Psyche logo

I AM ENOUGH

Elle Vihman

By Elle VihmanPublished 11 months ago 4 min read

A time of calm rest and contemplation. Due to the so-called Christmas peace, I took a break from Telegram's chat sessions. However, it seems that there is one significant topic that wants to be addressed before the arrival of the new year.

I am enough

Those who know me are aware that I have experienced most of my teaching information through personal experiences, and therefore I feel that due to the influence of the media, the solstice, and the deeper power of the time of "dead" and darkness, many people have surfaced with a feeling that they are not just second-class, but even third-class individuals.

I, too, have experienced this journey firsthand. The feeling that you are not enough. That your mission is somehow fulfilled or you haven't even found that important task yet. You feel redundant. Your entire life has been a big round zero when looking at what you have left behind.

The most common attitudes that whip us include:

If I can't provide enough money for my family, then I am worth nothing.

If I don't earn, I am a selfish egoist.

If I don't belong to a group of important people, then I am destined to be a servant.

If I am a woman 50+, I have no right to live longer, as my time for reproduction is over, and it's time for me to die not to burden others.

I like to help others, and if I can't do that anymore, it's better if I'm not around.

If my body is not like those in fashion magazines and models, then I am fat and ugly.

If I am not in a relationship, then I am not valuable.

The list could go on in the same vein for a long time. However, in reality, this is just trying to live according to the desires and frames of others. By trying to please others, we turn our backs on ourselves.

In recent days, I have had to repeat this sufficiency theme to many people. Of course, we want to be good partners, colleagues, children, and parents. However, when we turn our backs on our own needs, we forget how to fill our inner wells of power and love.

So, what to do when you find yourself in this self-reducing wheel?

NOTICE

Pay attention when you do something harmful and destructive to yourself. Whether it's a behavioral or thinking pattern. Whether it's always going to help others, even when you actually can't or don't want to. Whether it's putting others above yourself because you don't believe you are worth anything. Whether it's any behavior you have already realized to be harmful to you, you still stumble because it has been your automatic behavior for years.

BECOME AWARE

How to become aware?

Ah, again, I'm doing it this way. Okay, I know why I'm doing it. Is it necessary for me right now? Do I still need something in this behavior to understand myself?

Asking yourself such questions helps thoroughly become aware of your actions. And at this point, NEVER BLAME YOURSELF. Yes, I stumbled, made a mistake, and maybe managed to land myself in the hospital again because I denied my body's needs. But you never start judging and beating yourself up for it, saying how miserable and incapable you are. Because such a mental prison has already held you captive in this pattern for years, if not your entire life.

STOP

If you don't know any other way, visualize a big red STOP sign in front of your eyes. Because only you can stop yourself from the existing behavior. Others may even walk on your ears to pull you away from your destructive path, but it's no use. At worst, you'll drag along the one who's trying to help you, into the abyss with you. So - STOP, hit the brakes, and look around, what do you now actually notice?

CHANGE OF GEAR

Just like a four-wheel-drive car stuck in the snow, you need a lower gear. More powerful crawling force to get yourself out of that mess. So that the wheels have better traction, and there is more time to react.

In the same way, you slow down at that moment and ponder your actions, then choose a thought pattern/behavior to pull yourself back into balance.

This is already a process where you act consciously and analytically. Here, you need to give yourself permission TO BE and act according to what you feel you need at that moment. You can't rush and rush back into the daily rut. You've been destroying yourself all your life to be suitable for others. Now it's time to think about yourself.

As a daily mantra, I recommend, as well as in the title of the post:

I AM ENOUGH!

I am enough, even if there are people around me for whom my actions are never good enough or pleasing enough. I am enough, and I don't try to jump over my own shadow. I am enough, and I feel comfortable in the state my body and soul need at that moment.

I AM ENOUGH!

Be protected in your Heart power and trust your first thought.

Your first perception/thought or intuition will never deceive you.

That's all for now. Since I'm only available for individual calls during the holiday time on Telegram, I hope that today's post will help you get through to the first days of the new year and show you ways to get out of what you have entangled yourself into.

Elle Vihman

December 2022

selfcarerecoverydepressionadvice

About the Creator

Elle Vihman

I was born and raised in a small Baltic country called Estonia. Back then, it was still known as Soviet Estonia, and the main laws were dictated by Russia. Today, the most important thing any individual can do is find their inner balance.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Elle VihmanWritten by Elle Vihman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.