Fiction logo

Stairway to Heaven

A hike at Comer's Rock

By Ashley LimaPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
14
The steep steps leading up to the old fire lookout at Comer's Rock.

36.7443° N, 81.2362° W

The ascent. Marked by fear; in search of truth on a Sunday morning.

Mourning on this summer day. For what? I am unsure.

I do not know what will greet me at the top, I just know I need to get there.

I follow the steep steps upward; sharp inhales, sharper exhales.

I bite my tongue, just to feel.

I touch moss and timber, whispering holy gospel. Giving thanks. Repentant.

Just a few more steps, and I'll be there:

The vista.

A reminder of who I am, and who I will be.

Man on the mountain.

The view from Comer's Rock. This image does not do it justice.

The bolded words were sourced from random pages of the 1943 novel, Celia's House by D.E. Stevenson.

_________________________

Written for Cendrine's flashku challenge.

Give it a shot, here:

Microfiction
14

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Love this, Ashley! The coordinates were such a clever start, and this was such a beautiful and relatable piece with lots of parallels. Great entry to the challenge! 💫👏🏽💞

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    What a triumphant finish! Well done, Ashley!

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Thank you for participating in my challenge! The results are in: https://vocal.media/writers/and-the-winner-of-the-emotional-moment-in-nature-challenge-is. :-)

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Superb job Ashley! I’d missed most of these entries so just checking out now.☺️

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    This is great, Ashley. Could feel everything, you took me right there. Well done!

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Wow, I love this so much, Ashley. Tying the ascent into a spiritual experience makes it so much more emotional and important for the reader. "I bite my tongue, just to feel. I touch moss and timber, whispering holy gospel. Giving thanks. Repentant." Again, wow. This reminds me of a few hikes I've done. (I'm in Colorado, so there are many options, endless, it seems, lol.) There's one called Panorama point, where you get to look out from a wooden structure and see, I don’t know how many, different peaks, at least 5. It seems to go on for the entirety of the horizon, all at quite the distance, of course. Your picture of Comer's Peak captures that sense of grandness of the mountains, how majestic and sublime they are, especially in how they make us feel spiritually. We are tiny. Such a great entry into Cendrine's challenge. ❤️❤️👏🏻 PS: I love your pic of the stairway. Gorgeous angle and focal points.

  • Ian Read9 months ago

    Beautiful work, Ashley! I was just in Acadia last weekend with a college friend doing a short hike like that. The imagery in your work reflected that I think, strenuous but rewarding in the end. :)

  • This was so poetic and that view is magnificent!

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    You paint a lovely picture with your words!

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Wonderful! Now, we need the source of your seven words. ;-)

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Loved that you added the coordinates of the location. Now to find something on the web that can translate them. Lovely poem. I used to live in Colorado, miss the mountains so much.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Awesome. Enjoyed this Title fooled me for a moment. Thought you'd done a critique of the TV series.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.