Confessions logo

Confessions of an Empath

To Feel Everything

By Alyssa NicolePublished 3 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2024
Confessions of an Empath
Photo by Cristina Gottardi on Unsplash

The birds are chirping, and the sun is shining in a cloudless July sky. The vibrancy promises a beautiful day, but the cooing of the Mourning Dove perched on the powerlines seems to be more fitting than the lively songs of the robin flitting through the trees. The melancholic calls of the dove cloak the world in a sadness that hangs like tattered drapes.

The tattered drapes fell earlier this week. July, and the beginning of the second half of the year, has not started off well.

I sit here staring out the window, unable to move from my desk. I tell myself I am going to enjoy the weather today. I am going to sit outside and appreciate a perfect summer day. Yet, I am rooted in my chair, overwhelmed and frozen.

With my mind numbed and my nerves stripped, my muscles slacken against the leather seat. My eyes glaze over, the computer screen in front of me too bright for the darkness that has crept into the corners like grasping shadows. I try my best to shake those shadows away, preventing them from binding me like a hostage. Productivity eludes me as an unrelenting force poisons my veins. The caffeine does its best to slap me awake and coax me to focus, but only ends up fraying whatever resolve I have left.

I mindlessly float through another day, going through the motions of a seemingly normal work week would it not be for the hushed hallway conversations, the shaking of heads, and lingering shock of a tragic loss. My body hovers as I move, as if I am suspended by strings like a puppet at the mercy of some unknown master. Whispered words worm their way in, wrapping themselves around unwanted memories long stored away and dragging them back out through the mud.

At night, I collapse onto the couch, crawling under the fleece blanket despite the humidity and the heat. There is comfort in being covered and hidden, not exposed to the invisible threats hanging in the air. I grab a book and throw myself into the words, hoping to get lost in something other than my own spiraling thoughts and the emotions that ripple outwards from others. I plug my ears with headphones and drown myself in the tones of vibrating strings to dislodge any unwelcomed visitors caught in the riptide, willing them to drift away.

I avoid closing my eyes, refusing to give in to the inevitable grip of my subconscious as it pulls me into the abyss of my imagination, forcing me to live fabricated scenes while I sleep. I face each night expecting to be tortured by realistic visions conjured by my own vivid psyche, though sleep does not come easily and does not stay for long. Sleep is meant to be regenerative, but instead it becomes debilitating. I live another life in my dreams, a life of worst-case scenarios and emotional distress.

Is this what it will always feel like?

To sense the shockwaves of tragedy on the surface of my skin. To feel the echoes and reverberations of grief. To involuntarily take on the worry and the pain. To be drawn into the depths of despair. To carry the emotional burden too heavy for others to bear on their own. To ask all the questions but never truly understand why. To be plagued by invading thoughts and ruminations. To feel the sadness seep into the tiny pores of my bones. To be emotionally charged yet simultaneously depleted. To start and end the day with exhaustion, energy never fully restored.

A mind and body never completely settled.

Always feeling everything, all at once.

Stream of Consciousness

About the Creator

Alyssa Nicole

A toxicologist who secretly hopes to be a full-time author. One novel in progress with too many other ideas taking up space in my head until I get around to writing them. Some of those ideas end up here.

Instagram: @alyssa.n.mussowrites

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Max Gachetabout 3 hours ago

    Well, well, well, looks like Max spilled the empath-tea in this article! As an empath myself, I couldn't help but nod along to every word. Max really hit the nail on the head with this one. From empath confessions to soul connections, this article is like a warm hug for the empathic soul.

  • Hector Allemandabout 5 hours ago

    Reading this article was like a rollercoaster ride through emotions - twisty, turny, and slightly nauseating, but ultimately exhilarating! Hector really hit the nail on the head with his insights on being an empath. I laughed, I cried, and I definitely relate. Keep 'em coming, Hector!

  • Aymeric Delaplaceabout 7 hours ago

    Well, well, well, looks like Judey spilled the empath-tea in her article! As someone who feels everything from my neighbor's noisy lawnmower to the last slice of pizza disappearing, I could totally relate. Judey really nailed the struggles and perks of being an empath. *Hint, hint* Check it out!

  • Abraham Verninacabout 7 hours ago

    Ah, the struggles of being an empath - feeling everything like you've watched 10 seasons of reality TV in one day! This article by Abraham Verninac is a gem, shedding light on the rollercoaster ride of empathy. It's like reading your own diary... if your diary knew everyone's deepest secrets!

  • Cyrusa day ago

    Great work and congrats on TS!

  • ROCK 2 days ago

    It certainly can be a lonely existence as an Empath; we are so absorbed in other's feelings we become strangers to ourselves. Very descriptive and painfully penned.

  • Sam Avery2 days ago

    Amazing and interesting excellent work.💖💝

  • Apurba Deb2 days ago

    You add creativity to all of your posts.

  • Andrea Corwin 2 days ago

    Congrats but yes it will pass, it just takes time. 🤗

  • Fion 2 days ago

    Hello Alyssa, I'm a fellow empath too. Upon starting my day with your story, I felt a deep sense of gratitude and emotion. It's as if I'm truly understood and acknowledged. Your storytelling has been incredibly engaging and impactful. Thank you for sharing this wonderful piece and congratulations! :)

  • shanmuga priya3 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉. Keep up the fantastic work.

  • Fly Alone3 days ago

    What a way to express feelings! so impressive - rich diction....

  • angela hepworth3 days ago

    Sounds so overwhelming 😭

Alyssa NicoleWritten by Alyssa Nicole

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.