on Unsplash

My eyes float around the pharmacy indiscriminately

There is motion both real and perceived

I wonder if I should have been driving

I am here, but I forget my purpose every 30 seconds

Suddenly very aware of my optic nerves, like rubber bands stretched

The devil's banjo strings

He plays a stupid endless song

I hand the cashier my stuff

This notebook, bottle of water

and I ask for my prescription refill

I never buy bottled water

But desperate times call for...

She hands me the pills and I scurry off to my car to take one

I wonder how long it will take to feel normal

Stream of ConsciousnessProseMental HealthFree Verse

About the Creator

Leslie Writes

Another struggling millennial. Writing is my creative outlet and stress reliever.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Dr. Jason Benskin3 days ago

    Congratulations on having your story featured as a top story on Vocal! This is a remarkable achievement, and it's clear why your work has received such recognition. Your storytelling is truly exceptional. The narrative was not only compelling but also beautifully crafted, holding my attention from start to finish. The way you developed the characters and plot was masterful, making the story both engaging and thought-provoking. Your unique voice and perspective shine through, setting your work apart. It’s evident that you poured a lot of passion and effort into this piece, and it has certainly paid off. I look forward to reading more of your incredible stories in the future. Keep up the fantastic work! Best regards, Dr. Jay

  • ROCK 3 days ago

    I feel this Leslie vicariously through my kid and again in this flowing release of reality in verse. I am grateful for scientific minds that have brought so many the help they need as best they can. Great piece!

  • Andrea Corwin 4 days ago

    it will take forever...if you are talking of female hormones, LOL. Nice job, loved it!

  • This really is a very clear portrayal of what it can feel like when you are having mental breakdowns and need relief. Great work here!

  • The stream-of-consciousness style invokes a sense of disorientation and introspection, the final line leaves the reader with a lingering question, inviting contemplation, we‘re deeply moved by the poem, loved it, and hope to read more of your work, thank you very much again for sharing this spiritual journey that touched our hearts, subscribed.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Chloe Gilholy6 days ago

    I loved reading this it felt real especially got hit with the bottled water part.

  • Paul Stewart6 days ago

    Oh my I felt this and related far too much to it. I am lapse at times with my meds...which means stinky-horrible-anti-social-nasty makes an appearance. Well written and well done on Top Story, Leslie! I hope you're feeling a bit better since writing and publishing this!

  • oh, I am sorry. My daughter struggles with staying awake. Her anti depression effects.

  • Babs Iverson7 days ago

    Relatable and awesome poem!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Carol Townend8 days ago

    I can relate. I felt the same way at a time when I was put on medication for my mental health. My heart is really deeply with you.

  • Hannah Moore8 days ago

    Oh I hate this for you.

  • Iris Harris8 days ago

    Very deep! Kinda fitting for the age I have reached. 😂😂😂. #funnynotfunny.

  • Feeling this way truly sucks. Hope you feel better now. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • I hope you're feeling better now. I like how you described what you were feeling. I felt like I could feel that myself.

Leslie WritesWritten by Leslie Writes

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.