Art logo

A Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting

Part 4

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
7
A Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting
Photo by Kseniya Lapteva on Unsplash

Welcome to a new instalment in my Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting series! Today, I have 10 new watercolors to share with you.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A cat watching the moon. I used the painting in this post as inspiration. Not bad for a first try, eh?

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A lighthouse near the ocean. If you have ever watched my video on Prince Edward Island, you know how much I love lighthouses. Unfortunately for me, they are very difficult to draw. I think I did a very decent job with this one, especially with the sky and the wave lapping over the shore. (Yes, I am aware of the fact that the sun looks a little distorted. 🤣)

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Flying over the moon. I cannot find the painting I used for inspiration anymore, but I impressed myself with the way I was able to draw the bird! It actually looks like one. The wings are nice!

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

The moon and its reflection. A fun little experiment that I will try again. You can see the (much better looking) original here.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A candle. This is not a very good painting, especially when you compare it to the one that I inspired myself from. 🤪 But I kept it so I can can see the improvement when I paint more versions of the same scene.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

My attempt at painting an aurora borealis (a.k.a. northern lights). The halo is a fluke experiment that worked. 😅

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A tranquil scene with dragonflies flying over a bridge. I will be sure to revisit that type of paintings once I have better paper to work on. The Artist's Loft brand is really subpar.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Meeting a deer. I wanted to experiment with silhouettes, which are another challenging subject to draw and paint for me. (My perfectionist brain continues telling my hand to give it up.) The deer looks weird, but it's ok. I did a good job with the layers in the sky, the water, and the boats. I also figured that adding a dog would be be a nice touch. 😊

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

In the mountains. The goal here was to try and depict the fog, but I rubbed the paper a little too hard and damaged parts of the painting. So, the result is not very good. With that said, I like the trees!

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A little boat in the ocean. This is my favorite painting of this batch! I knew I had something nice from the get-go. (I wish I could find the original to show you, though. It is beautiful.)

I painted today’s watercolors in February-March 2023.

That's it for today. See you next time for more paintings from yours truly.

Want to see more of my work? Check out my other posts below:

  • Part 1
  • Part 2
  • Part 3

---

I hope you enjoyed this post. What is your favorite watercolor in the list? Do you paint? If so, show me some of your work.

Oh, and by the way, if you are a writer, author, or artist, I would love to hear from you. Click the link below for more information.

---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

JourneyProcessPaintingInspirationContemporary Art
7

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    I love that lighthouse! You did it justice, and I didn't notice the sun being distorted until you said something. Lovely pic; the atmosphere is perfect, almost solemn in that way that ocean sunsets can be. The bird flying over the cattails is my favorite. That kind of zoomed-in scene is just working so well in that painting. The sky is gorgeous. And I almost want the top of it to be more purple, but then again, the gray looks good to create a more October-y feel. Not that it has to be October, but that's the vibe I get. You minimalist ocean paintings are awesome! But I have to say the one with the moon over the water, I thought looked like a CD over the water, lol! Just a matter of the rounded sky and white space creating an illusion. Love the zig zag nature of the water with the white lines inside it. Such a good texture.

  • Emano10 months ago

    Love the paintings, bravo

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Nicely done. My faves are the Aurora and the cat.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    Beautiful, Refreshing! I love your choice of color tones. 💦

  • Kelsey Clarey10 months ago

    Those paintings are all lovely!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.