Art logo

Art for our sake: five

Fifth in the series of reviews of some of the great stories by Vocal Media Art community's creators

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 9 months ago Updated 5 months ago 4 min read
4
Johannes Vermeer, Girl with a pearl earring, 1665, public domain, via Wikimedia

For my fifth venture into the wonderous world depicted by the wonderful creators submitting their stories to the Vocal Art community, I have included some embedded links. Please let me know what you think. Is it too much or does it help give a useful preview of the works reviewed?

This edition's creations

What's so great about beauty, asks Jessica O’Brien. If beauty is in the eye of the beholder, we often take its values for granted. Jessica's article provides a fascinating exploration of the reasons why aesthetic qualities are so important to us and how they impact on our view of the world, and our wellbeing. I found this particularly interesting as I often spend time looking at works of art I don't like, wondering what it is that I don't like about them. I am equally uncertain why some works of art appeal to me more than others.

The featured image I chose to illustrate this article is a case in point. We find the painting by Vermeer appealing and beautiful in its portrayal of an equally beautiful subject. Question is: why?

Jessica's article is highly recommended.

O ~ 0 ~ o

Black women artists have been creating enduring works for tens of thousands of years. Tragically, even within recent centuries, their work and their names are often lost to history. Which is why it is fantastic to see articles such as the following from Schiopu Leonard, a teenager who has only just joined the ranks of Vocal creators. Please read this article and leave a comment to let Schiopu know what you think of his work.

Anyone who celebrates phenomenal artists such as Kara Walker and Carrie Mae Weems should themselves be celebrated.

Here is a link to a video presentation of Kara Walker's phenomenal 2019 installation 'Fons Americanus' at the Tate Modern in London. Seeing this

was at once a hammer blow to the heart yet, having viewed the work several times, it seemed to me to end on a an uplifting and cautiously optimistic note. Though be warned, it is not comfortable to view in this YouTube video, likewise when seen for real. I may do a review of this work at some point, the installation and the video, based on my recollections, having seen it several times at Tate. I will link from here if I do.

O ~ 0 ~ o

Delighted to have the opportunity to feature some architectural artistry in this forum, with thanks to UdayaChowdary. The Invisible House, located on the border of Joshua Tree National Park, in scenic Californian High Desert land. Apparently you can stay there for a mere $3,800. Possibly less if you visit out of season. I will certainly look out for this structure when next I am in these parts of the sunshine state but fear, at that price, I may have to look to a motel or other place to sleep.

O ~ 0 ~ o

A welcome oriental note is sounded by this contribution from muhammad javaid, also a recent Vocal joiner. The following is his first submission to the Art community and here's looking forward to some more.

O ~ 0 ~ o

Heading south from Japan, right across the equator, we come to Australia. Such a wonderful nation, it deserves to be captured for future generations, says Diane Mary Markey. Her story tells how she is going

about doing this, providing some splendid examples of her own work from various locations around the continent. Including this on:

A dramatic landscape interpretation of Menindee Lake Outback, New South Wales, © Diane Markey.

O ~ 0 ~ o

There were some other articles I looked at that I was going to include until I noticed that they were written in a way that suggested the text was generated by ChatGPT or some other such chatbot. I have no objection to people using AI tools but I think they need to mention the fact and the extent of the use. If you would like to know more about how to use AI to support your writing, you could start by reading:

AI: Your new writing buddy?

This article is also linked to a series of other articles I have written, exploring the use of chatbots like ChatGPT. If you are going to use these tools, please do so responsibly, and don't become a CHEATBOT like the New York lawyers who were fined in June for producing testimony using ChatGPT and not bothering to check the legal citations. Several of which turned out to be fake.

O ~ 0 ~ o

Finally, I have taken the liberty of including this article on Lichtenstein, Whaam! which is based on a talk I have given at Tate Modern art museum

in London where I volunteer as a visitor host. If you are ever planning to visit Tate, please let me know and I would be delighted to meet you. I can even show you around and suggest how to make the most of your day there.

The article is one of a series 'Looking up at art' which explores how we perceive art and its hidden histories and messages. If you have any suggestions, for a Looking up at art: six, please let me know. I am planning visits to museums in Belgium, Germany and Denmark next year so any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

O ~ 0 ~ o

Thanks for reading

Ray

If you liked this article, you might also like:

Looking up at Art:

O ~ 0 ~ o

InspirationGeneralExhibitionDrawingCritiqueContemporary Art
4

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham9 months ago

    Interesting. All the creations were inspiring. I am thinking about sharing my art work here.

  • Jessica O’Brien9 months ago

    Thank you very much for featuring my essay! Lovely writing, cheers!

  • Whoaaa, I know none of these creators and I'm so happy you introduced me to them and their pieces!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.