Confessions logo

Signs and Symbols

What to do next…

By Kendall Defoe Published 2 months ago 3 min read
Signs and Symbols
Photo by Michal Balog on Unsplash

I have said this before and I will say it again: there are some pieces that I do not want to write, but feel compelled to. And this one will not let me go.

*

I was at home after a long Saturday. I considered going to one of my favourite record stores – Aux 33 Tours – for Record Store Day, but instead ended up hunting down some more used books, something special for dinner, and then headed home. But that was not enough. I had to do a little cleaning up and did finish the dishes, collected cans for the credit machine at the local supermarket (not a bad idea for some extra change), and picked up my bag with notes and ideas for more Vocal pieces.

Then, I looked at my bookcase.

I know that there is no warning provided on the weight-bearing capacity on bookcases, but I suspected that I was overloading it with all of the reading I intended or had engaged in and saved. With a slight groan, I could see the great lean and bend of the cheap wood as it toppled to the floor with a heavy crash and spilled several genres of reading everywhere. So, the walk was delayed.

Now, that was not what compelled me to write this piece. There was something bigger to come.

*

It was a cold night, but I only had my black golf shirt and thin jacket for my walk. It was not so bad once I picked up my pace. At the supermarket, I did not have to wait on a machine, and most of the cans I brought were easily processed. Now, as I said, I intended to work at a café on another piece, but I did not want to stay up too late. I ordered a double-long espresso and a glass of water as I sat at the still crowded café (I knew that they closed in about two hours). There were plenty of families warming themselves against the cold outside; there was plenty of laughter over jokes I could not understand (Tagalog, Hindi and other languages everywhere). And I decided to read my emails.

A Friendly Request

The moment I saw that subject line, I knew that it could not be good news. My landlord wrote a long message about bringing family over to Canada and that my space in the house would have to go to housing them.

A hard knot formed in my stomach and all thoughts of writing went away. But it was not anger that I felt. I knew that I had until July 1st to find a place (standard practice in Quebec), and that this might make a very interesting article for Vocal (which I hope it is). It was just the fact of having to go through that whole process again that made me ill. Moving should be an activity that you are done with by the time you reach a certain age.

And I have already contacted one landlord in the same area.

And I am also considering another job. There is work in this country…if you are willing to make the move. Teaching has been an amusing ride for me, but I am keeping a quote from the film director John Waters in mind during my hunt: “If you can speak in public, you will never be unemployed.” Public speaking is a real fear in our society (death being a close second). I just hope that he’s right.

*

So, that is where my head is at on a Sunday. I went out for a run, interestingly enough near the place where I discovered that apartment online, came home, made some coffee, sat down, wrote in my journal (a very interesting entry), and decided to write this piece. I will also be writing something to make me laugh and posting it later today. I think I need a laugh, don’t you?

And don’t worry. I have been in this rodeo before, but with roommates, not a landlord who actually wrote the following: “I think that you were a wonderful tenant and kept the place very well and clean.”

Things go on.

I will be fine.

And I will keep writing…

By Brad Starkey on Unsplash

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

HumanityFamilyBad habits

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • kp2 months ago

    feeling this essay and sending you so much positivity. catching up on some reading this week and looking forward to reading the pieces you have posted since this one.

  • C. Rommial Butler2 months ago

    Well-wrought! I had to move around a lot as a young man. A mixture of my own fault and unforeseen circumstances. I've lived in the same place for going on a decade now, and it definitely helps, though owning a home comes with a steady schedule of work all its own! Keep collecting physical books! Physical copy may one day be a real, legitimate treasure! I have a loaded bookcase of my own.

  • Ugh, that's a bummer! Hope you find a place soon.

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    UGH!!! I hate moving. I moved 8 times in the last 20 years. Mainly because of wanting to try out new states but it's way too much! Sorry you happen to open the email right as you were preparing to write... It turned out to be a buzzkill. Better to know asap, I guess. Best of luck my friend. Also, more power to ya with the public speaking, you can do it! I trip over my thoughts too often when trying to keep a train of thought while people are looking at me, focused on what I'm saying (trying to say, lol.)

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Yes, please keep writing. You’re wonderful. Maybe find out who your landlords “family” is, call them up and tell them that Canada is having a human eating locust problem and to avoid being eaten they probably shouldn’t come. Plus there’s the Canadian zombies who always ask “please can I eat you, sorry,” before eating people. Then if they don’t come you get to keep your place! Wish you lots of luck and happiness! 😃

  • Lana V Lynx2 months ago

    As someone who moved 19 times in her entire life, I feel for you, Kendall. And yes, you are right - you will be OK, everything ultimately works our for good people.

Kendall Defoe Written by Kendall Defoe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.