Beat logo

Frankie's Song of the Week: Espresso - Sabrina Carpenter

Is it that sweet...?

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 14 days ago Updated 10 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2024
18
Espresso cover art Sabrina Carpenter

A little something different from me while I deal with the strain of writers block. I thought I'd do a song of the week, because I have been surely annoying my neighbours and my friends with this absolute musical GEM. I am of course talking about Espresso by Sabrina Carpenter.

If you haven't heard it.....WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN? The perfect mix of summer vibes, sexuality and female confidence. Sabrina is 24, if I had that much confidence in my body and my general self when I was 24 my God....I'd be dangerous! I absolutely adore the suggestive lyrics the euphemisms are incredible, it's like she manages to get us hooked, turn us on without outwardly mentioning sex. This song is like the foreplay without the sex. It's the excitement of that first touch that kiss that caress. In my opinion sometimes the foreplay is more intimate than the actual sex, and to be honest if there is no foreplay I ain't coming to the party.

"Move it up down, left right, oh switch it up like Nintendo say you can't sleep, baby I know that's that ME espresso"

There is also something for the low self esteem girlies with lyrics like this:

"I can't relate to desperation, my give a fucks are on vacation"

I don't know about you, but "my give a fucks" are never on vacation, but when I hear this song it's like they pop round the corner for a little bit, and that's what music should be able to do for all of us.

This song completely floored me, and I did not expect it to have me in such a chokehold.

I guess I love the subject matter too, It's about the object of her desire now being with someone else, but regretting his life choice, and her being like " Yep I knew you would, because I'm fucking awesome!" Such confidence.

"I'm working late, cause I'm a singer. He looks so cute wrapped round my finger".

Here's the long and short of it:

If you need an ego boost this song has got you

If you need some extra summer serotonin this song got you.

For all of you wondering when I will get tired of it get in line, because I'm sure my neighbours are wondering the same thing!

Be right back just getting my bikini out and shades, so I can walk the streets of Whalley Range, UK in the rain blasting this absolute song of the summer, and if anyone asks "my give a fucks are on vacation" , see what I did there? I mean this song is an outer body experience it's everything I am not, for instance yes I have made up a dance routine only Katy Perry's - Hot n Cold has ever made me do that before, so you know I'm serious! I'm no dancer I might add, but put this song on and just call me Paula Abdul, because straight up I'm gonna love this song forever.

I bet this tune will really "Mountain Dew it for ya"

Seriously I don't know how she's managed it, but Miss Sabrina Carpenter thank you 2:55 of me forgetting my troubles, and every Italian bone in my body ( which is all of them) loves the fact this masterpiece is called Espresso. Thank you, you have made a 35 year old brooding songwriter feel on top of the world.

If you've not listened to it " my honeybee, come and get this pollen"

Please see the music video above.

Thank you so much for the feedback on this. I feel so good knowing it made Top Story!

song reviewspop
18

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Jeremy White9 days ago

    Congrats on top story. I will have to listen to this song. I love Sabrina Carpenter.

  • Angelo9 days ago

    Amazing- you have made me love this song ☕️ 💋 💅🏽

  • Sheila take a bow 😂😂😂 as if I'm not silly

  • Anna 10 days ago

    Congrats on TS!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 days ago

    Nice article, Frankie. It definitely inspires me to want to listen to it. Isn't it amazing when we find a song that just does it for us? I can think of a handful that made me feel the way you do about this one. They never get old. If you're still interested in embedding the video here, just go to Youtube and look for 'share' under the vid. Hit 'copy link'. Quick edit your story, then choose a place to embed it. Click on an empty line. A circle with a plus sign in it will pop up, click that. Then, choose embed link. Paste the copied link in the space provided and hit enter. It will pop up after that, then just save your story. Thanks again for sharing, now off to listen to the song. Congrats on your TS!

  • D. D. Lee10 days ago

    Good review. You started really strong, it has me intrigued even if I don’t know that artist or heard the song. Congrats on Top Story!

  • angela hepworth10 days ago

    This song grew on me so much!! At first I loved Nonsense and Feather so much more but omg Espresso is so charming and fun love it!

  • Great review I really appreciate your flair

  • Babs Iverson10 days ago

    Enthusiastic review!!! Music that has you dancing is a groovy thing!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Dana Crandell10 days ago

    Congratulations!

  • Michela Panstein13 days ago

    Ooo love it muchly - its giving summer

  • Mariann Carroll14 days ago

    I love this song, thanks for introducing it. I also like how you share your feelings in connections to the lyrics of the song. This line in your story made me chuckle a bit, “ If I had that much confidence in my body and my general self when I was 24 my God....I'd be dangerous!” Are you dangerous now?

  • Dana Crandell14 days ago

    I did a search and watched the "Official Video." It's not really my style, aside from a plethora of T&A, but I can see why you'd find the lyrics uplifting. Your review reflects your groove and it's a refreshing change. "Song of the Week" is a great idea.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.