Psyche logo

My Little Valentine

It was a song that I heard a long time ago.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - February 2024
26
My Little Valentine
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

It wasn’t My Funny Valentine. It wasn’t I’m a Little Valentine. Can I find it? No. So I will have more to say before I get to it.

It doesn’t matter as this is what I want to write. In group this week we made valentines. I said think of a loved one. Someone you wish to make a valentine for.

I have a paper here with a heart and at the top, it says, “Things I love”. You can make puzzle pieces and put in the things you love or draw pictures of things you love. You can put all the things you love about your favorite someone.

They were each given an envelope and a card form to put their design in the mail. Two of the women had children they had given up for adoption, due to their life happenings at the time. One had an open adoption with family, but one child was not in her life. That was who she made her card for.

Another person had no children and came in before a couple of times severely depressed. She was making a valentine for a cousin. It was beautiful. She didn’t talk much about it other than to say, she wants to wait to have children until she can bring them into a better world.

She went on to say how much she loved her nieces and missed them and hoped for a home visit on the weekend.

It is so therapeutic to include art in healing from trauma, grief, and loss.

The discussion was all about that. Things that may not have come up with me, without the art project. One male guest was making dream catchers I encouraged him to keep making them and contributed wiigob to his project.

He could use the cards to put his dream catchers on and envelopes to give them.

He had plans to give two dream catchers. One to his grandmother and one to his mother. He then shared that his grandmother told him that she hopes to see him straightened out before she dies. He shared that he plans to do that.

While he made them, he asked if he could give me one. I told him that I can’t accept gifts from guests. I told him a cute story about how I had told another resident who gave me something important to him by placing it in my sage purse when I wasn’t looking.

He showed me one that had white yarn on either side and said those are wings. He then said he had asked for feathers to attach to his dream catchers. I told him I may have some small feathers to bring in next time.

Even though I had told him the story about another, I also mentioned how I had to give it to someone else in need of that gift at the right time and I couldn’t keep it or I had to share it with staff at the agency.

So, guess what, that is exactly what I found on the running board of my truck when I went out to get in. The dream catcher with the angel wings.

My little valentine

So small and sweet

I will keep it all mine

Until I meet

Just the right one

Who needs it more than I

Will it be you son

Or will it be you hon

Either way, I just want to cry

And sometimes say why

Pain and hurt shouldn’t be

So much of ones life

The strife

Shouldn’t be for so many

Or even any.

I am finding a replacement for me

as at seventy

it is some days just too much to see!

~~~~~~~~

First published by Mercury Press in medium.com

familytraumasupportselfcarerecoverydepressionart
26

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a month ago

    A wonderful and beautiful poem and story

  • hoacuong0072 months ago

    Một câu chuyện hay.....

  • zulfi bux3 months ago

    A beautiful poems for the one's in love

  • Beautiful story and poem

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Beautiful story...and it is so important as caregivers to always have our cups full of positive in a world full of so much hurt and pain. Happy Valentines Day!

  • Mariann Carroll3 months ago

    As always, excellent creation 🥰Congratulations 🏆

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    So wonderful, Denise!! I love this. 💕

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Denise, this made me feel good about the world. Thank you for sharing.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Sian N. Clutton3 months ago

    How beautiful, yet sad. I stumbled upon this, and am glad I did so!

  • Annetta Brown3 months ago

    Love it..

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Quite a beautiful story... :)

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    Mesmerizing and moving!

  • Natasha Collazo3 months ago

    Beautiful

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Fabulous story!!! Loved it!!!♥️💕 Congratulations on Top Story!!!🥰

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Such a touching story! Well done!

  • That guy that his grandmother wants to see him all straightened out, what's wrong with him?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.