Art logo

A Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting

Part 8

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 8 months ago β€’ Updated 8 months ago β€’ 3 min read
Top Story - September 2023
35
A Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting
Photo by Greg Rosenke on Unsplash

Welcome to a new instalment in my Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting series! Today, I have 10 new watercolors to share with you, all dating back to April 2023.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A waterfall. My first attempt at painting one of my favorite subjects as a photographer. (Long exposures for the win!)

The process was simple: After I was done with the sky, I focused on the hill, with the wet-on-wet technique (two layers of paint). The water was the final step. I played with the white, purple and blue until satisfied with the overall look; then dabbed some dry white paint for a more "realistic" effect.

The inspiration behind this scene can be found here.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A waterfall (2). I successfully complete this piece on the same day as the previous one. It could appear on a future book cover... I used this image as inspiration.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Birch trees, based on the painting here. Aspen and birch trees are magnificent to behold. They make wonderful subjects for photography or painting practice. During the drying process, I almost ditched my piece because of the weird-looking orange-olive green mix in the middle. I feel that it can be greatly improved with more work; and will probably end up redoing it.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Blossoming. I love taking photos of flowers, but drawing them is another story. This piece was a real chore. I have no idea why the petals and leaves are so misshapen. I doubt I will ever paint a scene like that again.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Tiles. Something different for a change. Not very good because I had to draw the lines without a ruler. And of course, the paint did not spread evenly on the paper due to its low quality. I had to use watercolor markers here and there to cover mistakes...

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A mountain lake. As I recently shared, there are a few things I cannot do, including touching my face while looking at myself in a mirror. I also find it almost impossible to draw mirror images like what you see in this painting. While the rest of the scene was a breeze to paint, the reflected duplication of the mountains took me almost three hours to complete. Needless to say that I am very proud of this piece. A few months ago, I would have given up after ten minutes.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A view of coastline. Using this painting as a model, I quickly went off script because I wanted a more abstract-looking scene. It will probably end up in a book.

A mountain lake (2). I wish I could remember where I saw the inspiration for this, because it is very pretty. Still, my version is quite nice.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

The house on the hill, inspired by this scene. This painting had potential and could have been very good. Unfortunately, I was very tired on that day and left my common sense behind. Two lessons for novice painters: Using a watercolor marker on still-wet paint will lead to bleeding into the paper; and (accidentally) brushing said paint with your sleeve will ruin everything. 😁

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Fields. I will call this a practice piece. There are so many mistakes that I ended up having to use a black marker to hide them. Strangely enough, the black lines give it a distinctive look. Loosely inspired by this painting.

That's it for today. See you next time for more paintings from yours truly.

Want to see more of my work? Check out my other posts below:

---

I hope you enjoyed this post. What is your favorite watercolor in the list? Do you paint? If so, show me some of your work.

Oh, and by the way, if you are a writer, author, or artist, I would love to hear from you. Click the link below for more information.

---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

ProcessPaintingJourneyInspirationGeneralContemporary Art
35

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • Abdullah6 months ago

    Appreciate

  • Shirley Belk7 months ago

    Your watercolor work reminds me of my late mother's. Thank you! Loved your work...

  • Raymond G. Taylor7 months ago

    Lovely paintings. I have included a mention in my roundup. Hope this is okay: https://vocal.media/art/art-for-our-sake-seven

  • These are good. I especially luv the coloured fields, very niiice! The orange colour appearing on the birch - keep that, "accidents" in the works are meant to be and it gives it a unique pop in colour, same as the flower, perfect petals can be static - yours have a folksy feel which is hard to imitate. Awesome !

  • Leslie Writes7 months ago

    I like seeing the progression. Your art is very soothing. πŸ’–

  • Donna Morgan 7 months ago

    I loved this, I am also on a beginners journey of watercolour and now I'm inspired to write about it. Congratulations 🎊

  • Naveedkk 8 months ago

    Very well written, congratulations on top story.πŸ’—

  • JBaz8 months ago

    My wife is an artist and loves water colour painting. I can’t wait to show her this. Congratulations

  • Great job and Congratulations on your Top StoryπŸ’―βœŒοΈπŸ“πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ¨

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    You are so talented, Cendrine. Watercolor painting is something I want to try, one of these days. Absolutely love all of these, although the birch tree (the one you said you might redo) is my favorite. Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    Wow! Your art is amazing! I'd love to pain like that, sadly I have the artistic abilities of a literate teaspoon, so I'll leave it to people with your passion for the craft :) Thank you so much for sharing and congratulations on your top story! I really enjoyed reading about your inspirations and process. My favourite is the waterfall

  • Congratulations Cendrine!!! This is a well deserved Top Story!!!

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    I appreciate each of these pieces and the commentary you give. What a truly enjoyable series. Thank you for sharing this part of you! Congrats on Top Story :)

  • Ashley Lima8 months ago

    Love watching your journey. The second one in this collection is my absolute favorite yet! I really love the last one as well

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Very cool! Loved fields, very pretty! Great work!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Yay. Congrats on the TS.

  • Congratulations πŸŽ‰ this is amazing and you created a great piece of work here. I love reading about your painting πŸ’–

  • Congratulations on top story Cendrine πŸ˜‡πŸ’«πŸŒˆ

  • Rene Peters8 months ago

    These are beautiful! I wish I was that talented!

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    You got talent πŸŽ‰πŸ‘I love the waterfall the most β™₯️

  • I love the birch! I also agree flowers are soooo hard to draw πŸ™ˆ My favourites are the mountain lakes… they remind me of Scotland… especially the purple… it’s like a band of Heather… The last one is possibly my favourite. This is a style that would make an excellent postcard series (maybe a future business?)

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Magnificent!!! Loved the Mountain Lake #1 and the coastline paintings!!! Fabulous watercolors!!!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    It's been fun following your progress!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Nicely done. My favourites are the mountain lakes and the waterfall.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.