Psyche logo

A cigarette chronicle

A smoker's story

By Mv AjayPublished about a year ago 4 min read
2
A cigarette chronicle
Photo by Rubén Bagüés on Unsplash

Smoking cigarettes has always been a thing in society. As a kid, we all might have held our breath while passing across smokers, and never have we ever thought that we'd smoke when we grow older. A kid who would hold their breath when passing across cigarette smoke to an adult who'd be smoking cigarettes along the streets while watching kids holding their breath to pass the cigarette smoke and I would be a wimp if I say I'm not them.

As a kid, I am not a fan of being around people who would smoke because that would make me feel really uncomfortable. As a kid, I always hated that thing "smoking". I would think why would one pick a cigarette and smoke out the days that they have- while tearing the hearts of their dearest? I heard cigarettes and alcohol are addictives back then when I was a kid. As a kid, I have seen people smoke cigarettes to their death and I know that was suicidal but as I grew up, I would want to experience that thing, like what is in there and what it actually feels t0 smoke and drink.

Firstly, I thought let's have a drink and see if the inputs I got were right or wrong and I felt really amazing and I was as brave as I have ever been and I was like there's something about this thing that gives us heavenly peace and ever since it has been a cup of tea of mine.

And then here comes one day, a friend of mine and I was hanging out. He was having a cigarette and asked me, " you wanna have a hit at it" and I as a reply, " sure why not". At that moment I thought to feel everything and have everything, enjoy everything and so do my smoking moment and then there started the phase of addiction. Initially, I just did it for fun but gradually it has been the go-to thing after wake-up and after lunch, and before coming home at night. It has been several months, and that day has come when I know it is an addiction.

Then I thought, not a problem to have a bad habit. Slowly the count of cigarettes has been increasing and it has been my go-to for stress relief and relaxation. I was too much reliant on cigarettes and I thought it was too much and tried to decrease the count of cigarettes I smoke daily. I decreased the count to 2 per day but every day hasn't been mine but I unknowingly started increasing the cigarette count day by day and I feel my body is not as good as it used to be. One fine day, I said to myself that I have resilience and I can be resilient from this smoking addiction and I said to myself that let's follow the 21-day psychology rule to get rid of smoking and I started following the rule to reprise my role of the non-smoker again.

After completing that 21-day no-smoking rule and I assigned myself a new assignment of a new 42-day no-smoking rule and I have successfully completed that as well. Now, It's been a pretty long while since I picked a cigarette. It's been a rollercoaster ride to not pick up a cigarette in those days and when I got to know I'm resilient from picking cigarettes for a few days, then I got to believe that I can do it and in the end, I thought, " how the hell did I do it? Well, it doesn't matter because I already did it ". Well, it's never too late.

Many of us might be gone into these addictives just to have fun but eventually not ending on the good side. Smoking has always been a life killer, not a lifesaver. If you think you are addicted to cigarettes just follow some precautionary steps which include controlling yourself from going to pan shops or cigarette shops and not hanging out with friends while they are smoking as it can attract you or they can offer to have a hit at but always remember that you have that resistance in you to stop yourself from what not good for you and you are one who has control over your mind and thoughts. Follow the 21-day rule and also follow the 42-day rule after the completion of that 21-day rule. Do meditation to control anxiety and stress. Always remember sometimes fun becomes fantasies and fantasies become fatal. This article is just a story that indicates even a person like me can change, why can't you? I wish this story can be a turnaround for those who are looking to quit smoking. I wish you the Best of luck.

advicetherapyhow toaddiction
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.