Art logo

A Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting

Part 5

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
13
A Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting
Photo by Kseniya Lapteva on Unsplash

Welcome to a new instalment in my Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting series! Today, I have 10 new watercolors to share with you, all dating back to March 2023.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A cute chubby bird. I used a painting similar to this one as inspiration. For some reason, I had always thought that this kind of subject would be hard to draw. I was sorely mistaken. And it was fun too!

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Birch trees in snow. Birch trees are my favorite trees. We have many in the forests and parks in Winnipeg, so I have photographed them extensively. I cannot find the model for this painting, but my version is very pleasing to the eye. (Sometimes, when I look at it, I cannot believe that I actually painted it!)

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Walking towards the horizon. Another piece that I really like, inspired by this painting. My drawing of simple human figures has improved and my hand is less shaky than before.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

By now, you have probably noticed that I like boats. 😆 I could have done a better job with the clouds and reflections in the water here, but overall, the result exceeds my initial expectations. I plan to paint a similar, but bigger scene in the near future.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Living alone. My goal here was to practice painting a sky and some trees. I added the house at the end but silly me did it with watercolor pens and before the sky was fully dry. This explains why the black ran a little. The piece still looks decent enough.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Camping with the full moon. When I saw this cute painting, I knew I wanted to work on a similar concept! Overall, this is not very good, but practice makes perfect! I will try again. 🙂

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Clouds in the sky. Just something simple. I did not have any other idea on that day...

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A house in the middle of nowhere. My model for this painting is here. The house looks as if it was smiling.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A light in the dark. Using this image as a model, I tried to create a scene with a lantern and falling snow. As always, the sky looks great. But, hey, why not botch something, for a change? 🤪 I need a lot of practice before the scene starts looking like I envision it.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A small boat in the ocean. I love everything about this painting. It is the first one that I think could be used in a book project, especially on a cover.

That's it for today. See you next time for more paintings from yours truly.

Want to see more of my work? Check out my other posts below:

  • Part 1
  • Part 2
  • Part 3
  • Part 4

---

I hope you enjoyed this post. What is your favorite watercolor in the list? Do you paint? If so, show me some of your work.

Oh, and by the way, if you are a writer, author, or artist, I would love to hear from you. Click the link below for more information.

---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

ProcessPaintingGeneralContemporary Art
13

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Such great ones! I can't pic a favorite! I love the last two, though. That lantern made me gasp aloud! My favorite atmosphere is fire against snow, and against metal and glass. Wow. Also, that last painting with the boat;;; OMG. I would buy that from you.

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    These are fantastic, Cendrine. I love both of the boats, and the black birds sitting on the wire. Beautiful work- you’re very talented.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Awesome!!! Agree, the small boat inthe ocean would make an amazing book cover. Loved this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    I was trying to pick my favorite (obviously the bird bird), but then the one with the two sail boats were so beautiful. but the one with the moon and camp was just so gentle and sweet and genuine... loved 'em all!

  • Great Article with some Awesome ✨ Art- I like the Small Boat ⚓ ❤️

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Nicely done. My favourites are walking toward the horizon and the boats.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    I'm enjoying the series. Keep up the good work! When I was teaching, watercolor was my favorite medium. I'm sure it still would be, if I could make the time to paint. There was supposed to be more of that and fishing in my retirement. 🤣

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Beautiful work

  • ema9 months ago

    I love watercolor! Thank you for sharing yours, the threes in the snow are superb!

  • Denise E Lindquist9 months ago

    I really enjoy all of your watercolor paintings. I appreciate that you share even the ones that you think still need work.😉I do not paint or draw and so enjoy others' work. I always say I will start but never do.

  • MANOJ K 9 months ago

    What a fantasy world l like all pictures

  • Sheila L. Chingwa9 months ago

    I like watercolor paintings. Just love how the water plays with the paint to make beautiful pieces. A nice feel good piece for me!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.