Confessions logo

Opening Up

For my Muse

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 8 days ago Updated 8 days ago 3 min read
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

My Muse and I were chatting and she said that I knew everything about her but she knows nothing about me, beautifully analogised is the phrase:

"I have a penny of you, and you have a fortune of me"

That is not quite true because I am a very open person but sometimes the things I say can be easily forgotten.

So this is a confessional list of my favourite things in life, some of which I have shared in Vocal stories, some of which I have just mentioned.

So there will be a list of random headings.

Some Favourites and Just Things About Me

My Favourite Colour

This was one of the first things, and I think because of my love of nature, it is probably green. I was entranced by the willow in Winkley Square on my recent visit to Preston:

Willow In Winkley Square

Clothing-wise I go for black or blue jeans and dark "T"s and shirts, but not a huge fan of red and neither is my Muse, though she looks amazing in any colour.

We also both love purple.

A Few From ST JAmes & Basils

Favourite Flower

A Bee At Work

I love lots of flowers but it is difficult to pin a favourite although I could say that about many things. I love seeing fields of buttercups, and love colourful flowers. I often don't know the names, and sometimes on my walks I see gardens full of thistles, dandelions and foxgloves and think they are so beautiful.

Orchid in the Kitchen
A Bouquet Of Peonies From A Shop In Preston

Favourite Film And TV

This is Tony Scott's "True Romance", penned by Tarantino and sold to finance "Reservoir Dogs". My thoughts on it:

On TV there is so much that I have enjoyed and still enjoy. I love programs like M*A*S*H where the dialogue is so good you can watch any episode and you know it will be perfect, and that is fifty years old.

Maybe "Breaking Bad" is possibly the greatest TV series ever, but I am currently watching and loving "Dexter".

I loved the original "Addams Family" and also "Wednesday", and I was shocked that I stayed the course with 327 episodes of "Supernatural" which I thought was stunning and great fun.

Simba at the Front Door

Where I Am From and My Family

I was born in Mount Street Hospital in Preston in 1957, and was followed by a brother and my sister Yvonne. My mum and dad had a small farm, but my dad was a builder. We kept pigs and cows, but the shippon adjacent to our house became my music room.

I lost my mum to a heart attack and stroke in 1990 but anm still in close contact with my dad and sister.

I have two lovely daughters and a granddaughter and this is a poem I wrote for her:

Here is a bit about my recent visit to Preston.

Sports-wise I am a Preston North End fan. I have a few football shirts though I have not seen them on the field since they last played Newcastle and Sunderland in the North East.

This is a little about them.

Food

I love most food though I tend towards vegetarian meals, but am fine with fish and bacon. I have written som pieces on favourite eating places and below are a couple:

Music

My tastes are eclectic so anything from Beethoven to Black Sabbath can be found in my collection, but below are my two favourite albums.

My music is a big part of my life. Here are my Vocal Stories in the Beat Community:

And this is my YouTube Channel where you can see me attempt a few songs, and make some noise:

A Little More About Me

There are a lot of revelatory confessions that I have posted on Vocal but this is a poem I wrote that contains a pic of me, my dad and Alexis

Here are my Vocal Confessions

Books

My favourite book is Imajica by Clive Barker, which I start reading again once I finish it. I never want it to end.

My favourite author though is JG Ballard as he can take the mundane and make it menacing.

Conclusion

I find listing favourites of things very difficult, but one favourite is certain, and that is the person who asked me to write this, my wonderful Muse.

Teenage yearsWorkplaceSecretsHumanityFriendshipFamilyChildhood

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • L.C. Schäfer7 days ago

    I adore red! Absolute favourite 😁 I love orchids too, because they're hard to kill.

  • I'm glad you don't like red. Red is mine and mine only hehehehehe 😝😝😝😝😝 Thank you so much for letting us know more about you!

  • Andrea Corwin 8 days ago

    OK, so yes, kindred souls, if you lived near us, we would hang out. I want to watch the movie with Arquette and all the stars (commented). Dexter's premise, when I heard it, grossed me out but then I watched and was HOOKED. Loved Supernatural, watched it every week with the Winchesters. and the car. Haven't hear of Imajica by Clive Barker but will add it to my list. Breaking Bad, fabulous. Mash, same. Now I love Elsbeth and Ghosts (American version, didn't like British one) and now series over The Good Doctor. Music I'm more Temptations, Four Tops, Journey...great story, Mike.

  • Judey Kalchik 8 days ago

    Mash is 50 years old. Now I need to sit quietly for a spell

  • Andrea Corwin 8 days ago

    I must go back and read this slowly and click the links. I loved the information and much of what you like, I DO TOO! Kindred souls. purple, love of nature, flowers, bees, pets....I am going to read this again and absorb all of it.

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.