Confessions logo

Broken Hearts Fall Silent

A Crush Gone Wrong

By Mercedes ChavezPublished 21 days ago 4 min read
Top Story - May 2024

Attraction can sometimes be a deceptive guide, leading us through a mirage of charm only to leave us stranded in a harsh reality. It's a cruel twist of fate when the dream we chase turns into a nightmare we cannot escape. The realization that we've been deceived by our own feelings is a bitter pill to swallow, leaving us to pick up the pieces of our broken illusions. Yet, it's often through these painful experiences that we grow stronger and learn to see beyond the veil of mere appearances.

Ah, the classic bad boy allure. Many girls fell for their charm, I was no exception. It's a tale as old as time, where the leather jacket, guitar, and enviable hair combo seem to cast a spell on the hearts of many. It's like they're the modern-day knights, but instead of shining armor, they wear the cool detachment and mystery that's just as captivating. And who could resist the strum of a guitar? It was the soundtrack to many a youthful crush, a melody that lingered long after the school bell rang.

His golden-brown hair caught the sunlight, and his light brown eyes held a depth that was hard to ignore. Despite his strong jawline and tall stature that made him stand out in a crowd, it was his stern expression that often gave people pause. Yet, those who knew him said that behind that seemingly unapproachable facade was a good person. I truly believed it at first, mostly because I was completely smitten by him, but once he came to know about how I felt about him... things took a turn.

He was friends with my best friend at the time, and as any best friend would, he tried to get us together, but he didn't know me and said I wasn't really his type, it was disheartening, but the feeling didn't last long, it was just a silly, little high school crush, and it was only a matter of time before someone else caught my attention. But things didn't stop there, I moved on but my friend would keep mentioning me to him, and kept trying to get us into different situations together. He soon showed his annoyance with it... and with me. Despite my innocence in the whole thing, he lashed out at me. The worst thing I remember him saying to me, I had just gotten out of school for the day, I was home laying down when I heard my phone go off, picking it up, I saw that I had a message from him. Confusion and curiosity filled my mind, I opened the message, and instantly felt sick... He was accusing me of messaging him and leading him on, I had absolutely no idea what he was talking about, but he was furious, and nothing I was saying was getting through to him. The last thing he said to me that day was, "No one will ever want you, boy or girl, you'll be alone, no one could ever love someone like you."

I didn't even like him anymore, I never had his number or any other way to get a hold of him, but he didn't believe me. My heart shattered, he didn't know me, and I really didn't know him, but somehow this perfect stranger managed to break my heart. I am ashamed to admit it, but I took his words to heart for so long; I truly believed I wasn't capable of being loved or wanted.

But then came the summer after graduation, almost 2 years after that fateful conversation; it was a warm July night, I was home alone and talking to my friend when he said, "Hey, do you know who just showed and wants to talk to you?" Mentally, I didn't click, I simply asked, "Who?" I almost hung up when I heard his response, "Johnny."

I shook my head no and told him I did not want to speak to him, but I could hear him in the background, I could hear him say my name. I couldn't do it, I couldn't even stand to hear him say my name. I told my friend I had to go, before he could respond, I hung up. Minutes later, my phone started ringing again, I answered and quickly said, "I don't feel like talking."

"Not even to me?" It wasn't my friends voice, it was his. It made me feel cold, I could feel anger stir in my chest, all I could manage to say was, "What do you want?"

He said I hurt his feelings by not wanting to talk to him, and that he had been thinking about me. I could only roll my eyes and shake my head in disbelief. But I was completely dumbfounded by his next words, "You should come by, you can sit on the roof with me and maybe we can get to know each other."

He couldn't be serious; how could he possibly think that I would want anything to do with him? I laughed, "You can't be serious?"

His intentions became clear instantly, "I could be the best you've ever had, just come over and I'll show you." I felt sick, why would my 'friend' let him call me? And why would he think I would ever let him touch me? I told him to never call me again and I hung up.

A few times after that, he tried to contact me, I ignored him every time. I couldn't believe that I actually liked this person at one point, I was dumb and truly blind. I hadn't thought of him in a few years, but then, I saw him a few weeks ago and all of the memories came flooding back. It has been years, yet a touch of fear and anger overwhelmed me at just the sight of him. I didn't want to admit it, but the damage he caused may never go away, and if that's the case, I really hope I never see him again.

Teenage yearsSecretsDatingBad habits

About the Creator

Mercedes Chavez

Come with me, lets go on an adventure together, see the world through my eyes, let me paint a picture with my words, I promise you will be able to feel what I felt the first time I experienced it. Love, sadness and everything in between.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (18)

  • Krysta Dawn11 days ago

    The bad boy allure usually does ends up as a train wreck, but we just can't seem to help it sometimes. As bad as it sounds, I'm glad he showed his true colors before you got close to him. He's the one no one will ever love, but you will always be more loved and better than him.

  • Congrats on your top story.

  • Pretty! This was a really wonderful post. Thank you for providing these details. https://infocampus.co.in/ui-development-training-in-bangalore.html https://infocampus.co.in/web-development-training-in-bangalore.html https://infocampus.co.in/mern-stack-training-in-bangalore.html https://infocampus.co.in/reactjs-training-in-marathahalli-bangalore.html https://infocampus.co.in/javascript-jquery-training-in-bangalore.html https://infocampus.co.in/data-structure-algorithms-training-in-bangalore.html https://infocampus.co.in/angularjs-training-in-bangalore.html https://infocampus.co.in/ https://infocampus.co.in/web-designing-training-in-bangalore.html https://infocampus.co.in/front-end-development-course-in-bangalore.html

  • Robyn Peterson18 days ago

    I am so pleased to read this story you wrote. It sums up all the “bad boy” thoughts that I have been having a hard time to express. I’m glad that the girl never picked up the phone again or even hung out with the thought of him again. Good for her!

  • Linda Goodman18 days ago

    Great work

  • Star Dav19 days ago

    Mmmh

  • Fantastic writing.

  • Ameer Bibi19 days ago

    Keep up the great work

  • Meraj Ahmed19 days ago

    Keep Writing amazing story!

  • Linda Goodman19 days ago

    Heart wrenching! Congratulations on your top story

  • Anu Mehjabin19 days ago

    Great read! Keep writing! 🌟 And congrats on your top story🎉

  • Jasmine Whitmore19 days ago

    Very heartbreaking

  • Hasan19 days ago

    The content you provided was exceptional! It was well-researched, engaging, and perfectly tailored to our audience. Your writing skills have significantly boosted our website traffic and user engagement. Thank you!

  • angela hepworth19 days ago

    Heartwrenching work, Mercedes.

  • Very heartbreaking

  • shanmuga priya21 days ago

    My sincere appreciation for writing.

  • Real Poetic21 days ago

    "It's a cruel twist of fate when the dream we chase turns into a nightmare we cannot escape." So true.

Mercedes ChavezWritten by Mercedes Chavez

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.