Fiction logo

Do Androids Dream of Murder?

26th February, Story #57/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 4 min read
17
Do Androids Dream of Murder?
Photo by Cleyton Ewerton on Unsplash

The woman is gorgeous; perfectly put together. Looking at her, you can believe someone made her in a computer.

Since AI improved in leaps and bounds, and android manufacture improved exponentially, many people are relying on androids for all sorts of things. Including sex. It's less messy. Lower risk of pregnancy, disease, infidelity.

Her long slim legs flick out of the rumpled bed, their shape accentuated by her toes delicately pointed. She's aware, always, that she's on display. Watched every moment. A product being judged at all times. She's known this as long as she can remember. Perched there, under his gaze, she adjusts her stockings and scoops up her discarded silk shirt.

She glances over her shoulder at the man in the bed. A lazy smile spreads across his face.

I wonder if he loves me. She regards him with cold eyes. I wonder if anyone can love me. Do I love him? Can I?

These thoughts whir around her head behind the carefully arranged pout. Her long graceful neck just so.

Can I feel anything at all? It's an empty thought. It rattles. She can't remember ever feeling anything. Even when they are inside her, she feels nothing, no connection. As empty as ever. Emptier, maybe.

Checking her reflection in the ensuite mirror, she takes a moment to fix her make up. It's barely smudged. There's a pair of nail scissors on the sink. She twirls them in her fingers very fast, over and over, watching them glint under the bathroom light. Brings the point to the pale skin on the inside of her wrist, where she hesitates.

No.

A few light steps back into the bedroom. The man is still in the bed, his fingers interlocked behind his head.

She finishes dressing mechanically, each motion spare and deliberate. Like a dance. Almost a striptease in reverse, only more efficient.

How funny. The scissors are still in her hand. She leans down, as if to kiss him goodbye, and plunges the blade into his eye. It sparks, and she stabs him again and again and again. She drops them, her breathing barely quickened. There's no blood.

She walks away, still feeling nothing at all.

++++++++++++

Word count (excluding note): 366

Submitted on 26th February at 20:40

Quick Author's Note

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

Leave me a link to your own sex robot story, if I haven't already seen it! If you're joining me on this "story every day" madne adventure, I'd love to see what you come up with for today.

My Challenge:

I first wrote about it here, but here is the TL;DR version 👇

A Prompt and a CHALLENGE - February

Write me a story about a sex robot

Make it rude, make it clever, make me squirm (you know I hate erotica). Explore themes of sexuality, consent and psychology, have a message and paint it in metallic red lipgloss that won't smudge.

Submit to Filthy, Sci Fi, or fiction

Word limit the same as the others - 300-366!

Link to it in the comments

Closing date is the 28th

Judging on the 29th

$10 to the winner and $5 to a runner up

You can leave your link in the comments here, or on the February prompts post. Either way, I will see it!

If you enjoyed this story, the best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another. See below for my recommendation 😁

Pay no attention to the writer behind the curtain: Shockingly, I've never actually read Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? Sorry. It inspired the title. This is my 3rd sex robot story. Here's my last one.

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes a 57 day streak. You can find all of them in my Index post. It's also pinned to the top of my profile.

Thank you

Thank you again! I do my best to reciprocate all reads. Please do leave a comment, and I'll pop over and read one of yours as soon as I can.



Sci FiShort StoryMicrofiction
17

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Oh wow! I didn't see that coming. Fantastic.

  • Alexander McEvoy2 months ago

    faith and begorrah!!!! That was... holy cow and damned wow! I did not expect him to be the android! You never cease to amaze me, LC! Though i do wonder why she was putting on a show for him... since he wasn't real. Hmm... the questions that raises about the potential behind the scenes worldbuilding

  • Gerard DiLeo2 months ago

    My submission: https://vocal.media/fiction/living-doll-tm

  • Lindsay Sfara2 months ago

    I did NOT see that twist coming! I had to do a double take on that last paragraph to make sure I didn't miss anything. Nicely done!

  • But why wasn't there any blood? I loved it when she stabbed him in the eye repeatedly!

  • Phil Flannery2 months ago

    Hmm. Are they both androids or just him? Or her? Intriguing as always. You fit a lot into 366 words

  • Gerard DiLeo2 months ago

    I will be doing mine, as per this challenge, for my February 28, Day 59 of the Story-a-Day challenge. Stay tuned.

  • Gerard DiLeo2 months ago

    Do bot lives matter? And to whom? You caught me at the end I didn't see coming (no pun intended). By the way, her programming was PERFECT in every move, except of course for that little scissors thing. Fun.

  • Bot on bot violence. And is it considered a crime?

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh2 months ago

    Glorious twist! Such artful sleight of hand in your descriptions. This was fun to read... until it wasn't...

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Oof. I was hoping he was human and then you threw me at the end…. Or did you?! I love this because it made me wonder if machines have more heart and feelings than some people out there. Great stuff L.C.

  • Raymond G. Taylor2 months ago

    Fantastic android dream, in the tradition of Shelley via Dick (pun not intended). Great to see a fictional exploration of AI and whether it can replicate human feeling.

  • A fascinating take on this prompt! Great piece LC!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    This is well written and an interesting exploration of what it means to be ‘human.’’ Are emotions, feelings intrinsic to being human, or is consciousness of their absence sufficient? Your AI character is sentient enough to be confused with a psychopath. Can’t say that I feel pity for the smug jack in the story though. Looking forward to Dharrsheena’s take on it! And the shout out to Philip K Dick is fun too.

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Yes, we do! Beep boop! I mean, murder… we don’t know the meaning of the word…. Well written! This is definitely getting top story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.