Confessions logo

My Fear of Failure

What If I Let Everyone Down

By Andrew PretzelPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
4
My Fear of Failure
Photo by M.T ElGassier on Unsplash

I worry I’m not good enough.

Will I succeed or fall short?

This fear consumes me at times.

What if I fail?

How could I cope with the disappointment in myself and others?

School always stressed me…

Tests made my anxiety spike.

“What if I don’t know the answers?”

I’d think.

One wrong move, teachers may see me as the class dunce.

Work also brings back these old feelings.

Reviews make me a mess

“Your performance isn’t where it should be”

still rings in my ears.

A silly mistake, they’ll see I’m useless.

Yet friends say I’m talented…

So why can’t I believe it?

Maybe we all struggle sometimes.

But I obsess over every small flaw.

Will people like me if they saw how “dumb” I feel inside?

What if I let down the few who care? I’m scared to be alone.

As Albert Einstein said:

“Everyone is a genius.

But if you judge a fish on its ability to climb a tree,

it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.”

We all have strengths, so why do I only see my weaknesses?

Now, I open up to select friends, and focus on learning, not being perfect. Friends and family remind me that I’m more than a job or test score.

I’m trying daily to replace harsh self-talk with compassion.

Our worth isn’t in successes, but in how well we support each other through both.

As Mr. Rogers wrote:

“Look for the helpers.”

In tough times, their belief shows me how to start believing in myself too.

The day I can do that is the day I’ll stop battling old fears and start living freely at last.

☑️©️ Andrew Pretzel 2024

By Vadim Bogulov on Unsplash

1. The fear of failure is so common that it has its own scientific name: "atychiphobia." But don't worry, you don't have to be a scientist to understand it. Just remember that it's a fancy way of saying "afraid of messing up."

2. Did you know that the fear of failure can actually be a good thing? It's true! Studies have shown that people who experience moderate levels of fear are more likely to perform better and be more motivated. So, next time you're feeling nervous about a big project, just tell yourself it's a sign that you're going to crush it!

3. The fear of failure can be so intense that it can actually make you fail. It's like a self-fulfilling prophecy: you're so afraid of failing that you psych yourself out and, well, fail. It's like your brain is playing a cruel joke on you, saying "Hey, you're going to fail anyway, so why even try?" But don't worry, you can overcome this by focusing on the things you can control and not letting your fear get the best of you.

4. The fear of failure is not just limited to individuals. Companies and organizations can also suffer from it! Imagine a group of highly skilled professionals, all too afraid to take risks and try new things for fear of, well, failing. It's like a game of corporate musical chairs, where everyone is too scared to move for fear of getting eliminated. But, just like with individuals, companies can overcome this by embracing a culture of experimentation and learning from failure.

5. The fear of failure can be so paralyzing that it can stop you from even trying in the first place. It's like your brain is a strict teacher, saying "Don't even think about it, you're going to fail!" But, the truth is, you'll never know if you don't try. And the more you try, the more you'll learn and grow. So, next time you're feeling afraid of failure, just tell yourself that it's okay to take a chance and see what happens. You might be surprised at how far you can go!

WorkplaceStream of ConsciousnessSecretsHumanityFriendshipFamilyEmbarrassmentBad habits
4

About the Creator

Andrew Pretzel

Anxious and depressed. Muhawahahaha! 😈 Hmm.. wait what? 🥴

>>>> Support my writting on Ko-Fi with just $1 <<<<

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Emos Sibu Poriei (Kaya)2 months ago

    Love it!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Perfectionism is a harsh master. Employers are as often blame for an employees failure as the employees theselves.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.