Confessions logo

Preferring The Dream

From A 2019 Seven Days In Post

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2023
27
A Nightcafe Creation By The Author

Introduction

This is from a Seven Days In post that is getting a bit of traction about dreams and other things and I thought it was worth sharing as a bit of a Vocal confession.

Dreams can be an amazing or horrifying experience. I remember very few of mine and have often documented them when I do remember them, like this one.

I find dreams seldom reflect normal everyday life, but feel sad when the good ones stop and very glad when I come out of the nightmares.

In the song "San Antonio Foam Party" Nigel Blackwell of Half Man Half Biscuit states:

Your weird dreams

Don’t impress in any way

In dreams

Weird things are mundane and everyday

Strange to me would be

Buying a loaf

And coming straight home

Some Things I Remember

My good dreams often involve being with good friends, having no pressure, being able to travel anywhere at will, and being actually able to play a musical instrument.

Nightmares involve climbing on very precarious ladders and staircases which often break or disappear leaving me with the only option of having to jump to get back down. Heights, where I might fall is one of my many fears. Other nightmares include something coming, preparing to protect myself and loved ones, and not being sure that I can do it, but I suppose that is a reflection of life. We all fear losing control in any situation and that sort of nightmare does frighten me, but I don't have them that often.

The Original Post - Preferring The Dream

Today I didn't want to wake or get up because the dream I was in was actually quite enjoyable and comforting despite being in a spin in a Mercedes and then rear-ended by a bus, but also being in pleasant surroundings and resetting the heating controls after returning from holiday. I know this makes no sense whatsoever but that is what normally happens with dreams. I suppose the benefit of it is that you wake up happy and rested and ready for the day even though it's a Monday.

The sky is full of pink clouds so I am not sure what the weather will bring today.

Recently I have been mightily impressed by the new Gang of Four song "Paper Thin". It reminds me of the best of New Order although with added aggression and sandpaper, well worth adding to your collection in whatever form you decide to take it.

So it's Monday and we are ready to go, I have lots to do and deal with, but if I had nothing to do I would be terribly bored. Maybe if I don't write then it dips my mood so I really have to make sure I actually write something even if I have nothing to write about, although actually, you can always find something to write about even if it's the fact that you have nothing to write about.

So get out there and enjoy yourself, it's the best way to go.

Conclusion

You can put all sorts of interpretations on dreams, so reflect your hopes, nightmares reflect your fears and some dreams are so weird that you just don't have a clue.

I hope this story has entertained you and stimulated something in you.

I know people who have lots of nightmares and I have a lot of sympathy for them. I am no professional, but nightmares may be a symptom of pressures in real life. If that happens talk to someone about getting help to deal with it.

Here is some advice from the NHS on how to deal with them.

SecretsHumanityFriendshipFamilyBad habits
27

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Zapyus10 months ago

    Wow!'s up! I have a story like this.

  • ❤️😉

  • Michael Neils11 months ago

    Keep it up. Man

  • Catherine Dorian11 months ago

    "So it's Monday and we are ready to go, I have lots to do and deal with, but if I had nothing to do I would be terribly bored." This mirrors your earlier reflection on dreams; when they're mundane, they're atypical, but when they're chaotic, they're still entertaining, but that's to be expected. Brilliant.

  • Young Blogger11 months ago

    Nice one bro keep it up

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Insightful read, Mike. I love the cover art, it’s surreal and perfect for this piece. Congratulations on your Top Story 🎉

  • JBaz11 months ago

    Great insight into your dreams and thoughts Congratulations

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story, Mike!! I enjoyed hearing about your thoughts on what dreams mean to you :)

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Yay. Congrats on the TS

  • Sergio Dream11 months ago

    https://www.deepl.com/ru/translator

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    Well done Mike. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Naveedkk 11 months ago

    wonderful piece of writing.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    So much connectivity with music, memory and dreams. I enjoyed your recollection and recordings! Great job my dear brother and congratulations 🎊 on top story !

  • Caroline Jane11 months ago

    Congratulations Mike. Great connectivity with lyrics and songs as always!

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    I woke this morning from a nightmare that came on fast. How amazing that your story is among the first I read! Congratulations on the Top Story!

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    I thought I commented on this yesterday, but I guess I got distracted by daydreams. 💭 The more I read your stories, the more I find we have in common. I think recording and analyzing dreams is an invaluable practice for self awareness. It’s especially great for writers, because if you understand the inner workings of your psyche, you’ll never lack things to write about. The funny thing is, most people don’t remember their dreams, though we all dream every night and would go insane if we didn’t. They don’t remember because they don’t make it a habit. Memory has a lot to do with habit. I find if I make it a point to remember my dreams and write them down the moment I wake up, it becomes common to remember them… and I start to see patterns of themes or places I keep dreaming about until I understand the symbolism. Then I stop dreaming of those things. The other night, I dreamed I met a guy I was attracted to and asked him, “Do you believe we dream things before they happen?” LOL. I didn’t know I was dreaming. It wasn’t a lucid dream. It was just funny that I talked about dreaming in a dream. Congrats on a wonderful Top Story! 🥂

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    👍 I don’t dream as much as I use to.. or at least I cannot remember these. I haven’t had the falling dreams for ages, thankfully. I did use to have nightmares as an adult though that were about losing control of being unable to move so I identify with those elements. 🌝 😴

  • When I was little, nightmares terrified me. I would wake up my older brother & make him promise to stay awake until I was back asleep. He always promised he would. I knew he never did, but the promise made me feel better. Then I decided that a nightmare was just a scary movie I got to sleep through without missing anything. After that, whenever I woke from a nightmare, I tried to go back to sleep as quickly as possible so I could find out what happened next. One night, I continued the same nightmare through five installments. It was awesome! I know, I'm weird.

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    I usually find that the dreams I do remember are so far out there, they couldn't be anything but dreams. Nicely done, Mike.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.