Art logo

A Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting

Part 7

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
9
A Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting
Photo by Volodymyr Hryshchenko on Unsplash

Welcome to a new instalment in my Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting series! Today, I have 10 new watercolors to share with you, all dating back to March-April 2023.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

The path. This is the first painting that I completed without putting pressure on myself. I used regular paint for the sky, the path, and the ground, while the flowers and tree were drawn with watercolor brush pens. The scene is quite pretty, despite the weird-looking clouds.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Close to the edge. During my first months of practice, I relied on low-quality paper. This one never did well with the wet-on-wet technique (which happens to be my favorite thing about watercolor). Needless to say that the rocky area had to be painted carefully, so I took it easy with the brush. The lighthouse and the house look good. I might use this painting in a future book.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Tree reflections. As you probably already know, reflections in water are one of my favorite subjects to photograph. Trees being particularly photogenic, I thought that it would be interesting to experiment with them in a painting. For some reason, I always tend to make branches thicker than they should be. Practice will help solve that problem. The shadows were created by applying a light layer of slightly wet paint. I found that this technique helps create a sense of depth. Overall, I'm very happy with my work. It will be used in a future book project!

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A sunset. The piece is loosely based on this image. I say loosely because when I started painting it, I felt that the scene lacked movement. The solution was to apply a mix of white / light blue near the rocks. It's one of my favorite paintings so far! It could be framed.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Waves crashing on rocks. When I came across this photo, I was instantly drawn to the idea of painting something similar. My initial excitement quickly died down when I realized that my skills may not be advanced enough to complete the piece successfully. After six or seven hours of intense work, most of which were spent on the right area, things started to take the right shape. The next morning, when the paint was completely dry, I had to pinch myself. I could not believe my hands had made this!

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A desert scene. The mountains in the background are the only decent element in this painting. The shaded areas look horrible. But, as you know, my goal is to share the good and the bad with you. LOL!

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

At low tide, based on a photo I took in Prince Edward Island. Another piece I do not like. And this is the third version! The other two are in the garbage. 😜

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

The lake. This scene comes directly from my imagination. Done just for fun, nothing fancy.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

An evening at the lake. Another terrible painting. No matter how hard I tried, the paint would not spread evenly. As always with my botched work, the exception remains the watery area. That's why you see it today.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Tree reflections (2). One of the easiest and most relaxing paintings I have ever done! I love everything about it. Another piece that will probably end up in a book!

That's it for today. See you next time for more paintings from yours truly.

Want to see more of my work? Check out my other posts below:

---

I hope you enjoyed this post. What is your favorite watercolor in the list? Do you paint? If so, show me some of your work.

Oh, and by the way, if you are a writer, author, or artist, I would love to hear from you. Click the link below for more information.

---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

ProcessPaintingJourneyGeneralExhibitionContemporary Art
9

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    I cannot pick a favorite! I love them all! Damn, you are getting so good, so fast! 1. Tree reflections (1): WOW. I gasped audibly when I saw it. So cool. I thought of Madagascar when I saw it; so exotic! 2. A sunset: I agree -- one of your best. I'd frame it and hang it in my house. STUNNING. Just complete seduction in a painting. Those colors! 3. Waves crashing on rock: That dynamism is stunning. I love it. The colors work so well together, the green and the salmon...just beautiful. 4. PEI: I can't believe you don't like this one! The birds are awesome! I love them in the water, and that lighthouse makes me nostalgic. It could be a postcard. 5. A lake: Stunned. From you imagination? Are you kidding? Again, I would buy that. It's similar to one my sister painted for me for my birthday one year. My favorite colors are in it!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Loving it!!! The lighthouse is fantastic!!! While the tree reflections are wonderful, I am blown away by the lighthouse!!!

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    What a fun read! You did a beautiful job on them all! I especially loved the Prince Edward Island and sunset paintings! I want to take a watercolor painting class for fun! I do draw and paint with nail polish. One of my drawings is on one of my pieces if you'd like 2 see it! Awesome job Cendrine!

  • Test8 months ago

    Another very enjoyable read- I loved learning about your journey with water colour and will certainly read the rest (Only just discovered, I'm sorry - it makes me feel a little like I started in the middle of the novel) I really love 'Tree reflections.' It's stark but enigmatic and beautiful!

  • Joe Patterson8 months ago

    Your watercolor paintings are very good. The passion you have for them really shows in your post, well done.

  • I love that you share these and let us see this side of you 🙏❤️✨

  • Wow wow wow your art is fantastic 😊 I used to love to do water colors. I want to get back into it! Loved this

  • Sheila L. Chingwa8 months ago

    I must say, even though you didn't like the ones in the garbage, I would have rescued them because you created them. I have enjoyed the journey.

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Lovely aquarelles again, I'm particularly fond of the Tree Reflections and the Sunset. Keep up the good work!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Enjoying the journey.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.