Fiction logo

Field of Endings

Flashku

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
20
Photo taken by Yours Truly.

Written for Cendrine Marrouat's Emotional Moment in Nature Flashku Challenge

Flashku requirement of seven words borrowed from another piece were selected from Ralph Waldo Emerson's Essay, Nature. Bolden words were borrowed from the text.

**********************************************************************

"How can I possibly let you go?" I utter through tears.

Finally, I release him to the meadow. Grasses sway and bend in the gentle wind that carries him away as the warmth of summer’s final kiss sweeps across the valley. Faded wildflowers wilt– drops of color whispering their last goodbyes. Leaves turn golden as trees await the task of letting go.

Holding an empty urn, I crumble, lost in a field of endings. I wonder how nature so gracefully surrenders to the inevitable.

Suddenly, a leaf flutters before my eyes and I hear a gentle whisper, "You will bloom again."

LoveShort StoryMicrofiction
20

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Gold8 months ago

    Congrats on your win! 🥂 I told you this challenge was made for you. 😉

  • JBaz8 months ago

    so vivid and beautiful

  • Margaret S.8 months ago

    Amazing. Thank you so much for sharing this!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Congrats, Kristen. Yours was a favourite and well deserved win!

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Thank you for participating in my challenge! The results are in: https://vocal.media/writers/and-the-winner-of-the-emotional-moment-in-nature-challenge-is. :-)

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    This is amazing, Kristen. Great photo, and I'm sure it comes as no surprise that I love that area. And the words? Simply beautiful!

  • Ohhh this is precious! Your descriptive language is an incredible. I really love this entry. I’m also very glad I’m reading all the entries after I wrote mine otherwise I may not have entered at all!! ❤️✨🙏

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    So very beautiful, thank you for sharing.

  • Dean F. Hardy9 months ago

    The photo is stunning, as is the piece you wrote. May I ask where that photo was taken?

  • Chloe Gilholy9 months ago

    The description was vivid,

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Darn it, Kristen. This is just beautiful. I loved the seven words you used, your beautiful woven words of nature and emotion. It's what you do best. Just marvelous and sad but hopeful, as others have noted!

  • Oh the last part touched my heart so much! You’ve written this so beautifully!

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    😢 I loved this. Micro fiction often does my head in, but like that you can still include so much emotion and description here in such a small amount of words. Kudos Kristen! 👏☺️

  • Simply beautiful, Kristen.

  • Emma Kate Coleman9 months ago

    So, so, so beautiful, Kristen!! I’m with Naomi. You take us on a deep journey with so few words. I’m so impressed!! 😊👍

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    This challenge was made for you! You’re in tune with the cycles of nature and beautifully describe them with few words. This was sad yet hopeful and very nicely done.

  • Joelle E🌙9 months ago

    This is amazing!! I love the phrase “field of endings” ✨

  • Mohammed Darasi9 months ago

    That was so beautiful to read Kristen 😊

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Beautiful, Kristen!!!

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    What a powerful piece! Great job, Kristen!

  • ARC9 months ago

    Wow.. I have never read this essay of Emerson's - and I see now that I must. Beautiful - and I loved your 7. 💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.