Psyche logo

My view on stress

Just a little bit about my thoughts on stress and how i deal with it usually

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2023
49
My view on stress
Photo by Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

I wrote a little free-verse poem earlier and I wanted to expand on it a little bit here. (i will link the poem at the end)

According to some people around me, I am apparently one of the calmest people they know. I never really noticed it before because it’s hard to ascertain certain qualities within yourself. I did ask a close friend to expand a little on what he meant (as he was one of the people who said this to me), because I wasn’t really sure what people were generally referring to.

He mentioned that he never saw me get angry before, and I am usually calm no matter the stressful situation. I did understand what he meant here after I started to look at people around and how they behave. I do believe that personality, genetics and other factors do contribute to how we think and behave, but I also think that in this particular aspect, worrying/stress and being quick to anger, we do have certain control in how we react.

When it comes to worrying and getting emotional about things, my philosophy is simple: is it useful to the current situation?

Stress is of course useful in many situations, because it can make us more alert and ready for action. At work, for example, whenever something happens that needs urgent action, I can do tasks a lot faster than usual, and I’m sure that applies to many people on here. This doesn’t mean that we usually don’t do our best when we work, its simply that, because of the urgency, we cut out the useless parts of our thinking (like overthinking about the outcome) which makes us boil down the task to its essentials.

As they say, too much of a good thing is not good for you. Over-worrying about everything becomes extremely prohibitive and exhausting to you as a person. Most things that we worry about are things that we do not have control over. If we can’t do anything about the situation, what is the point of worrying? What does it provide us except anxiety and stress?

Because the process is quite difficult and complicated, I’ve created a flow chart below to help you decide when to stress and when no to:

Joking aside, the flowchart does actually represent what I think about when it comes to potentially stressful things. I did create the flowchart as a joke to begin with, but it dawned on me that the process, logically, really is that simple. Of course there are many factors, like I said earlier, that contribute to how we react to things, so some might not be able to follow this thought process, and let’s be honest, we are human so it’s impossible to control ourselves every time.

The same applies to getting emotional, namely angry, at certain things. Of course anger does serve its purpose in some situations, just as worrying does, but anger is an emotion that has an added layer of complexity, because we wouldn’t simply be harming ourselves, but potentially others around.

There are certain ways that help me control myself when it comes to stress and getting emotional.

One is watching comedy: be it TV shows, comedy stand ups or movies. Comedy definitely helps with de-stressing and, when done right, it can also help you see the funny side of otherwise gloomy-looking things. This is a general remedy to maintaining a happy outlook on life, and it works for me.

Another, more instant way (at least for me) to reduce my worries is thinking about the universe. How expansive it is, and the number of things it contains: endless galaxies filled with endless planets, stars and other mysteries of life.

I think about how it took Voyager 1 (a probe sent out to explore Jupiter and Saturn) about 35 years to leave our solar system, despite travelling at over 40,000 miles per hour! Just how massive is our universe!

When you think about how massive our universe is, you’ll realise just how small the worry you have is in comparison. This might not work for everyone, but it does for me. It puts the issues I have in perspective and helps me see the bigger picture of the issue (after I demolish it with the massive big picture of the universe and my existence within it).

As I said above, we are all human and there is absolutely no one in existence who does not have anxiety, worries or stress, no matter what they look out outwardly. Stress can serve its purpose of course, but we need to make sure that it doesn’t consume us.

humanityanxietyadvice
49

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a month ago

    I really enjoyed this, Mohammed! I also love the idea about thinking about the universe - I try to envision how small everything is in the grand scheme of things! ❤️

  • Mattie :)9 months ago

    Very cool, Mohammed. Very well written and thought out. I love your idea about thinking about the universe. So many of us hardly think about how much larger it all really is. I'm new here. Ready to read more of your post asap :)

  • Nicole Dake9 months ago

    I love the idea of thinking about the universe and how big it is as a way to reduce stress. Thank you!

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Wow. Sorry I missed this, words of wisdom to live by. I found that out the hard way. Most likely worry or not the outcome will be what it will be. Well said.

  • The Dani Writer9 months ago

    What a supportive and inspirational piece of writing to share with the world! Well done and congratulations!

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Congratulations on Top story 🎉People with anger issue could benefit from reading this

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    Loved your poem! Stress is unavoidable and coping is so hard. Thank you for this insightful piece. The flowchart is great, too.

  • I'm glad that you mention how stress is a needed component in life. Some people tend to think all stress is bad. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • When to stress and not to stress: I applaud the concept, joking aside. 👏👏👏

  • Lealyn Cruda9 months ago

    Sometimes when they are stress , they forget to pray, they forget God. GOD who will us stress-free mindset.

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    Excellent advise. Stress is a killer so having ways to deal with it are so important. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji9 months ago

    Stress can be a breaker or motivator indeed

  • Yes indeed.

  • Omar yousef9 months ago

    loved it

  • How you cope with stress in life is probably not figured into many people's lives. However, it should be. We need to have a release and recovery from all that bogs us down. Once you find your little alleyway of relaxation, you can unpress the pause button and know that you might have the edge on most other people around you because you took time for yourself in your own way. Thanks for the story.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Wonderfully written. Loved it!!! Recently, was thinking about stress. How it is necessary but overdone is harmful. Excellent advice and loved your last sentence, "Stress can serve its purpose of course, but we need to make sure that it doesn’t consume us."

  • Sheena Docas9 months ago

    Nice one

  • Melissa Ingoldsby9 months ago

    I really appreciated your views on stress and how you are very calm overall. This isn't how most people are. Very down to earth personal narrative! Love it

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Huge fan of the flow chart! I have been attempting to not worry as much, and this advice was very helpful! Enjoyed your thoughts immensely 🖤

  • Congratulations on Your Top Story❤️💯👍

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Great advice, Mohammed! I enjoyed the flowchart. Stress levels can get pretty high in the freelancing arena. I like to connect with nature when I can, and reflecting on the scale of the universe is effective when I can't. Well done!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    good article. Congrats TS

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    I know that your flowchart was for fun, but having a plan like that is calming just following the flow around and around! Congratulations on the Top Story!

  • Miss K9 months ago

    Nice to read how you deal with stress, definitely something to try whenever I feel stressed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.