Viva logo

My First Diva Cup Just Brought Me Closer to My Period

And it only took 15 bloody years

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - July 2022
54
My First Diva Cup Just Brought Me Closer to My Period
Photo by Monika Kozub on Unsplash

As a genderfluid individual, who often ignores their female body, I never thought I’d form a relationship with my period. But there I was, at 26 years old, reaching my fingers deep inside to pull out the bloody diva cup- and surprisingly, I felt relief.

My relationship to my body, and my menstrual cycle has always been complicated. Shame, social pressures, learned behaviours, and some fucked up core beliefs have had me ignoring myself for majority of my life. Add on my gender identity and dysphoria to that twisted list, and we’ve got a chaotic concoction. And anyways, who wants to bleed monthly for a week?

The first thing I did when I got my period was cry. My mom congratulated me on becoming a “Woman” and I immediately told her to get out.

I always treated my period at a distance. It was something my body did that I tried to pay as minimal attention to as possible. Pads, tampons, and Tylonel were what served me every couple weeks, and I tried not to pay too much emotional attention to it. That being said, I usually cried a day or two beforehand, so maybe it did get emotional. But that’s how I knew when the blood would start. Or I’d crave chocolate.

I’ve never really kept track until recently, because again, I usually try to avoid my body. (My therapist has some thoughts on that but that’s for another time.)

By Tamas Pap on Unsplash

You might ask, well Oneg, why are you suddenly giving more of a shit about yourself?

Well dear reader, a good marriage does that. (Also good therapy). It helps to have an amazing wife support you as you grow into yourself shamelessly. She also got the diva cup first.

And why the change? Well let me tell you!

A diva cup is much more eco friendly, cost friendly, and apparently much better for your vaginal health. I never knew how tampons and pads have chemicals that can alter your pH and even affect the severity of your flow and symptoms.

Not having to worry about running out of tampons, or the awkward crinkle of the pad wrapper is another advantage. Oh and the money you save! I don’t even want to think about the money I’ve spent on feminine hygiene products.

My wife decided to switch to the cup earlier this year. And from her experience and advice, I decided to follow suit. So far mostly good.

(I say mostly good because I VERY UNFORTUNATELY dropped the cup in the toilet by accident while taking it out. Let’s just say it was a cringy undignified experience.)

By Curology on Unsplash

But let’s get even more real.

I never thought I’d be inserting a rubber cup into my vagina and be okay with it. I’m not much for penetration (I’m dying from writing that!) and I’m not much for paying attention to my vagina either.

Ironically, my first stint at actual acting was in university when I tried out for ‘The Vagina Monologues’. I was asked to read the part about staring at my own vagina with a hand mirror in a class full of other women. Somehow, I got a spot in the show but had to turn it down due to work scheduling conflicts.

Having to spend time with my vagina, my blood, and other… stuff… wasn’t something I ever imagined doing.

Did it bring me closer to my femininity or “womanhood”? No. Not at all. I don’t really feel a need to relate my reproductive organs and parts to a social construct.

But did it bring me closer to an understanding and acceptance of my body? Yes.

Somehow, seeing that cup full of blood didn’t gross me out. It kind of made me feel badass. It made me realize that my period is not just sticky pads and feeling shitty.

It’s natural.

It’s messy.

It’s badass.

It’s powerful.

And that’s not a word I ever thought I’d use to describe something about my physical self.

Having gender dysphoria and body shame is a terrible rollercoaster to ride. But this experience somehow gave me some relief and peace. And I’m grateful for it.

I might rename it “badass blood catcher”, but for now, I’m growing towards appreciating myself just a bit more.

Cheers.

By Marketing City to Sea on Unsplash

lgbtqia
54

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Glennabout a year ago

    This was wonderful! Good Job!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I love that you shared this journey! Awesome read :)

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Raw and powerful. Outstanding story!👏💖💕

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    Again - great sharing of a cringy insight and making it not so cringy!

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Excellent piece! I admire your courage and openness in discussing this topic.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Nice piece, too be honest , I wish more detail ,like does it hinder when you used the bathroom. Does it allow you to pee while you have it on? That could be part two. Anyway congrats 🎉. Nice subject story for sure

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    This piece was beautiful and powerful! Marvelous throughout every line, Oneg I tell ya. Marvelosity! Yeah, it's a word I made up, but writing this good NEEDS to have its special made-up word and then some. Highlighting the badass parts of ALL of us. Thank you so much for wriitng this!

  • As a man, I don't physically relate to this, but anything that improves your life and gets rid of chemicals in your body and this is a great article for all women

  • Misty Rae2 years ago

    Not even sure what to say. But I love this! I'm on the end of the period spectrum..PS that's hell, just so you know. I could never do tampons...something about it creeped the bejesus out of me. Maybe it was all the talk about Toxic Shock Syndrome back in my day. I don't have any issue withy gender and can't even imagine what that is in a concrete way, but if you want to call it a badass cup...that's what it is.

  • I don't think I can ever do that. I'm so afraid of pushing anything inside there, lol. I'm even so afraid of wearing contact lenses 🤣 I'm so glad you made this decision as it made you feel better

  • Amy Christie2 years ago

    Brave share. Thank you 😊

  • Judey Kalchik 2 years ago

    Brave, your voice, top story. Badass!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    "Badass blood catcher" is a great name. I'd go with that.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.