Confessions logo

Not Everything

An Honest Thought

By D.S. FisichellaPublished 3 days ago 2 min read
Top Story - June 2024

Do you ever feel like you can't run from yourself fast enough? Like every decision you’ve ever made is eternal, but that knowledge alone is not enough to keep you from acting on your idiotic impulses and the thoughts of your bad heart?

Yeah. Me too.

I don't know. I guess I just want to believe I don't have to be that person anymore. I want to believe I can transcend instant gratification and be wise. Truly wise. That I would stay away from things that are bad for me, and cling to the things that grow me, nourish me, help me to heal. I don't mean to be tragic, but sometimes I just don't see a way out and I’m overcome with my own inability to… well, overcome.

So what now?

I don't know. I guess I lay on the dirt until I get tired of the way it itches my skin, or get freaked out by the bug trying to suck the lifeblood from my face. Or maybe I just look up. Look at the sky… the clouds… the trees swaying overhead or the moon and stars. And then I just breathe and let myself feel whatever I'm feeling. Itchy. Uncomfortable. Sad. Angry. All of it. I might cry, or maybe I’ll sing a hymn or the jingle from my favorite commercial.

The point is, what’s next is to just be. To remind myself that it’s okay for me to borrow oxygen from the world on which I exist. It’s okay that I’m a little jaded and broken and messy and kind. Because I am. Because the fact that I have bad in me doesn't mean I can't also be gentle and funny and passionate and clever. The people who love me will love me whether or not I am those things all the time.

So maybe today I let my smile drop until there’s something to genuinely smile about. Maybe if someone asks me if everything is okay, I’ll have the courage to say, “not everything,” and shrug. Maybe that will make them feel awkward. Or maybe it will give them the courage to be honest, too. (But I won't leave things there. Because I’m not one to deliver a one liner and leave… I’m not the main character.) After I shrug, I’ll smile at the surprise on their face and I’ll think of something that will make us both feel better. Like the fact that it’s Friday… or my idea to invent chocolate that will burn calories and give one the ability to travel back in time for five seconds for the sole purpose of throwing something at one’s own head and hoping that action alone is enough to make one rethink the idiotic decision they’re about to make.

Did you smile?

Good.

I'm glad I could make you smile. Feel something other than tragic as you read the ramblings of a pregnant woman at 8AM.

You're not alone. I hope you feel that, too.

And now that you're here… I suppose I’m not alone either, so thanks.

Not everything is okay, but this is. I’m okay with myself right now… and that's enough.

Stream of Consciousness

About the Creator

D.S. Fisichella

Writing is a vulnerable experience. Be it fiction (for the imagination), poetry (for the soul) or non-fiction... it is all an art form to me. Thank you for reading and making my words worth sharing. www.dsfwrites.carrd.co

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Sherif Saadabout 15 hours ago

    well written

  • angela hepworthabout 21 hours ago

    So important—great work here!

  • Md Akik Ahmeda day ago

    I like this story 🥰🥰

  • Sarah Daniela day ago

    I'm really moved by your words. Your honesty about the struggle and hope is powerful. It's okay to feel everything and just be. Thank you for sharing this.

  • You are truly beautiful in your words and in your vulnerability and in your trials and your strength! “What now?” Is never a straight line—you have all the wisdom you need and it shows. <3

  • Andrea Corwin 2 days ago

    Ups and downs every day, week, month, year - the cycle of life and it is forgiven in each and every being; the sad, the high, the anger, the sweetness - it snaps and spreads and comforts.

  • Ameer Bibi2 days ago

    Self love and self care both are essential We should take care of ourselves than should focus on anything else

D.S. FisichellaWritten by D.S. Fisichella

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.