Fiction logo

The Ugly Duckling

A fairy tale retold.

By Ashley LimaPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
20
The Ugly Duckling
Photo by Mark Timberlake on Unsplash

I'd always felt like an outsider in my own home, despite my mother's best efforts to make me feel whole.

When I was born, I was very large and ugly. My face was bruised by the doctor's hands as he struggled to pull me from my mother's womb. My siblings, on the other hand, were slender and delicate on their days of birth. Born "naturally" as opposed to my surgical removal. However, my mother never loved me any less for the pain I put her through.

As my siblings and I grew older together, they often teased me for my shortcomings. My genetic counterparts were graceful, athletic, and talented. I was none of the above. They didn't shield me from the taunting at school, either. I was more or less on my own in this cruel world. I couldn't help this sinking pain inside of me, this feeling of difference that pervaded my everyday life.

It got worse as the development of adolescence came upon me. With the changes brought on in my body, uninvited. My boxy figure filled out, and the curvature of my hips mixed with the protrusion of my breasts had me beside myself. I dawned baggy clothing to hide my metamorphosis; something I never asked for, and something I hated so.

My mother never warned me about it, but she tried to talk me through it when it happened.

"I know it's uncomfortable. It happens to all of us, but it's a blessing to become a woman." She would say, as she helped me pick out deodorant, shaving cream, and brassieres at the general store.

For me, it was no blessing. I wanted none of it. I wished if anything, to turn back time. If only I could. Wouldn't it have been easier to have never been born than to have been born the ugly duckling of the family?

"What sort of girl are you?" The boys at school would tease me.

I didn't know.

As the other girls got dressed up and pretty for junior high dances, I decided to stay home and read. I felt safe on my own. In the little world I created inside my head, nothing could hurt me.

As puberty came to an end, and the other teens began ritual courtships, I continued to live inside of myself, wondering who I was and what to make of this life I was living. I couldn't relate to those around me, and it seemed they didn't care to relate to me, either.

What sort of girl was I?

Turned into:

What if I was not a girl at all?

As I began questioning my identity, my perspective started to shift.

Perhaps I was not the ugly duckling after all, perhaps I was a beautiful swan waiting to be seen for who I truly was.

I went to my mother with this realization, and she told me this.

"You were mine from the day you were born, and mine you will always be. No matter how you choose to present yourself, you will forever be my baby."

My reassuring, loving mother understood me even if she didn't understand what I was feeling. She took me shopping again; this time for clothes that fit my newborn identity. We replaced my brassieres with binders and my Dove for Old Spice. I began to feel more like myself with each change, no matter how incremental.

My siblings became nicer as I began to grow into myself, even apologizing for their past unpleasantries. They hoped their bullying did not lead me to this conclusion, and I assured them it wasn't their teasing that caused me to feel this way. It was something I was born with and could not change. They accepted our differences and found beauty in my way of life.

As I began to get help in my transition, I found community in group therapy. There, I was surrounded by other ugly ducklings who grew to be swans, just like me.

*******

Disclaimer: This isn't autobiographical, I'm just using first-person narration to tell the story. This is just what came to mind when I thought of retelling Hans Christian Andersen's "The Ugly Duckling" fairy tale. Thank you for reading, and thank you for your kind words!

Young AdultFable
20

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    I think this is MAGNIFICENT. OMG. If this doesn't place, I will literally create boards and picket wherever the Vocal headquarters is.

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Well, Ashley, this is a phenomenal retelling. I love how you used the story to talk about an important social topic. Very well done!

  • Caroline Jane9 months ago

    What a great, up to date retelling. You have found a real relevance to an old tale in a modern day struggle. Well done!

  • Awww, I'm so happy that her siblings apologised and that she finally became the swan she was meant to be!

  • Kelsey Clarey9 months ago

    This is a wonderful and very well-written take on the story. <3

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    The narrators voice in this story is strong, beautiful and engaging. Really consider publishing as childrens, YA book. I love the remake of this fairytale. ❤️🦢❤️🦢❤️🦢❤️🦢❤️

  • Ruth Stewart9 months ago

    Fabulous take on the story! It's great to reimagine these stories and make them up to date. You did an awesome job!/👍💙😊

  • This is a really unique spin on the creative prompt!! Well done Ashley ❤️✨

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    “Being transgender is not just a medical transition. … [It’s about] discovering who you are, living your life authentically, loving yourself, and spreading that love towards other people and accepting one another.” -Jazz Jennings, LGBTQ rights activist and public figure A person is not their looks/body type, but changing the secondary and primary sexual characteristics can help people feel more themselves. The focus on the 'outside' comes more from the time of puberty than as the general moral of the story for me. A trans person does not lose any of their experience as the gender they grew up as, nor do they 'pretend' to be anyone but themselves. A beautiful story in my opinion Ashley. I adore how you wrote about those first small changes like deodorant! I am genderfluid and I have a fruity one for my feminine days and a men's one for my masculine days. I use trans tape instead of a binder but I related so much to those lines! Thank you for writing this and pay no mind to those who cannot grasp it just yet. You don't have to educate them, just continue writing wonderful, inclusive stories that make people like me feel seen!

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    Someday the acceptance and love the mother felt for them will exist everywhere, not just in some cases and fairy tales. Sensitive and well written- wonderful story.

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Perfectly placed twist for the perfectly chosen tale, that responds so fittingly to the prompt. Beautiful.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    very unique

  • Mattie :)9 months ago

    Beautiful Ashley. Your words shine brightly :)

  • Joe Patterson9 months ago

    You were never ugly, others just didn’t understand your unique beauty. And when you’re that amazing, some never will. ❤️❤️❤️

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    I feel so sad for her, to grow up feeling so unaccepted and unprotected :(

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    This was such a coming of age, harsh, gentle and real awakening into one's individuality. Beautifully done Ashley.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.