Fiction logo

Skinwalker II

A microfiction horror story.

By Ashley LimaPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
11
Skinwalker II
Photo by Caleb Woods on Unsplash

The snow outside had footprints, but I couldn't hear a soul in the silence of the night. The full moon rose above the hills, while the sharp sensation of cold ran down my spine. When I turned my back on the wilderness to make my way inside, I saw the reflection of myself staring back at me, but this person had dead eyes.

When I opened my mouth to scream, I found I couldn't make a noise. The man in the mirror spoke back to me, and it seemed he stole my voice.

"Get out of here you wretched mutt. Get out of here at once."

When I looked down at my human feet, I was greeted by some paws.

MicrofictionHorrorFable
11

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Penny Fuller3 months ago

    Creepy! Nice job.

  • Alivia Varvel9 months ago

    So, so well done. Actually gave me chills.

  • Oooo, this was a wonderful treat for me! I loved it!

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    nice

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    You've lost none of the concision and mystery in your expansion of the original, what can I say. The mirrored flip of a transition is so smooth and invasive. Structure, event, and atmosphere I would say is perfect. But I still feel there's something very small missing to have the entry you want. For me, I think it's a matter of phrasing and vocabulary. A couple rarer or choice words throughout, something that can channel the atmosphere you've given and add to the sense of the unusual.

  • Mattie :)9 months ago

    Oh very chilling! Nice one, Ashley!

  • Mark Gagnon9 months ago

    I hope this is a, "To be continued!"

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.