Psyche logo

How I Learned to Hate Myself, and How That Turned Into Hating Others

TW for mentions of self harm, and disordered eating

By Ace SchochPublished about a year ago 5 min read
How I Learned to Hate Myself, and How That Turned Into Hating Others
Photo by Andre Hunter on Unsplash

I first cut myself when I was just 11 years old. A terrifying thought to many parents, and a deeply saddening thought to me as I look to my nieces who are the same age. I remember the built up self-hatred I felt, and the immediate relief that came after.

I’ve been bullied all my life. As early as I can remember, I have always felt less than.

From always seeming to be two steps behind in social interactions, to bullies picking apart my looks, it all started to instill a deep shame inside me, coupled with pure resentment.

It was…. scary to be 7 years old and praying to God that I’d wake up as somebody else- or just not at all. I started taking other people’s opinions as fact, a dangerous hole to fall into. I truly believed the things others said about me- I knew my worth, and I knew it was nothing.

As the years went on I developed anorexia, continued to self harm, and it all only skyrocketed once I hit puberty. As a trans guy, puberty was my worst nightmare. All of a sudden my body started changing in the wrong ways, while my brain stayed the same. I felt like my body wasn’t mine- it just didn’t feel right, and without the proper knowledge or terms for that, I just thought something was wrong with me. I didn’t know being trans was even a thing, let alone a community.

I loathed my body, my brain, my being. I hated everything about myself. This only worsened when I first tried to go back to school after being homeschooled for a year.

I remember stepping foot into the school and just- being overwhelmed with such an intense flight response that it made me dizzy.

As hard as I tried, I just couldn’t get through the day. I’m privileged enough to have had the option to remain homeschooled, but I still hated myself for it.

Why couldn’t I just ‘suck it up’? Why couldn’t I just be ‘normal’?

These thoughts were constantly overwhelming me, to the point of attempting suicide.

So, what changed?

My mindset started to take a shift when I entered a toxic relationship at the ripe age of only 13. We became an echo chamber of blaming others for our faults and never acknowledged our own wrongs. I became livid at the way others had treated me. It wasn’t fair, I was too young, I didn’t deserve it.

While all being true and valid points, I started to resent those who had the opportunities I didn’t.

I started to resent those who didn’t have crippling social anxiety and threw up every time they left the house.

I started to resent those who didn’t have C-PTSD, who never had to worry about night terrors and waking up yelling.

I started to resent those who had never looked at a food and seen a number instead.

I started to resent those with skin free of scars.

I started to hate everyone else, and in turn, hated myself more.

I thought the solution was to hurt the way I’d been hurt, instead of help others the ways I needed.

I turned into the living version of who I never wanted to be, and I resented myself for it. I hated that the same face that used to be bruised now held cold eyes.

I learned to hate the world as self defense, and in turn, made the world hate me more, continuing the endless cycle of shame.

What did I do?

I realized who I was becoming when I was 14 years old. I was sitting with one of my nieces (aged 9 at the time) when she got really quiet.

“I can tell you have a question, go on ask it. It’s only awkward if you make it.” I lightheartedly encouraged her. She looked at my self harm scars and gently touched them.

“Why do you hurt yourself?”

I froze. Of all the questions she could’ve asked, this was not the one I was anticipating. How honest should I be? Should I play it off as a joke? Do I even answer? Questions flooded my head. I wanted to be sensitive of her age while also giving her information that could make her feel less alone.

“Well…. a lot of people were really, really mean to me and I didn’t like myself very much so I.. hurt myself because I thought it would fix it.”

She pondered over my answer for a few minutes as we sat in comfortable silence. She looked me in the eyes and to this day I will never forget her words.

But isn’t that just doing what they do?

I tilted my head in consideration. I started to open my mouth in defense but the more I thought about it, the more truth I found it held.

The reason my self hatred had intensified wasn’t because of outside influence- I started behaving like those who hurt me with the excuse of ‘I’ve been hurt’.

I became so comfortable in this state of anger that I didn’t realize I was stuck.

Yes, it’s right to feel anger at your abusers and people who have wronged you- it’s totally normal. I’m not the kind of ‘forgive and forget’ person. I think there can be power in forgiveness, but I also think there can be power in anger.

The problem started when I started to resent others based on my own preconceived notions.

I expected pain, so I received pain.

Isn’t this just victim blaming?

Short answer, no. Long answer, I urge you to go back and reread what I just said. (No.)

I hate the stereotype of ‘hurt people hurt people’ but it can be true.

When you get in a state of such resentment, you hurt people whether it’s purposeful or not.

How did I shift perspectives?

I went from I don’t owe the world my kindness to the world needs it anyway.

I couldn’t truly love others while still hating myself. I didn’t know how love worked- and I’m still unlearning past traumas surrounding it- but I knew how hatred worked and for a long time, that was close enough.

A lot of people mistake hate as the opposite of love, but I view them as parallels.

Hate isn’t the absence of love, just like love isn’t the absence of hate.

I have hated people out of love for others, and I’ve loved people despite hating them. They can co-exist, and oftentimes do. (Another article on that soon.)

I’m still learning and growing, but the best thing I’ve ever done for my mental health is develop this mindset:

The world sucks, but it doesn’t have to suck for everyone.

Once I started loving others out of love for myself, instead of hating others as an act of ‘self love’, I started to become more comfortable in my skin. This didn’t make all my self hatred go away- don’t mistake this as me saying so. But it helped me realize that I was more than the circumstances of my past.

traumaptsddisorderdepressionaddiction

About the Creator

Ace Schoch

16 / Take a chance on me.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ace SchochWritten by Ace Schoch

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.