Confessions logo

Oooo, pick me!

for Kayleigh Fraser's Get To Know Me #challenge

By Heather HublerPublished 10 months ago โ€ข 6 min read
Picture of me this past winter

Read about the challenge below!

1) I attended Colorado State University for my freshman year of college despite being from Pennsylvania. They had a great geology program, and I wanted some new scenery. It was an unbelievably wonderful year. I fell in love with the landscape and the people. Unfortunately due to financial reasons, I ended up only staying the one year, but I've never forgotten my time spent there. The return trip was another great memory as I'd flown out and had my stuff shipped to my dorm, but to get home, a fellow classmate who lived in Vermont suggested we get a small U-haul and pull it behind her SUV. So I got to drive cross country. Take aways? Kansas has a lot of corn and crop dusters that like to mess with you, AND Kansas City, Missouri has too many lanes of traffic, lol.

2) While out at CSU, I went to the Grand Canyon for spring break with my roommate and a friend of ours. It was 1994. We actually camped on the Havasupai Reservation. It was a 10-mile hike from where the cars were parked down this crazy switchback descent where donkeys carrying packs passed us with maybe inches between us, them, and a fall to death. My friends convinced me to leave my watch in the car, so we had no idea what time it was for a week until finally one night, I had to ask someone. Found out we were going to bed around 6:30pm and getting up at the ass crack of dawn. The night sky there, free from city lights, was the blackest but most beautiful I've ever seen to this day. Stars everywhere. We hiked and climbed off the side of cliffs to get to the waterfall to rinse off, and ate spoonfuls of peanut butter from the jar. It was an unforgettable experience.

3) I got a sweet tooth. Always have. I love dark chocolate and caramel, preferably together. My favorite candy bar is the Milky Way Midnight. And for completely unexplained reasons, I hate Snickers. I won't even eat it if there's no other chocolate in sight, lol. Which is why I always have a secret stash somewhere in the house. Also because my kids eat everything. Another favorite is ice cream! Give me some vanilla bean, peanut butter ripple or mint chocolate chip. I do also love my salty friends but generally don't seek them out. Sorry, not sorry, chips!

4) My youngest son has gotten (most of) my family into disc golf. He started out with a club at school this past spring, and now we play almost every weekend. There are so many good courses in our area. I'm ok at it. Not horrible but not great either. It's been such a wonderful thing to bring us together. We even bought some disc golf baskets to play at home as we have a large property. If you've never played, it's quite fun. We recently went to the grand opening of a new course about 40 minutes or so from our house. It was a great event with music, food and some friendly competitions. I scored a personal best for 18 holes (yay!), but also picked up a bad case of poison (boo) which is itching as we speak.

By Ted Johnsson on Unsplash

5) If I had a female twin, her name would've been Heidi (according to my mom). I used to be obsessed with that fact when I was young. I wanted a sibling so badly, but really wanted an identical twin. When I was 17, dumb blonde jokes were all the rage and I was completely sick of being a blonde, so my best friend and I dyed our hair one day. Dark brown. My mom was so pissed. But I picked up the name Heidi for a bit, lol! Eventually I tried to dye it back because I was having senior pictures taken. Unfortunately a lesson I have learned in life is that my hair is blonde but does not like to be dyed blonde. I have tried cheap box kind and over $100 professionals and the same thing happens, it either turns very brassy or strawberry. So I had pinkish hair for awhile including having to go to my uncle's funeral. Fun colors were not quite appreciated back then. Sigh.

6) I played the french horn in elementary school but I got sick of lugging that giant thing on the bus, so I switched to the viola. I only played it for a few short years. I've picked up the guitar here and there as an adult and have a lovely one my husband got me for my birthday one year. Used to play a few songs for my oldest boys at bedtime when they were little. I can't sing for shit, but they always loved it. Love Me Tender (by Elvis) was a favorite :)

7) My first poem published on Vocal, When We First Touched, was the first poem I ever wrote. Even in high school, the only time I needed to write one, I had my best friend do it for me. I loathed poetry for so many years, only choking down the classics which made no sense to me. I so badly wanted to go back in time and ask them if the teachers' interpretations were anything like what they intended, lol. But now I find it absolutely freeing to write them and read them. It's become a form of emotional release, and I'm genuinely shocked every time my jumble of words and thoughts make any sense to anyone else. Of course there are still times I read poems that seem to sail right over my head with their meaning, lol.

8) I gave birth to four beautiful children, and they've kept me busy for the last twenty-two years. I calculated one time that I changed diapers for 9 years straight. That's a lot of crap!! The parenting road has not been an easy one. They've each had their challenges with health and school and life. Right now, they all still live at home, in different stages of adolescence and young adulthood. Although it makes things chaotic and our food bill exorbitant, I try to soak up these moments with them before they're out on their own.

9) I have an unhealthy obsession with coffee mugs (and the little hot pad/coaster I sit them on). I've always loved mugs. My favorite ones are often those that feel good in my hands and have some kind of unique coloring or saying. I have so many now that I rotate them for the seasons of the year. It brings me such joy to look through them and choose one to set the tone for my day. I'll share a pic of the newest one I purchased last week. As for the coasters, my kids used to make little pot holders with looms when they were younger. I use them each day to hold a little piece of that time with me. My daughter just crocheted a new one this week. (I'm using it today!)

10) I love to laugh and make others laugh. It's one of my very favorite things to do. I let too many things stress me out and worry me or the past creeps up, so I crave, no need, the emotional release. Otherwise, I'd just be crying all the time. I'm great at delivering a funny story in person. I'm even better at cracking myself up. Hey, I have to be with me every day, so might as well have a good time. If I have a few spare minutes, and by that I mean waiting the 15 minutes for the dryer to fluff, you'll find me scrolling through TikTok watching bloopers, comedians, and people doing silly crap. (I love watching people dance too.)

____________________________________________________

Thank you for reading! If you want to know even more nonsense about me, take a look at these two pieces :)

EmbarrassmentFriendshipFamilyChildhood

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (22)

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Wonderful confession piece!!! We have some awesome mugs from our travels too. I thought Colorado and Pennsylvania had a lot in common. So glad you were able to travel by car on your return trip from Colorado to Pennsylvania!!! Loved this, Heather!!!

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    I'm embarrassed to admit I've just read this for the first time. I'm delighted to have stumbled on it today. I'm not surprised to read that you, too, fall back on humor as a coping mechanism. It tends to be my default approach, which you may have noticed. More on that coming soon. Thanks for sharing a bit more about yourself, even though I'm a month late in reading it!

  • J. S. Wade9 months ago

    Awesome and colorful life story! You stay quite busy. As I read I imagined you sitting in the desert with a mug of coffee not knowing the journey from there to now. What would you have told your younger self if you could go back in time?

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    I'm so mad that I missed this!!! ahhhhh well, let's start with - I just think you are amazing! I can't believe you ever loathed poetry!! (although to be fair, I did too haha). and COFFEE MUGS are the BEST thing to collect. โ˜•

  • Lena Folkert10 months ago

    Ha! I love this! And yes, my dear... that is A LOT of CRAP!! lmao!!! :) <3

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    H-H ~ If it ain't Chocolate Slathered with Peanut Butta' WHY Bother ~ So 'Blondie' - Bop over to the 'Senior' Silly Section once in a while we miss you - J-bud

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    How did I miss this? First of all, you are gorgeous! Those blue eyes would give Sinatra a run for his money. LOVE the coffee mug - was totally surprised about disc golf, but it sounds like fun. Great share, Heather!

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Aw, sweet friend! It was so wonderful to read this and get to know you a bit better! I had no idea "When We First Touched" was the first poem you ever wrote, how wonderful. ๐Ÿฅน I thought the part about "Heidi" was so funny, and I think it's so awesome your family has gotten into disc golf! I admit I'm always envious when you say you're out and about doing that, despite how hot it may be ๐Ÿ˜…

  • Moe Radosevich10 months ago

    such an uplifting piece H2, wow, I think Iโ€™d like that adventure in the canyon, time without time, great job โค๏ธ

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    โค๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜

  • My sweet looney partner, reading this made me tear up. That's when I realised that I miss you so much! Our interaction has reduced so much recently. Mainly it's because I'm no longer active in the groups as I was before. That must have been so nice, to not know the time. So liberating! I like Snickers but not Twix. I just cannotttttt, lol! So sorry you're itching ๐Ÿฅบ Omgggg I'd always wanted to go back in time and ask them the same thing too! 9 years?! 9 freaking years?! Of diaper changing! I would just die ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ Oh wowwww, that's such a pretty coaster! Emma is so talented! Wait I hope I got her name correct ๐Ÿ˜… I truly miss you so much and enjoyed reading this a lot! ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ

  • Delightful getting to know this much more about you, my friend.

  • Antoinette L Brey10 months ago

    Nice introduction to you

  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    This is lovely. I'm with you on mugs. I love them. I especially love yellow ones. Mugs get killed in my house so if I have special mugs I have to hide them away. Our eldest bought me a beautiful porcelain mug for our anniversary. It's hidden at the back of the cupboard. I have an Ursula mug, of course, and that's in my room. I've started writing my ten things, it will be out soon. I've loved reading yours. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ˜˜

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    You're such a freak...and that's why I love ya!

  • Dean F. Hardy10 months ago

    This was very enjoyable. Disc Golf! Didn't expect that haha.

  • ๐Ÿ‘€Terrific, Heather Thank you for sharing this๐Ÿ˜‰โค๏ธ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‘Œโœจ

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    This was great to read - what is disc golf? I shall have to Google that. So many great little tidbits in this. Well done and thank you for taking part in the fun!

  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    Well written! I love laughing and coffee mugs too!

  • Teresa Renton10 months ago

    Lovely to meet you properly (ish) Heather ๐Ÿ˜Š. Iโ€™m right by your side on the train of some poems I just donโ€™t understand, huge food bills because children still at home, and memories of hair train wrecks ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ˜‚

  • Aww wonderful! This was a really lovely read Heather! Although I need to stop reading these before sleeping ๐Ÿ™ˆ After I read Jazzyโ€™s and fell asleep I dreamed she and I were teaching poetry at some universityโ€ฆ (and a whole lot of crazy around this!) hehe. I imagine disc golf may find its way into my dreams tonight ๐Ÿ˜

  • Rene Peters10 months ago

    Loved learning more about you! If you have any pictures from trying to dye it back blond, I kinda wanna see...

Heather HublerWritten by Heather Hubler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.