Art logo

A Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting

Part 6

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
A Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Welcome to a new instalment in my Beginner's Journey into Watercolor Painting series! Today, I have 10 new watercolors to share with you, all dating back to March 2023.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A walk in the snow with the dog. My first satisfactory attempt at drawing a human figure. The tree and reeds are also very well done. (Experienced artists will probably disagree, but I do not care. 😉) I'm thinking of using this painting in a future book...

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Playing in a poppy field. I'm not in love with the look of the area just underneath the mountains, but I managed to draw flowers! A feat in itself. So, the result could have been (much) worse. This piece might also appear in a future book project.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

The house on the hill, inspired by the lovely piece here. Do not let the simplicity of the scene fool you, it is actually harder to paint than it looks. A year ago, I would have given up after an hour. That is why I am glad that I persevered; the result is very cute. This scene could end up in a future book too.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Two cacti at sunset. The cactus on the left looks ugly, but I decided not to throw it in the garbage as there are a few things that I like. The sky is one. The grass also looks nice.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A lighthouse in a storm. Another challenging scene that I had always wanted to paint! Very happy with the way the foamy water looks! I worked on that part for about two hours, with a mixture of wet and dry paint for added effect. And it was very relaxing! Of course, the lighthouse is still not 100% like I envision it in my head, but overall, this is the best one I have drawn since starting with watercolor painting!

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

The umbrella in the rain. As you can see, I picked a different subject this time. My piece is based on the one here. My goal was to focus on the splashes rather than just copying the scene. I used a gel pen for the white and wet paint for the grey and yellow, and was pleasantly surprised to see how well the idea worked out.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

The umbrella in the rain (2). My technique still being rough, I knew that I would not be able to emulate the scene here. I just went with the flow. And guess what? I prefer my version!

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Balloons in the sky. The tutorial I watched said that this scene was very easy to paint. "Screw that," my brain answered, forcing me to spend hours on ruining the whole thing. The balloon on the left looks as if it had been patched up numerous times. It should not even be able to fly! A case of suspension of disbelief in action... 😂

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

A beach at night. When I lack ideas, I usually find myself thinking of the beach. I added a cloud and the foam to make the scene a little less boring to peruse.

Watercolor painting by Cendrine Marrouat

Afternoon sailing. By now, you know that I like boats. So, I had to end my post with a few. Not my best work, but also not my worst. I have no idea why, but the sails gave me a hard time. The clouds look fluffy and nice, though!

That's it for today. See you next time for more paintings from yours truly.

Want to see more of my work? Check out my other posts below:

  • Part 1
  • Part 2
  • Part 3
  • Part 4
  • Part 5

---

I hope you enjoyed this post. What is your favorite watercolor in the list? Do you paint? If so, show me some of your work.

Oh, and by the way, if you are a writer, author, or artist, I would love to hear from you. Click the link below for more information.

---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

JourneyProcessPaintingInspirationGeneralContemporary Art

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    That lighthouse! Wow, incredible; I really love that whole painting, the house looks amazing too, and the sea! What a vibe. And the second to last one?? I have no words....Okay....I have a few. WOW; I love the layers and how serene that scene is, despite the muted colors (those clouds!).

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨10 months ago

    These are wonderful! And what a brilliant idea for a series!! Well done 👏✨

  • Suze Kay10 months ago

    It's been so cool to see your skills evolve over this series! Also cool to see the themes and motifs that capture you, and hear your thoughts behind what works and doesn't in each painting. When you sit to paint, are you often looking to make something that will fit in a book? Do you find this pursuit is similar to your writing, in that you're mulling over the same creative elements each time?

Cendrine MarrouatWritten by Cendrine Marrouat

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.