Humans logo

A Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting

Part 2

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 12 months ago Updated 10 months ago 4 min read
7
A Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Welcome to the second instalment of my beginner's journey into watercolor painting!

This post contains a variety of scenes created in February 2023. I am still trying to figure out my style and favorite subjects...

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

I’m not a big fan of this piece because it is too plain-looking. The next ones are more to my liking, though.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

To achieve the “grooves” in the two paintings above, I used a very common technique. All you need is plastic Saran Wrap and a spray bottle.

First, apply a layer of paint to your paper or canvas. Then, spray your plastic wrap with water, apply it to the painted surface right away, and scrunch it up as much or as little as you want.

When you are done with the scrunching, let the whole thing dry for several hours (I recommend overnight). You may also apply a little bit of weight on your piece in order to keep the wrap steady.

Remove the wrap to discover your masterpiece. Et voilà! 😊

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

This piece is something I wanted to create for quite a while. However, since drawing thin lines with a brush is a struggle, it was important to find another method or instrument to paint the grass and plants.

Watercolor brush pens to the rescue! 😀

(The ones I used for this painting are not very good. I tested several brands and recently settled for those made by Staedtler. Another good brand is Ohuhu.)

A piece of advice to beginners: Wait for your paint to dry before you outline, shade, or color with brush pens, otherwise the colors will bleed!

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

My first attempt at drawing birds. I impressed myself! 😜

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

This dandelion was the easiest thing to paint! And it looks great!

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

I am in love with the way the sky looks in this desert scene. It creates an uncanny atmosphere…

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Even though I botched one of the circles (top right), it’s still a pretty creation. I might do more in the future.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

This painting was supposed to look very different. But after the drying step, I noticed several mistakes. Instead of ditching the result, I decided to let myself be creative. Quite an interesting result, right?

As you can see, the wet-on-wet technique is awesome to create depth, especially in scenes where the sky plays a prominent role. I also use it to correct mistakes.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

My first decent tree! I did a little tap dance afterwards. 😜

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

An abstract painting of the night sky.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A river runs through it, or something like that… 😉 Love how the colors work together!

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Two butterflies. Super easy to draw!

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Two people on a beach. This one was challenging because of the silhouettes. Despite watching many tutorials on how to paint them, the struggle is still real. But I’m very happy with the texture of the ocean. All in all, a very nice result.

A note about watercolor paper: I have been using Artist’s Loft’s Watercolor Pad (Artist Level 2). It always warps, forcing the paint towards the edges and leading to uneven covering of the surface. And it does not do well with a lot of water either. The mistake is mine, though. I bought the paper without checking specifications—90 lb (190 g/m2) is low quality. You want something more in the 140 lb (300 g/m2) range.

I recently purchased a pad from a more reliable brand: Strathmore. I will start using it as soon as my current batch is empty.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

The plane! The plane! 😜 (I botched the tail, though.)

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Blooming flowers on tree branches, with a night sky.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A magic tree. Quite proud of what I did with the sky!

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Dragonflies near a hill. I’m happy with the sky, but not with the wings. This time, I’m not to blame, though. One of my cats is. She kept on jumping on my desk while I was trying to finish the painting, causing me to lose my focus. I drew the wings in a hurry without paying attention to symmetry.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

My first attempt at painting a “room with a view” (to quote the title of E. M. Forster’s famous book). This painting was quite challenging, because the paper warped more than usual. The original is, of course, a lot better! You can see it here.

A few of you have asked me why I share my botched and successful attempts alike. Well, the answer is simple: Because overall, artists are scared of criticisms.

Passion is one thing. However, you cannot become great at something if you try to avoid challenging yourself or other people’s feedback.

See you soon for more paintings from yours truly.

Contact me at [email protected] prior to using my work anywhere. Thank you!

That's it for today! Thank you for reading!

---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

art
7

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Wow such a variety in this one! I really like the simple rock stack at the beginning, and the one with the different designed circles in a grid. Beautiful! The dragonfly sky is STUNNING. Those are my favorite colors. The people walking on the beach strikes me as being very French (I don’t know why!) and I like it; the atmosphere you created is lovely. I want to escape into it. And that tree you tap danced to? Such a mood. It's like a dark dr. seuss meets goth girl pc wallpaper. I LOVE IT.

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    I enjoyed this so much, Cendrine!! You are a natural at making this feel like a conversation or just hanging out as we get to look at your work. I think you did great!! My favorite was the one with the people on the beach :) I hope you continue to share!

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Fabulous paintings!!! Loving the tips about pens, paper, etc!!💕💖😊

  • Natalie Wilkinson12 months ago

    Some nice first efforts and a fun article! If your paper tends to buckle, it can often be solved by laying it on a hard, portable smooth surface, taping it down along all 4 edges with masking tape and brushing water over the entire surface. It will buckle but smooth out again when dry. Allow to dry in place overnight before starting your painting. Keep it taped down until your painting dries then remove the masking tape. If you have the budget to buy one or two Windsor & Newton sable brushes, they are great. Try to get ones that will come to a sharp point when wet. After use, wash and point them to dry that way. They will last for years if cared for. Good tools make life easier.

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    This was such a fun read! 😍😍😍 I loved your paintings and your descriptions and explanations about them. I think the little "mistakes" add character. I LOVED the dragonflies!

  • Emily Binkley12 months ago

    These paintings are beautiful.

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    This is great. I like your paintings. Btw, I thought you did a wonderful job on the inukshuk, even though you said you don't like it.

  • I think your work is amazing and could see this being a Vocal Top Story. I love your birds but they are all very interesting.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.