Writers logo

And the Winner of The Emotional Moment in Nature Challenge Is...

Plus all my favorite entries

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 8 months ago β€’ 3 min read
Top Story - August 2023
35
And the Winner of The Emotional Moment in Nature Challenge Is...
Photo by Adam Kool on Unsplash

Hello, everyone!

Submissions to The Emotional Moment in Nature Challenge closed yesterday. Thank you to the creators who participated. I had a wonderful time reading your flashku!

And now, time to share my favorite entries and announce the winner!

The Winner

It is not easy to write about the loss of someone we love. The way Kristen Balyeat's "Field of Endings" conveys pain and hopefulness at the same time is nothing short of beautiful.

This piece also captures the essence of the Flashku perfectly. And the icing on the cake: Kristen used Ralph Waldo Emerson as inspiration!

Congratulations!

(NB: A couple of Kristen's haiku are featured in the Auroras & Blossoms Haiku Anthology: Volume 2, which was released a couple of weeks ago.)

Runners-Up

"Snow Falls in the Foothills" is another example of the depth of Mackenzie Davis's style. This is a delightfully poetic piece whose last line will hit you with all the feels!

Paul Stewart's "Chance Encounter" surprised me, but in a great way. I love how he set the scene with an onomatopoeia. The third-person point of view almost feels like a first-person POV! Very well done!

By now, it's not a secret that Dana Crandell is one of my favorite writers on Vocal. (You may remember my recent interview with him.) Inspired by Robert Frost's poem "The Road Not Taken," "The Meeting" reads like a love letter to photography and childhood in one fell swoop.

Other Entries to the Emotional Moment in Nature Challenge

The stories in this list may not have made it to the top, but they are definitely worthy of a read (or three)! I have included my favorite line(s) for each of them.

"These Weeping Shores" by Chloe Gilholy

The anxieties building up inside me are washed away like the pebbles I throw in the sea.

"Downpour" by Sian N. Clutton

The need for nothing but to cool myself encapsulates me, with reckless abandon I take off my coat

"Stairway to Heaven" by Ashley Lima

I do not know what will greet me at the top, I just know I need to get there.

"The Walk" by Mother Combs

First, they would enjoy the woods in all their autumnal glory.

Then they would play hide and seek among the trees.

"Finding The Huntress, My Goddess Of Nature" by Mike Singleton

My spirits were down as I wandered through to trees in despair.

"In Awe" by Linda Osipow (Medium entry)

The mist rising off of the pond seems like an eerie echo of my ancestors, reminding me to pause and be thankful.

NB: You can continue submitting entries for as long as you want. If I receive more, I will post another list later.

Check out the rules of the Emotional Moment in Nature Challenge below.

I will have another challenge for you very soon. So, watch this space! πŸ™‚

In the meantime, here is a tutorial on how to write a memorable flashku. You'll find examples that I wrote. Do not forget to give the form a try!

That's it for today. Thank you for reading!

    ---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

Writing ExerciseShoutoutPromptsInspirationCommunityChallenge
35

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist8 months ago

    Congratulations on the top story! Well done!πŸ˜ŠπŸ’•

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Congratulations everyone! Thank you for inspiring such great pieces Cendrine!

  • Naomi Gold8 months ago

    Congrats to the winners! 🍾 Cendrine, as you know, I found this challenge a little too challenging. However, it produced some beautiful pieces of writing. Congrats on your Top Story. πŸ₯‚

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Yay for top story!!!πŸ’«πŸ’ž

  • JBaz8 months ago

    Great idea and I just read some wonderful works. Congratulations

  • The Dani Writer8 months ago

    Wonderful top story and congratulations to the Creators! You are all such a talented bunch and are more than deserving of acknowledgement for the work that you do. *Setting off the fireworks*

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Glad to see this made Top Story!

  • Article Pins8 months ago

    TS..πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

  • AdamΒ 8 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top StoryπŸŽ‰

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    Wow this was such a wonderful list! I can't wait to read through the entries I haven't seen yet

  • Test8 months ago

    Congratulations! I'll be busy reading through them later this evening! Thank you for coming up with such a lovely idea!

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    What an amazing competition! Amazing words being weaved together here! Congrats on top story!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Well done on this getting Top Story!

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    I read Sian's and loved it but missed these others. I will seek them out. Great challenge. I will look for the next.

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Oh my goodness!!! Thank you so much, Cendrine!!!! What an honor to be chosen as the winner, especially with the incredible spread of talent here! I’m so grateful for your kind words about my entry, and for spurring the inspiration with this awesome challenge!!! Congrats to Mackenzie and Dana, and everyone!!! Looking forward to reading all of the entries I missed while I was on vacation! Thank you again, I’m humbled and totally blushing over hereπŸ™πŸ½πŸ’žπŸ’«

  • Chloe Gilholy8 months ago

    This was a great challenge! Can’t wait to read and reread some of the entries!

  • Congratulations to the winners and pleased I got a Top Story for mine so thank you for the inspiration

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Woohoo!!! Awesome & congratulations!!!πŸ’•β€οΈβ€οΈ

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Congrats to everyone. Thanks for coming up with the challenge, Cendrine. It was fun. β€πŸ’›β€πŸ’›

  • Congratulations πŸŽ‰

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Oh, wow. Thank you! Congrats to Kristen, Mackenzie and Dana. Well done everyone that took part! Also, thank you to Cendrine for putting together this challenge!

  • Ashley Lima8 months ago

    Really awesome challenge, with some fabulous entries. Thanks for putting this on, Cendrine!

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    What a cool challenge.😊 Most I’d not read. Still a couple more to read, but I’ve checked out a few which were terrific mindful snapshots; thanks for organising and sharing Cendrine!!

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Congrats to the winners and all the participants!!! Excellent work!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.