Writers logo

Sex Robot Challenge - And The Winner Is...

All the excellent entries to this challenge, and my scribblings as well.

By L.C. SchäferPublished about a month ago 4 min read
15

Aaaallll the way back at the end of January/beginning of February, I set a challenge. I'm very late doing this follow-up, but since my paid workload increased and Vocal doesn't pay my bills, I'm not even sorry, sorry.

The Challenge closed on the 29th February, but if you use the prompt I'd still love to see what you come up with anyway! Please do link to it in the comments. (You just definitely probably won't get a tip for it). I'd appreciate it if you link back to me, but I'm not going to send the heavies round to you if you don't or anything. You know, you do you.

Here's a reminder of the challenge, which I first wrote about here:

A Prompt and a CHALLENGE - February

Write me a story about a sex robot

Make it rude, make it clever, make me squirm (you know I hate erotica). Explore themes of sexuality, consent and psychology, have a message and paint it in metallic red lipgloss that won't smudge.

Submit to Filthy, Sci Fi, or fiction

Word limit the same as the others - 300-366!

Link to it in the comments

Closing date is the 28th

Judging on the 29th

$10 to the winner and $5 to a runner up

My scribbles, collated

I used this prompt three times in February as part of my personal challenge to write a story every day. Of course I'm not counting any of these in the challenge. That would hardly be very fair would it. Anyway, for your enborement, here's my sexy sci-fi scribblings (actually not that sexy, as it turns out):

Do Androids Dream of Murder?

These Green Eyes Don't Cry

My Sex Robot

Right, now we've got those out of the way, here goes...

Thank you

First of all, thank you to everyone who joined in. I enjoyed every single piece enormously (please stop sniggering).

The Entries

Programmable Lies by Lamar Wiggins

This one reads (if you'll excuse the expression) tongue in cheek. It's a good mix of humour and just the right amount of raunchy for me. It has little twists along the way I didn't see coming (please, just stop).

Stand out line, for me:

I watched her for weeks frozen in the same position at the kitchen sink, holding a crystal mug she was in the process of putting away.

This kind of encapsulates the whole idea for me - the vulnerability, servitude, the possibility of violation. Yeuch! Brilliant!

+++++

Of Lance and Gwen by D.J Reddall

The end absolutely delighted me. I suck at endings. I wish I could write them as beautifully as this!

Stand out line, for me:

It's the last one, but I won't ruin it by including it here. Read it for yourself and enjoy it the same way I did 😁

+++++

Forever Mine by Tressa Rose

Exactly as horrible and creepy as I hoped it would be! It gives you a chilling moment where you think, "wait, could that actually happen? It couldn't, could it?"

Stand out line, for me:

I found it an offer I couldn't resist

+++++

Good Ol’ Quality Time by Oneg In The Arctic

Loved the descriptions in this, especially, "packing peanuts shedding like confetti".

Stand out line, for me:

“It’s nice to meet you, may I come touch you?”

Nice, even a robot can manage the concept of consent!

+++++

The Runner Up

Alexander McEvoy's Galatea

I love the deliberate use of it and her. It's a little bit sinister, and it's beautifully written, like you would expect from Alexander.

Stand out line, for me:

Shelly refused to believe that I hadn't bought the gynoid

I just love the term "gynoid", and I seethe gently that I didn't come up with it.

+++++

The Winner:

Gerald DiLeo's Living Doll™

It's clever, it's thought provoking, it's packed with word-play, it's even a little heart-breaking. He makes her too perfect. He goes as far as it's possible to go, in my opinion, to make her human. I love it!

Stand out line, for me:

She could straddle him, unshakeable in an earthquake, unless she were the earthquake and, yes, the Earth moved for him.

+++++

Thank you, Alexander and Gerald. Your paltry winnings will e winging their way to you shortly.

+

+

+

Thank you for reading!

Links incoming!

CONTENT WARNINGShoutoutPromptsCommunityChallenge
15

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Nice. Congratulations for all winners!!!

  • Anna about a month ago

    Congrats to all the winners!

  • Congratulations, one & all. I look forward to coming back to read those I've missed once I'm caught up with notifications. (Holy Week was busy.)

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    I love your mini reviews capture the essence of the entries. I especially love your cheeky asides! I’m sorry now that I did not enter the challenge! But Bea, in the Reaper series is more human than machine, and besides she’s chaste. 😝

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Wooohooooo congratulations to all the winners! 🎊💖🎉🎊💖🎉

  • Alexander McEvoyabout a month ago

    Oh wow 😳 Wasn’t expecting Galatea to do that well. I’m so happy you liked it LC! You do my too much honour. Thank you so much for this wonderful challenge 😇 it was an absolute treat to participate in! Sadly I can’t claim responsibility for the word Gynoid. Android is technically a gendered word for male robot so I simply had to use the female version :) also it’s a fun word so I like using it whenever I can

  • Alex H Mittelman about a month ago

    I’ll try

  • “M”about a month ago

  • Gerard DiLeoabout a month ago

    Well, what a delightful surprise! I'm very flattered, given the company. Thanks so much, L.C., for a great challenge. I'm not very good at sexy, so this honor took me by surprise. Congrats to all who entered. Bravo to all.

  • D. J. Reddallabout a month ago

    Thanks for the provocative prompt, LC, and congratulations to Gerald and Alexander!

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Damn it, forgot about this. Sorry, LC! I have a lot of great reading to do it seems. Got some time to catch up over the next few days! Well done on this challenge though and getting the responses you got!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.