Confessions logo

The Night in Jail That Changed My Life

Why Was It So Hard for Me to Find My Path?

By Andrew PretzelPublished 2 months ago 4 min read
5
The Night in Jail That Changed My Life
Photo by AJ Colores on Unsplash

Hi, my pretzels! Let me tell you a story about a young lad who struggled to find his way in life. That young lad was me, and let me tell you, it was a wild ride.

I was a problem kid, always getting into trouble and never really fitting in.

Despite my good grades in school, I couldn’t shake off the feeling that I already knew everything and that school wasn’t going to help me much.

Yeah, I was one of those kids who thought they knew it all.

Fast-forward to my early 20s, and you’d find me clubbing and chasing girls like there was no tomorrow.

I mean, who needs sleep when you can party all night and chase after girls, right?

Wrong.

Looking back, I realize how much of a waste of time and energy that was.

I was working hard during the day and partying even harder at night, but I wasn’t getting anywhere.

But then something happened that changed everything.

I got arrested.

Yep, you heard that right. I spent a night in jail, and let me tell you, it was a real eye-opener. It was like a slap in the face, a wake-up call. I realized that I needed to get my act together and start taking life seriously.

By Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

I had always been the kind of person who thought they knew it all, who thought they could handle anything that came their way.

But that night in jail, I realized that I wasn’t as tough as I thought I was. I was scared, I was vulnerable, and I was completely lost.

But as I sat in that cell, I started to think about my life and all the mistakes I had made. I thought about all the times I had messed up, all the times I had let myself and others down. And I realized that it was time for me to make a change.

I didn’t want to end up like the other guys in that cell, guys who had been in and out of jail their whole lives. I wanted more for myself. I wanted to be better.

So, I made a decision.

I decided to take control of my life, to start making better choices, and to start taking responsibility for my actions.

It wasn’t going to be easy, but I knew it was the only way to turn my life around.

And that’s exactly what I did. I started attending therapy sessions, I got a job, and I started saving money. I stopped hanging out with the wrong crowd and started surrounding myself with positive, supportive people.

It wasn’t easy, but I did it. And you know what? It was the best decision I ever made.

My life completely turned around.

I’m not saying I’m perfect, I still have my ups and downs, but I’m a completely different person now.

I’m proud of myself, I’m proud of the person I’ve become.

And I’m grateful for that night in jail because it was the wake-up call I needed to turn my life around.

So, I started to focus on learning new things and building a career. I worked hard, saved my money, and eventually got my own car and apartment.

And guess what? I even found a beautiful wife, and we’re expecting a child!

Yeah, life has been good to me lately.

Now, I’m not gonna lie.

It wasn’t easy. There were plenty of ups and downs, and there are still days when I feel like I’m struggling. But the key is to keep pushing forward, no matter what.

Here are a few things I’ve learned along the way that might help you if you’re struggling to find your path:

1.Don’t be afraid to ask for help. I know it’s hard to admit when we don’t know something, but trust me, it’s okay to ask for help.

2. Don’t be afraid to take risks. Sometimes, you have to take a chance and see where it takes you.

3. Don’t be afraid to fail. Failure is not the end of the world. In fact, it’s often a step closer to success.

4. Don’t be afraid to be different. Embrace your quirks and individuality. It’s what makes you unique and special.

5. Don’t be afraid to take time for yourself. It’s important to take a step back and reflect on your life sometimes.

And remember, life is not a destination, it’s a journey.

Finding your life's path is difficult, but it is worthwhile. Don’t give up, keep pushing forward, and always remember to have a sense of humor. And if all else fails, just remember that at least you’re not alone. We’re all in this together, struggling to find our way.

Oh, and one more thing, don’t forget to sleep.

Sleep is important, folks.

I mean, I’m not saying I’m an expert, but trust me, you don’t want to end up like me, with dark circles under your eyes and a constant caffeine buzz.

FriendshipTeenage yearsStream of ConsciousnessSecretsHumanityFamilyCONTENT WARNINGBad habits
5

About the Creator

Andrew Pretzel

Anxious and depressed. Muhawahahaha! 😈 Hmm.. wait what? 🥴

>>>> Support my writting on Ko-Fi with just $1 <<<<

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • John Cox2 months ago

    Great story! I read a book once (The Reminiscent Factory) that amongst other things studied autobiographies by counting pages reference different episodes and ages in the lives of the writers. It discovered that the greatest count was always centered in the young adult years. It also discovered that most referenced an incident in their lives - typically between 18 and 22 or so, that completely changed the trajectory of the writers' lives. For me it happened at 22. If you don't mind me asking, what age did it happen to you?

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Great advice here for all us pretzels.

  • Matthew Mccahey2 months ago

    I feel that brother, I was in jail twice for my drinking and never thought I'd be there. 2nd time finally sobered me up enough to finally get the help to stay sober. Been 3 years since and haven't looked back.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.