Writers logo

The Urge to Scribble

My birthday approaches, and people keep asking me what I want. I lie and say, "Oh, I don't really want anything." But I do! This is what I want. Can you help me find it? (PS. The last word is only there to bring the word count up to 666. I'd ask you to ignore it, but I know you won't, you little rebel, you.)

By L.C. SchäferPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
16
The Urge to Scribble
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Sometimes I enjoy writing, rather than typing on my laptop. There's something immensely satisfying about it, if the mood strikes. You can go slowly, taking great care over each letter. Or you can scribble like a demon, hardly able to keep up with your own thoughts. Each word can loop across the page, literally flowing. You can get fancy and make The Capitals really big and ostentatious, the tails on the g's and y's delightfully ridiculous.

The messier and scrawlier it gets, the better - as long as it's readable to me, who gives a fudge if all the S's look the same, or if each word is the same size? The way it goes is this: the best writing days mean the messiest handwriting. So why not embrace it, lean into the skid. Each word can look like a signature, a fingerprint, taking on a personality and life of its own.

I'm assuming, here, that there are other scribblers out there, and I'm not just fucking weird.

My problem is that if you write with an actual pen, on actual paper, you are at great risk of some absolute bastard seeing it. With their eyes. This horrifying prospect has, in the past, kept me from doing any writing at all for years. Can't have that.

So: hive mind, assemble!

I'm looking for recommendations, and you inky-fingered lot seemed like the scribes to ask. I thank you in advance!

Rocketbook (no affiliation)

I have a Rocketbook, which I like. Write stuff in it, scan it, wipe it clean. I have the smaller one, though, and I think I'd like A4 size. When you really get going, a little notepad is too small.

My question is: do I stick with this brand, or try something else?

Upsides to the Rocketbook

  • Small and convenient (mine is anyway, you can get bigger ones)
  • Private. I've been able to use it for work and it's been great for confidentiality.
  • Easy to use

Downsides to the Rocketbook:

  • Mine has got pretty smudged. That's on me, not taking proper care of it, really, rather than an inherent flaw. For example, there's been times I've jotted down a mundane list or something like that. Something that I don't care someone sees it. I haven't wiped it down promptly and this has left it marked, even after a good clean.
  • It's an extra Thing for me to carry about, or remember to bring with me.
  • I have to use specific (erasable) pens on it.

What am I looking for?

Something similar but in app form would be great. No extra Thing for me to carry around! Or even just have to keep and take care of (I already have way too much Stuff). No need to buy specific pens! Still confidential. 👍

So far, I haven't been able to find anything that suits for what I want, and works well. I have a Samsung phone, which has a Notes app on it, and there is a handwriting option on that. It's unwieldy, though, and the screen is a bit small for my scrawl. I can barely fit two words on there.

Periodically, I'm seized by this urge to write, not type... and I hunt around for an app or a product so scratch the itch, only to be dissatisfied. Give up. Go back to clacking the keys like a peasant. On occasion, I've used an A4 notepad, and torn up the pages when I'm done.

I don't have any Apple devices, so there is that.

If I can't find something I can install on a device I already have, I'm torn between sticking with what I know (Rocetbook) or trying something different that might be (who knows, let's be optimistic) even better.

So... talk to me Goose. What do you write with? Is there another Rocketbook-esque Thing out there that is worth me trying? Or a notebooky app I can use to scribble away on? What are the pros and cons of it?

Plop.

Advice
16

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Phil Flannery2 months ago

    My daughter has a Samsung phone and she bought a Samsung tablet. I'm sure I've seen her writing on it. I'm not really the one to ask. Good luck. I can't read my hand writing.

  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    There's definitely something about writing that feels more...real or organic. Like typing is tied to associations of work and a job maybe? "the best writing days mean the messiest handwriting. " is 100% true. Sometimes you're scribbling so fast that you're afraid to stop because then the ideas will run dry. No recommendations I'm afraid- I use the Notes app on my phone when commuting or travelling, and a journal/notebook for actual writing that I've set time for...which I am terrible at doing. Hope you find one!

  • Sorry, the only things I use are laptop or notebook/scratch paper. I have no idea what to recommend. But good luck & Happy Birthday coming up.

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    I use a Lenovo tab 12 with a stylus. Only got it because I was sick of Apple taking over every aspect of my life! (…. She says tapping out this message on an iPhone!)

  • For writing I have pen and paper and a scribble e-pad. , for writing on the phone I use google docs

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    I don't think I can help. I'd never even heard of a Rocketbook until I read this piece. I don't even know why I'm answering, other than the joy of typing, backspacing to correct errors, typing some more... damn. Now I want one too.

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    Happy (almost) (belated) birthday! First, gotta love this: "I'm assuming, here, that there are other scribblers out there, and I'm not just fucking weird." There are other scribblers out there but that doesn't take anything away from you (and I, and others) being "just fucking weird." Not mutually exclusive. Just saying. I have abysmal handwriting that I cannot read after a 3-day step-away, so I've given up. When that urge to write, not type, smacks, I paint. Watercolor doesn't scratch the itch properly but for whatever reason, acrylics does. Wish I could be of (any, some) help here, but I trust others will come through!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    I wish I could help. When inspiration strikes and time is of the essence, I scribble on a spiral note pad on my desk. If that’s not handy, any scrap of paper will do. I’m very, very low tech, I’m afraid.

  • “M”2 months ago

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    I had to google Rocketbook, so Wave, Core, Fusion and Pro. You know instantly that I will be of no help to you. I know that I now need one. Hahahaha. Happy B/Day when it comes. I am here to support you LC. Come on people who know things, LC needs you.

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    No advice from me. I have a notebook and Bic if I am inspired. Or the notebook app on my phone for tappity tap inspiration.

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    My partner abandoned his rocket book when he got a new iPad for work that has a pen with it and a decent writing app.

  • I was today years old when I Googled and learnt what a Rocketbook is. With that being said, I'm the last person to give you advice on this, lol. Loved the plop! Hehehehehe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.