Beat logo

A Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting

Part 1

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished about a year ago Updated 10 months ago 5 min read
7
A Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting
Photo by Dan Cristian Pădureț on Unsplash

When I was in school, the only class where I failed consistently was art. My teachers tried to help me, but the results were always the same: I could not even draw a stick figure. While they struggled to hide their disappointment, they knew that there was nothing they could really do.

For many years, I avoided games requiring drawing, because I knew that anyone playing with me would lose. Those who did not believe me always regretted forcing me to try. 😜

And yet, I secretly nurtured the dream of one day learning to watercolor paint.

My dream has finally come true!

In January this year, I came across video tutorials for complete beginners on YouTube. Everything looked very easy to paint. So, I thought: “You are a writer and photographer. You have created poetry forms. You have released 40+ books. You edit anthologies. You run several websites. You write and work in two languages. Screw your lack of self-confidence! You can do this!”

After several tries, I realized that I could actually paint something. And this is what I did.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Yes, there is a LOT of room for improvement. But for someone like me, who is badly coordinated and cannot follow lines, it’s an impressive feat.

After painting the piece, I made a mental list of my strengths and weaknesses as a creative, so as to build my self-confidence and have fun at the same time. It is the way I have always done things, after all.

My immediate conclusion was that I needed to start with simple subjects and scenes. A night sky with trees, for example.

It took me several tries, but I’m quite happy with the result!

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Of course, I am aware that the trees look a little strange. But I warned you: I cannot even draw a stick figure. 😜

Now, here is another night sky. I made it on the same day as the first one. It only took me one attempt to nail it.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

I love how simple and yet interesting this watercolor looks. The little imperfections work well. What do you think?

A few years ago, even a scene like this one would have been very difficult for me to draw. My hand is now more steady and I always look forward to seeing the result, even if it looks terrible.

I do not think I will ever be as good a painter as I am a photographer or writer, but this new challenge is helping my brain in areas where I used to struggle, including hand-eye coordination.

And now, an abstract painting! I wanted to make something completely different for a change.

The initial idea was to create another sky scene. Unfortunately, as usual, I made a few mistakes. So, I started painting over them to see what I could achieve. The drying process revealed different layers and shades that were not visible while working on the sheet. The whole thing ended up looking as if it were on fire.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

I quite like the result. I also quite like what this experiment has taught me about painting. I used to look at the abstract genre with a sort of snobbish attitude. I grew up surrounded with books that extolled the virtues of classic styles over more contemporary and “free-flowing” creations. My favorite painting is Diego Velázquez’s Las Meninas.

As a result, I see abstract art with less of a critical lens. All I can say is that I have missed a lot of interesting works. Time to catch up! 😉

Here is another landscape painting.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

I love the simplicity of this painting. It was fun to make.

And now, for a change, an abstract painting.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

The inspiration behind the second piece is a photo of space that I saw on Twitter. Unfortunately, the OP decided to take it down, so I cannot show it to you.

I started trying to copy the photo, but my brain and hands decided to go another direction within a few seconds. Once again, I let the drying process do the talking and reveal different layers and shades, and then added a few more elements such as the galaxy-like patch in the top left corner.

To me, this painting leaves a lot to the imagination. When I look at it, I feel as though I were in another dimension. Maybe I will write a poem or flashku inspired by it. 😉

Last but not least, more landscapes!

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

I’m fascinated with the look of skies in watercolors. They are usually created with the wet-on-wet technique, a technique in which layers of wet paint are applied to a wet surface or onto pre-moistened paint. The results are always interesting, especially if you are not afraid of playing with your canvas.

That’s what I am trying to perfect for now.

As you can see, my struggle with trees continues — just like anything that requires knowledge of drawing. lol!

NB: All the piece in this story are about two months old. I have improved a little since then.

See you soon for more paintings from yours truly.

Contact me at [email protected] prior to using my work anywhere. Thank you!

That's it for today! Thank you for reading!

---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

art
7

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Ah! These are beautiful! I can't pick a favorite, but I really like the last one; that angle is so cool! It reminds me of being around the red rocks in Colorado, one park in particular, Roxborough. There's an area that looks just like that, just not with that sky, lol. If only! Your trees are so cool, actually. I really like their abstract nature, and their little wiggly personalities. It makes them unique to you, and they aren't bad, just different. If they looked exactly like real trees, it might be more boring... Plus, that first moon painting is awesome! The colorful little stamp behind the moon is so well done. :D Love this series! I'm going to go down the list of your installments chronologically.

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Uh I love that you gave this a go! How else are you to know! I particularly liked the one “on fire” and one of the other abstract ones. Sounds like fun. I’ve done one years ago, but I have felt similarly to you, so I must give it another try! ☺️

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Magnificent sense of color, I can see your enjoyment of the process in your pictures. My wife does watercolor, and my profile picture is one she did of me when we first got together.

  • Raymond G. Taylor10 months ago

    Great article. I have written a review here if you would like to take a little look: https://vocal.media/art/art-for-our-sake

  • Natalie Wilkinsonabout a year ago

    I think because you photograph you are used to making compositions. I am sure you will continue to progress as you go on experimenting. As Shinichi Suzuki said,  “All Japanese children learn to speak Japanese.” He was referring to playing an instrument, but I think his quote applies to art as well, and hopefully in my case writing as well!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    I really enjoyed this piece. Your paintings are a lot better than mine would be. Well done.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Art was my first love. Back when I was in elementary school, the art teacher came to our school once a week. It was my favorite class. Your watercolors are beautiful. Love how you are progressing.

  • I like art❤️😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.