Pride logo

Sense

For A New Challenge from Queer Vocal Voices

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 4 months ago β€’ Updated 4 months ago β€’ 3 min read
An AI Nightcafe Creation By The Author

Introduction

This is for A New Challenge from Queer Vocal Voices. Although the challenge asks for a poem, it has to be in the PRIDE community which requires six hundred words, so this introduction will have to be about my interactions with the LGBT+ community.

The challenge is here if you would like to join in, or just find a little more about it.

I sometimes have issues with pronouns when they are used by people who are obvious in where they are on the spectrum, but if you are just communicating via letter or email, then those pronouns need to be given the correct notice.

I often use They whenever I am unsure, but in conversation with people, we don't use pronouns about them, only when we are talking about them.

I do love the colour and love that the whole PRIDE community brings us, and I have written a few pieces in the Pride Community here

In fact, my signature scarf is sort of Pride-related though it is Rastafarian colours. I have also written PRIDE-related pieces in many other communities that you can see in this Vocal Search

Although I am hetero I see all people as human beings free to be who they want to be. I am a member of an LGBT+ book club at work and have finally bought and started a book recommendation which you can see below. I can't tell you anything about it as I have only just started, but this brings together in my opinion the senses of sight and touch (it is a physical book, not a digital one.

In the group I tell them about "Imajica" my favourite ever book, which I start again when I finish it. I do have that on Kindle and it does cover a lot of sexuality with one of the main characters being very gender-fluid. The author Clive Barker is very good-looking and gay, much to the disappointment of my friend Geila. My first piece on the book is here

And my fifty-word critique is here

I don't know if this is the correct form for the challenge as only a couple of hundred words are poetry, but I hope people enjoy this and know that I am fully supportive of the LGBT+ community even though I often get things wrong.

I am sure there will be many that have the exact format down to a tee, but I am pleased that this is the fifth piece of mine in the Vocal PRIDE community.

And So To The Poem

The form I have chosen is a villanelle, although I was originally going to use a sonnet.

The music is "Sense" by The Lightning Seeds

SENSE

πŸŒˆπŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆπŸ‘οΈπŸ‘‚πŸ‘„πŸ™ŒπŸ‘ƒπŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆπŸŒˆ

Open All You Senses, So You Can See

The Vibrant Colours Of The PRIDE Rainbow

Feeling The Love Of All, Feel Safe, Feel Free

πŸŒˆπŸ‘„πŸŒˆ

The Gorgeous Smells When We Cook Up A Feast

To Taste These Delights, We Love Them You Know

Open All You Senses, So You Can See

πŸŒˆπŸ‘„πŸŒˆ

Beautiful Sounds Make Us Open Our Ears

As We Enjoy Drag Queens, On Stage They Glow

Feeling The Love Of All, Feel Safe, Feel Free

πŸŒˆπŸ‘„πŸŒˆ

Raise That Rainbow Flag Together, Feel Free

The Touch Of Our Close Hugs As Our Love Grows

Open All You Senses, So You Can See

πŸŒˆπŸ‘„πŸŒˆ

Live A Full Life With Your Senses, No Fear

Join In With The Rainbow, Go With The Flow

Feeling The Love Of All, Feel Safe, Feel Free

πŸŒˆπŸ‘„πŸŒˆ

Listen To Friends, Colouring Love to See

Taste The Delight, Feel Your Love Sweetly Grow

Open All You Senses, So You Can See

Feeling The Love Of All, Feel Safe, Feel Free

πŸŒˆπŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆπŸ‘οΈπŸ‘‚πŸ‘„πŸ™ŒπŸ‘ƒπŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆπŸŒˆ

Pop CultureHumanityCultureCommunity

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯ Anna β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Carol β™₯

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    Hear! Hear! Mike!

  • The Pride community no longer has a minimum requirement of 600 words, Mike. I enjoyed reading this and loved your Villanelle!

  • Denise E Lindquist4 months ago

    Thank you! Enjoyed the music too!!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Loved it!!!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.