Poets logo

Downpour

Poetry

By Sian N. CluttonPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
46
Downpour
Photo by Max Bender on Unsplash

This is my challenge entry for The Emotional Moment in Nature Challenge By Cendrine Marrouat.

My source is the poem 'Fallen Angel' written by Mike Singleton.

I have chosen this poem as inspiration because of its message of selfless support, how one might not realise the needs of others, especially if their needs are not obvious. With an invisible illness myself, I found this poem poignant and beautifully written.

https://vocal.media/poets/fallen-angel-h333uu0tru

* * *

As I sit on a bench in front of the hospital, I pray for the heavens to open, seeking a helping hand

The need for nothing but to cool myself encapsulates me, with reckless abandon I take off my coat

The crisp wind brings sweet release

Face flushed, breathing deep, I smell the water in the air

Light dims as the sky succumbs to darkness

The first, perfect, drop of rain hits my skin, bringing with it my strength to fight once more.

I close my eyes in gratitude and breath a sigh of relief as the skies open

* * *

nature poetrylove poemsinspirational
46

About the Creator

Sian N. Clutton

A horror and thriller writer at heart, who's recently decided to take a stab at other genres.

I sincerly hope you find something that either touches your soul or scares your socks off.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (29)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Got a real sense of relief off this one! Well done on the T.S. 😁

  • Denise E Lindquist3 months ago

    Congratulations on top story!!🎉🎉🎉

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Thank you for participating in my challenge! The results are in: https://vocal.media/writers/and-the-winner-of-the-emotional-moment-in-nature-challenge-is. :-)

  • You write beautifully, a well deserved top support that I just found via Cendrine’s challenge. I’m late to discover it but so glad I did!

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    I love this. Rain as a cleanser, yes but as invigorator too. Lovely. I found it very moving.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    great work

  • This really grabbed me and brought me in I could smell the rain and feel that first perfect drop

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Really beautiful moment of meditative cloudburst. Nice! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Teresa Renton9 months ago

    Well done for your simply beautiful sentiment. I was right there, feeling that first drop of perfect rain 😍

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    “Smell the water in the air” A strange number of people I’ve met don’t believe you can smell rain. Weird

  • Joe Patterson9 months ago

    Well done and congratulations on top story, you have a new subscriber.

  • Sarah D9 months ago

    Loved this poem about the rain. Short but thought provoking! Wanna check out mine? https://vocal.media/fiction/a-different-sort-of-magic

  • Caroline Jane9 months ago

    Excellent. Congratulations on your top story too!

  • Lilly Cooper9 months ago

    I love the rain, it feels so powerful and cleansing. Your flashku makes me want to go sit and watch the clouds roll in ❤️ Congratulations on your first TS ❤️

  • I did read this but didn't comment or hear. Brilliant work Sian

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Lovely, touching & heartfelt!!! Wonderfully written & loved it!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Chloe Gilholy9 months ago

    I love how it’s a vocal prompt reply inspired by a poem on Vocal. It’s gone full circle

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    Masterfully done! Congratulations on your Top Story :)

  • Lovely and Congratulations on your Top Story💯🌟😉👍🎉🎉

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Beautifully done. Congrats on the TS.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    There you go! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    Ahh this is lovely, Sian!

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    Oh my! This is simply beautiful. Congrats on Top Story

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    This is gorgeous, Sian. Wonderful flashku, and I love the rain, so this would always be a hit for me. I just read Precipitation so got confused when saw this as Top Story and realised it was a diff story. Congrats, is what I am trying to say!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.