Art logo

Art for our sake

Reviews of some of the great works by creators in the new Vocal Media Art community

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 11 months ago Updated 5 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2023
24
Detail: Picasso, Garçon à la pipe, 1905, private collection, public domain image

Congratulations and well done to the Vocal team for launching the new Art community "where words and visual expression intertwine". I haven't yet had a chance to read through all of the great articles on offer but here are a few that caught my attention. If there is any interest, I will post some more reviews of fellow contributors' work sometime soon.

Thanks! ... Ray

The new Art community creators and creations

My first mention just has to go to The Art of Love: Dads, by J. Delaney-Howe. What better combination: art, love, children, parenthood could you read anywhere else? Congratulations to the author for a well-deserved top story award. Love, when it comes to art, really is love.

STOP PRESS: Congratulations to Naomi Gold for her well-deserved first place win in the Painted Prose Challenge. Well done Naomi and well done to all the other challenge winners. Great to see art take center stage

Thru the Eyes of Ruby by Naomi Gold features this stark image by Norman Rockwell. A little girl, smartly dressed for school, "It wasn’t no parade, but I can pretend. I can pretend they’re celebrating me. Maybe someday they will." I hope they are now Ruby! Looking at the story and its accompanying painting, I have to wipe a tear from my eye. Thanks for sharing, Naomi.

Detail: Norman Rockwell, The problem we all live with, 1963

This one caught me eye too, when I first looked at Vocal Art. We don't see enough de Goya, and so I am grateful to Roderick Makim for sharing his contribution Dark Muse: The whispering voice behind the Black Paintings. Reminds me of a time, seems so long ago, when I visited a de Goya exhibition in London with my late father, the artist John Ernest Taylor (1930-2020). Another well-deserved top story slot and a great choice of painting to inspire fear and give anyone the creeps.

Detail: Francisco de Goya, Saturn Devouring His Son

This next top story certainly deserves a mention. My daughter is an artist from Mariann Carroll. This delightful tale features another heart warming account of children, art and love. Well done!

Moving on from the top slot for this week, there are many, many more great stories of art and artists to read and to look at. Here are just a few examples of some I have had the opportunity to read.

Hellish Desire To Improve!

By HonBasic, a top list of 25 books every artist who wants to improve or nurture their artistic talents should read. Meticulously researched and comprehensive, a must-read for all creatives - painter, graphic designer, illustrator or anyone else who dabbles.

Petit Louis

Enchanting story about a poor boy befriended by a strange, foreign artist named Pablo. Set in the French streets known to a young Picasso and inspired by the painting Boy with pipe (shown). Top marks to author Jordan Flynn.

Garçon à la pipe, 1905, private collection, photo image public domain in USA.

A Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting

As the name suggests, this is one artist's journey of discovery into her new found art. Cendrine Marrouat also provides some great examples of her work along the way. If you are a budding artist, read this for some inspiration and lots of great practical advice and ideas. The article is in three parts (so far) and will, no doubt, continue. Here is an example of Cendrine's painting.

With permission: Cendrine Marrouat, Watercolor - https://creativeramblings.com/

That's all for now folks, as there is a limit to how much time I can spend looking at Vocal Art creators' work. Well done for all the other great Art stories I have not had the opportunity to review. If there is any interest (comment if you would like me to continue), I will do some more reviews, looking deeper than the top slot.

Before I end this article, I hope nobody minds me adding a link to some of the articles and short stories I have written on art or with an artistic theme. If you have a chance to read any of them, I would be most grateful, and please let me know what you think of them.

Art collection: articles and short stories about art

Piet Mondrian, Composition in red, yellow, blue and black, 1921

Thanks for reading!

Don't forget to comment if you would like me to repeat this Vocal Art community reviews slot!

Ray Taylor - July 2023

ExhibitionTechniquesPaintingInspirationHistoryCritique
24

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham5 days ago

    What a great art review you wrote.

  • J. Delaney-Howe11 months ago

    Great review of some of the posts in the new Art community. Well done, and thank you for the shout out.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    Great sharing of others works! Love your enthusiasm

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    Love this. What a great idea. My favourite that I have read is, "Thru the eyes of Ruby" by Naomi Gold. I have read it several times now and feel that piece of writing truly is ART! Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story! 🥂

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Excellent Review 💓💃🏽Thank you for excluding my first Art story of my daughter .

  • Roderick Makim11 months ago

    Cheers Ray

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    It's great to see the impact this new community is having. Great job featuring and promoting these amazing creators in your article.

  • Jordan Flynn11 months ago

    Thank you sooo much for featuring my story! I appreciate it a lot. Sidenote on the Ruby story/painting.. A lot is in that man, like the first time I didnt notice the smeared fruit on the wall from being thrown at her :-( Thankyou again and glad you read.

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Thank you very much for featuring my story, Raymond. I really appreciate that.

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    Thank you so much for featuring my story! I’m excited to check out the other stories you’ve shared that I haven’t already read. I’m loving the new Art community and the creativity it has inspired.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.